We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at All Cost”
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
Boston, MA
13
Reviewed November 15, 2005

We booked our room via Priceline. When I called the hotel to request a room with 2 beds they gave me a hard time. I called Priceline who called the hotel and straightened things out. When we arrived at the hotel we had to wait while the staff chatted among themselves about their weekend plans before we were checked in. We were given a room that smelled so strongly of cat urine we had to ask to be moved. The second room had the following problems: the phone did not work - when I called the front desk from my cell phone to let them know they made no attemp to fix the situation; the bed was made incorrectly so that the blankets only came up to my waist so I had to remake the bed; the ventilation in the room was so loud we had to turn it off; it was raining and the windows leaked water into the room; there were not enough towels; the keyboard for automatic check out didn't work. The place was dirty and run-down. Stay at the Sheraton in South Portland instead.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

589 - 595 of 615 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2005

This place has really turned into a real dump!! We've stayed here three times total -- during our yearly trip to Maine to visit friends. The last time drove us away for good.

Stayed in late August, 2005. The hotel was full, and I think they gave us a room in a section they rarely use. The hallways were lined with housekeeping carts the entire time we were there (4 nights). The carpet in the hallway was so old and dirty it was practically black. Workers were very noisy in hallway.

The guestroom was disgusting. The bathroom was not very clean. Our request for extra pillows was ignored. After our second request, we returned to our room in the evening to find the extra pillows thrown on the floor. Looked like someone just opened the door and tossed them in.

The pull-out sofabed that my kids wanted to sleep on was old, dirty and stained. There was no bedding for it, but that didn't matter because you couldn't fully open it anyway because one of the beds was in the way. When we tried to fold it back up, it got stuck. Half of the bed was sticking up and half was folded in. It remained that way for the duration of our stay, although housekeeping had been in and out to make up our beds.

Speaking of housekeeping, one night, the bedding was very uncomfortable. I took off the bedspread and found that whoever had made our bed that morning had put the sheets and blanket on sideways so that when you tried to pull the covers up, they only reached navel level. Also, the padding under the sheets was was all bunched up. Who do they have working there????????

After all this, the hotel manager called us when we had one more night in the hotel to say that another guest wanted our room because it was right next to the exit, would we mind moving. We moved alright . . . to the Embassy near the airport, a few miles away. Much better place, and free breakfast too!

Terrible, terrible, terrible. Never again.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tina0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2005

Booked off of Hotwire $100 per night. The beds were comfortable and the room clean and tidy. The front desk staff could have been friendlier but she was efficient, so I guess no complaints. This was not a "wow" experience but there were no blatant negatives to the stay.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SoLittletime2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2005

My wife and I stayed here on Labor Day weekend. In our first room, the sink was supported from underneath by a short piece of 2x4 and once I turned on the tap, it would not turn off. Although we were moved to another room, this is the type of quality issues that I would not expect to encounter in a Hilton hotel. One member of staff admitted that the problem in this room had existed for quite some time.
I commend the front desk staff in being very apologetic and prompt in moving us to a different room.
The second room was fine although it also had the peculiar pillows that "deflated" to the thickness of a double-folded bath towel.
Good cookies by the way!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank louismca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
23
Reviewed August 18, 2005

pretty horrible. stayed for 4 nights in July.
booked through priceline for $100 in high season (regular rate $249), and they let us feel it. every answer to a request was prededed by "well, you booked through priceline...". that meant: having to call 3 times for a crib, no refrigerator, no way to change rooms.
avoid at all costs if you have kids: our room was TINY and the walls are paper thin. next door was a flight attendants room. they would get in at 1am and party til 6am. what a joy.
only good features: decent breakfast and a nice pool.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Green Cove Springs, FL
14
Reviewed July 7, 2005

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2005

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yankee-peddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
2.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#14 of 20 in Portland
1,761 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
2.5 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Address: 1230 Congress St, Portland, ME 04102-2129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $78 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel is a full service hotel located just 5 minutes from downtown Portland, Maine. The hotel offers a dining room, lounge, business center, pool, Jacuzzi, fitness center, on-site laundry. We pride ourselves on offering exemplary products and service to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, HotelPower, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Portland, Maine
Clarion Portland
Portland Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing