We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Go Wrong” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Can't Go Wrong”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was my second stay here in the last few years. Rooms are clean and spacious and hotel offers free WI-FI and a breakfast buffet for a fee. Just one word of advice. You have to make a right on the corner from the gas station to get to the property. The poor gas station clerk told me, when asked that she gets more questions about the hotel's whereabouts when it is right behind them. No real problem once you find it. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    195
    113
    59
    34
See reviews for
139
165
40
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The staff was rude, accept for the people in the cafe. The price to eat was a litte steep for what you get and the food was not that great. The housekeeping was terrible. We stayed for four nights and they never cleaned the bathroom once. Had to ask for toilet paper. Had to ask for coffee and cups. they never vacuumed.

Room Tip: I would not recoment this to people who like clean rooms and good service. Price wise, it is a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My expectations were low, but I didn't want to pay the going rates in Portland for a quick stay at the end of a vacation. I took a known risk, but to my relief, I found the Clarion adequate for a one night stay.

Staff was both friendly and efficient at check in and check out and when I called on the phone to make a request for a room (from booking on Priceline they already had me down for a business class room with King bed, which was good; I asked for a higher floor and got the 6th). Room was clean and a nice size with a microwave and fridge. The bed was a little soft as were the pillows, but they gave you a lot of pillows and I slept well. Walls were a little thin, heard some hall noise. I was surprised that housekeeping was already knocking on doors before 9 a.m. when they have a 12 p.m. check out, so I guess if there's a do not disturb, be sure to put that out.

I thought the lobby was nice, but the elevator is dated and small and there was a smell of smoke or mustiness in our hall at times.

If I were staying for longer or looking for a nice night away, I'd likely go elsewhere, but since I really wanted just a bed for the night in reasonable comfort, this worked. Location was convenient, thought not right on Congress - you enter by the gas station.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walta5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JULIAN
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

While being a nice convention venue, there are some areas that need improvement, easy fixes in fact.
Housekeeping can wake the dead with their caterwauling at 9am. I mean, really? Check out is 11, or later for us Diamond Elite members.
Front desk only activated my door key for 3 days, when I was booked for 5? WTH? Really? Incompetence.
Business center is always out of paper, I should packed a 3rd bag with my own office equipment in it. Oh wait, the airlines won't let you check a bag like that. #guessimboned

And I would most certainly SKIP eating at the restaurant downstairs, Larry & Pete's. They can charge you for everything you order, but can't seem to make it to your table. Be sure to bring it to their attention so you won't be charged. And fully expect to sit for 15 minutes or longer without a drink refill, multiple times. Brink your own beverage If you cannot choke down your food dry. Just saying.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KEVIN N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I was with 21 of my friends on a trip through Maine . We hit heavy traffic and were running several hours late. We called the Clarion and told them the situation. We had scheduled a buffet for that night. When we arrived we were informed that due to our stressful drive we were having complimentary wine with our dinner. The food was good. The rooms were clean. They had two kinds of pillows on each bed in case you need hypo-allergenic ones or down pillow if you preferred. In the morning we had breakfast there. They have a station that will make omelets, pancakes and waffles to your order. My friends only complaint on breakfast were there we no real sweet rolls out. They had muffins and (I think) bagels available. They had a coffee machine in the room and were glad to give extra coffee packs. We were given nice postcards of Portland with postage already paid for. It was great! Would definitely recommend the Clarion to anyone staying in Portland.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne19464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forney, Texas
Level Contributor
138 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The staff was very friendly on our visit here, and even offered to assist us with our luggage. The room was clean and quiet, and we even had a nice view of downtown. It's just a few minutes from downtown. We would definitely stay here again if visiting Portland.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDF71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have stayed here a couple of times when visiting Maine. The room decor is dated but it is always clean and the staff has always been great. We love to spend time in Old Portland and the cab ride from this hotel is always $10 or less (the front desk has coupons for ASAP taxi as well). The fact that this hotel is affordable allows us to use the money saved to enjoy other aspects of our trip to Portland.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
2.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
4.0 of 5 stars 1,237 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
1.7 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Property: Clarion Hotel
Address: 1230 Congress Street, Portland, ME 04102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel is a full service hotel located just 5 minutes from downtown Portland, Maine. The hotel offers a dining room, lounge, business center, pool, fitness center, on-site laundry. We pride ourselves on offering exemplary products and service to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Portland, Maine
Clarion Portland
Portland Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing