We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 3 star!”
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersBronze level
Caribou, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not a 3 star!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I met some family members at the hotel late on a Friday. They had booked it on Priceline as an Express Deal (A discount on the room rate at an anonymous hotel until you pay). We looked at it online and it didn't look too bad...after all it was rated 3 stars. The hotel was easy to find and staff were pleasant and helpful. Our room smelled strongly of air freshener, as if the previous guest had been smoking and the room was sprayed to mask the smell. The bathroom mirror had toothpaste splatter on it, the toilet took forever to drain, and the shower drain didn't stay up on it's own so we had to stuff a washcloth in it. There was no city directory or hotel directory in the room for that matter. The coffee packets in the room were opened when we went to make coffee in the morning, as if they had been opened by the previous guest and not thrown away. The only positive is that there were a microwave and refrigerator in the room and the beds were comfortable. The pool was also nice and it was quiet, but the hot tub water appeared green. If you are just looking for a bed to sleep in and don't plan on using any amenities (including the shower) then this place would be good...if you are looking for a clean place to stay, with working facilities then try looking somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Casey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for making the time to share your experience with us Casey N. I cannot tell you how sorry I am to hear of all of the inconveniences you suffered during your family's stay. Our team strives to exceed the expectations of our guests and we are disappointed that we were unable to do so.

If mistakes are made, we take it to heart. I encourage our guests to raise any concerns they may have with our team and we will make every effort to make sure you are satisfied before you leave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    226
    128
    64
    37
See reviews for
159
187
45
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I just spent another 4 nights at The Clarion. I Have always come back here because of the close location to the Old Port area without the outrageous downtown prices. The staff here has always been a pleasure. My room has always been great. Can't say enough. Special thanks to Blaine, who always remembers and welcomes us back, they are lucky to have him.

Room Tip: One word. Blaine
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thanks Jennifer D! We were happy to see you back at the Clarion. As you said, our location just outside of town enables us to offer a better price then you would find on the water. Blaine appreciates your thanks and looks forward to seeing you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston,ma
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We wanted a quick trip away and decided on Portland Maine. We went on Priceline to try to get a last minute deal. We arrived around 3:30 pm, our room was ready which was great however once we settled in the room had an odd spell and we couldn't put our finger on it. It smelled like Frito chips masked by the fragrance of the comforter which also had a damp smell. We decided oh we'll it's paid for. We headed to the pool area and were quickly disgusted in not only the strong chlorine smell but you couldn't see the bottom of the pool because it was so cloudy. We checked out the hot tub and it looked terrible also like it could use a good cleaning. The next morning I awoke to the shades drawn but light filtering in through the shade like a million stars. When I checked the shade it was so worn from repeated opening and closing that looked like Christmas lights in our dark room. This hotel stay was awful so far. We decided to go down and have breakfast but it is not worth the $8.95 price. The coffee was watered down. The French toasts sticks were so hard they were inedible. The potatoes were flavorless and my wife refused to try anything else. Does anyone try this stuff before the put it out? We will not be using another Clarion if this is the standard.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tempted_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for making time to share your experience with us tempted_44. I am sorry you do not feel that we did not exceed your expectations. We appreciate your direct and candid feedback and will use it to make ourselves a better hotel.

Thank you for staying with us, and please call on me directly if I may ever be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

A fan of the Clarion hotel chain in general with the Northampton MA location in specific I booked at this hotel for a stay in the Portland area.

At first blush this property seems very nice and welcoming. The lobby of this hotel is beautifully furnished with warm colors, and is very clean and welcoming, but that is where the positives end.

After check in the second impression one gets is of the elevator. The elevator was not heated and it being January in Maine it was very cold.

The hotel hallways were dirty and appeared to not be vacuumed upon my arrival to the hotel which I found pretty odd as I had checked into the hotel pretty early in the day - right around check in time. On my way to my room I noted a cigarette butt on the floor of my non-smoking floor. Figuring it was still early hotel housekeeping staff had not had a chance to clean the hallways. I walked by the same cigarette butt an hour later - then again several hours later, and again the next morning on my way to check out of the hotel. There was also dirt caked in the molding around the fire doors of the hallway.

The room was very basically furnished and seemed pretty clean, but my experiences in the hotel hallway left me wary and I opted to wear my shoes around my hotel room too scared to walk around in more comfortable footwear.

The night of check in and the morning of check out the hotel hallways reeked of cigarette smoke. Upon further investigation I noted several housekeeping staff coming out of a stairway with the stench of smoke following them. On check out morning I complained about the cigarette smell in the hallway of the non smoking floor and was told by the gentleman at the desk that guests often will smoke in the stairways - where it appears that the actual culprits are the hotel staff.

More troubling I also had a security issue while staying at the hotel in the form of vandalism to my vehicle which resulted in hundreds of dollars worth of repair costs and in a voice mail to the general manager I requested a follow up. It is now a week later and I have had no contact from the general manager. I am very disappointed with the lack of follow through on upper management's part on this extremely troubling security issue. The lack of leadership and inattentiveness at this property certainly goes a long way to explaining why the stay was so unsatisfactory and why I would recommend that others look elsewhere for a place to stay in the Portland vicinity.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scarlet_Be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback Scarlet_Be. While I can comfortably assure all guests that our associates are not permitted to, nor do they smoke in our stairwells, it is an unfortunate reality that some of our guests choose to disregard our smoke free policy. We are a 100% nonsmoking hotel. More importantly, I am so sorry that your call was not returned. I would never knowingly disregard a message from a guest and unfortunately cannot find a record of your call. I know how frustrating that must be and when I read your post, I sent you a separate note to your Trip advisor mailbox. I hope that you will respond so that I may find out more information about your security issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Forks, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I always stay at the Clarion in Portland because the service is so outstanding. They proved to me that they go above and beyond on our last stay there. I drove my dad and uncle down to Portland as they were flying out the next morning. My Uncle left his cell phone at the hotel and realized it only once at the airport. The shuttle driver said no problem I will go back and get it and meet you right back here in about 15 minutes. As promised the shuttle driver went back to the hotel, up to the room, grabbed the phone, and brought it to the airport. How awesome is that!

The rooms are always neat and clean. The lobby is so warm and welcoming, and the pool is heated...for real...it is warm, and big!

Thanks again Portland Maine Clarion! You guys rock!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you Karen K! It’s always great to have you back as our guest. The team loves to see you and is looking forward to your return. Many of us equally look forward to getting up to your neck of the woods this summer for some great rafting! See you next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013

At first I didnt mind the little tiny hole in the wall it didnt bother me until I GOT CHARGED FOR IT! i had NOTHING to do with that hole!! and ON TOP they charged me a SMOKING free saying I smoked in the hotel room!!! are you $%&^% kidding me? I went down 6 flights of stairs every hour to smoke a butt OUTSIDE in a SNOW STORM!! WHY THE HELL WOULD I SMOKE IN M ROOM.
Manager BRUCE on phone accused me of being a liar and yelling at me! I HATE this I NEED ANSWERS WHERE IS DON GIBSON GENERAL MANAGER

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Matt N,

The comfort of our guests is important. They deserve a room free from damage and odor. I believe it is important that all potential guests of the hotel know that you and I spoke. During that conversation you admitted to having made the hole in the wall with your suitcase and agreed to pay the damage fee. We are a nonsmoking hotel and charge a considerable penalty fee to guests that smoke in the room to protect future guests from having to stay in a room that smells like smoke. The room that you left smelled as though it was smoked in. I did, however, give you the benefit of the doubt and refunded this portion of the fee after our conversation. It is possible that the smell was carried over from your clothing given that you and your roommates went down 6 flights of stairs every hour to smoke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Traveled to Portland for the Polar Express with my kids & parents, booked 2 rooms on Priceline, GREAT price. Lobby is beautiful, indoor pool & hot tub kids loved. Pool could use a little work, but clean which is more that I can say for some places I've stayed. Rooms clean, beds comfy. Overall, very enjoyable experience.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mainefamily23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
2.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
1,551 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
1.8 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Property: Clarion Hotel
Address: 1230 Congress St, Portland, ME 04102-2129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel is a full service hotel located just 5 minutes from downtown Portland, Maine. The hotel offers a dining room, lounge, business center, pool, Jacuzzi, fitness center, on-site laundry. We pride ourselves on offering exemplary products and service to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Portland, Maine
Clarion Portland
Portland Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing