We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not Clarion quality”
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We got this room on Priceline for $69 and its not worth much more than that.
This property was a Doubletree until 2007. (This info was from the manager regarding when they became a Clarion)
We've stayed at Clarion properties in NH, Rhode Island and Massachusetts and they were good. This place was not.
The room -- Musty, musty smell requiring a candle. Mold on the tiles in the bathroom. The ironing board was rusted and broken. The closet door was missing. There was no full length mirror. Tiny tiny pillows.
The swimming pool -- Cloudy water, couldnt even see the bottom of the pool. The whirlpool has been dropped in to replace a previous one, It was obvious, there was painted boards around the whirlpool that were cracking. There were only a few pieces of mismatched pool furniture in this massive pool space.
Restaurant/bar -- Dated interior and empty on a Saturday night.

There are so many nice places in Portland-- If you Priceline it, go for the top star level.
This Clarion rates itself at 3 stars. Definitely NOT 3 starts, and definitely not a Clarion.
After 3 years they should have done something to fix this place up....

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank NashuaNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 609 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2010

The two of us decided to stay at this place when returning from Bar Harbor, ME before departing on the Amtrak the next morning. The location was great. It was close enough that you could walk to the Amtrak station, but they have a free shuttle bus that made it much easier. Their shuttle bus also picked us up from the Portland Airport rental car facility.

The Clarion was reasonably priced for the area and was sufficient for one nights sleep. They also had a chair and ottoman in the King room that allowed us to be able to put up our feet after traveling part of the day without just sitting on the bed. The room was of sufficient size for two people. The hotel could use a little updating of the carpeting and the front elevator would get stuck at a floor (all the staff seemed to know about this), but once the button on the elevator was unstuck the elevator would continue to work. This was only a problem if you were on the main floor waiting on the elevator and it was stuck on a different floor.

The air conditioner unit had a little musty odor when we first turned on the fan, but we did not notice the smell after 10 to 15 minutes. It could have been that we just got use to the smell.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HollandBicyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

As others have mentioned, it is an older establishment, and it shows in places. The places are noticeable, but didn't detract a whole lot from our visit. For instance, our room was on the sixth floor and the common areas and hallway (on the sixth floor) were very stuffy and hot. However, our room was comfortable and the air conditioner in the room worked (it must also be noted that our visit was during an uncommon heatwave for the area). There was a very large area in our ceiling where some sort of damage appeared to have occurred and was painted over, but not refinished.

Two noticeable areas that we were disappointed in were that the areas closest to the baseboards don't appear to have been vacuumed in quite awhile, as there was a lot of dust build-up, and the fact that our bathroom had two rolls of toilet paper in it, but both were almost empty. I understand that checking into a room doesn't require a whole new roll of toilet paper, but to leave two almost empty rolls isn't very hospitable. I asked a member of housekeeping for another roll and she went into the room she was cleaning and appeared to get a half roll from that bathroom.

That said, any time we asked the employee at the front desk for anything (information, etc.) they were always very nice and helpful, and as I mentioned, our room was comfortable and clean (for the most part). I'm not sure how many people were staying on the sixth floor, but we rarely heard noises from other people and had a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank granolagirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Stayed for one night to be near airport for early morning flight. First room was dirty -- something stuck to side of sheets and top of refrigerator and dust and debris around nightstand. We were moved to another room immediately upon complaining, however that room had hair around the bathroom floor. The sheets looked clean so we sucked it up and stayed.

The common areas above the first floor are in terrible condition, so don't let the nice lobby fool you.

As others have said, the staff is friendly and accommodating, but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shoppinggirl353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

I booked our room using Priceline, so was not sure what to expect--especially after reading some of the negative reviews on this hotel. I was pleasantly surprised! The entire hotel is smoke-free and we were assigned to a king room. The hotel was clean, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was good-sized, and staff was friendly. The gentlemen at the front desk suggested a couple of Portland restaurants to try, and we were happy to find DiMillo's Floating Restaurant to be one of our favorites during our trip to Maine!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gcoop123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

This hotel is perfect if your looking for a cheap nights stay but, in a hotel with great service and staff. The hotel is on the older side and seems it needs better renovations because the elevators weren't carpeted properly and the room we were staying in had been somewhat repaired but the repairs were quite noticeable and done properly. The toilet in our room had a noticeable crack in the tank that had just been covered over with paste but if you looked closely you could see it, the bathtub had some cracks in it and were just pasted over, there was a small hole in the drywall near one of the shades. Even though there were some downsides overall the service given and the hotel itself was fine and the beds were very comfortable along with the room were staying in was very large compared to other hotels and it was overall just a great hotel for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirkbngr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed here overnight for a last minute trip to Portland a few weeks ago. The hotel location was convenient, just off the highway and about 2.5 miles from Old Port. The price was right for us, and the rates were lower than several others in the area. The room decor was nothing too fancy, if anything a tad dated, but it worked for us. There was not a lot to walk to close by, so a car is a must for getting out and exploring Portland. The staff was friendly and helpful during check in/out. Considering the price, and we were just looking for a hotel for a quick one night stay in Portland, it was fine.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbp19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
2.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#14 of 21 in Portland
1,745 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
2.5 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Address: 1230 Congress St, Portland, ME 04102-2129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $77 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel is a full service hotel located just 5 minutes from downtown Portland, Maine. The hotel offers a dining room, lounge, business center, pool, Jacuzzi, fitness center, on-site laundry. We pride ourselves on offering exemplary products and service to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Portland, Maine
Clarion Portland
Portland Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing