We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersBronze level
West Forks, Maine, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This hotel is awesome! The staff are all so friendly and helpful. You get the feeling that you are staying with family. The lobby is warm and welcoming. The rooms are large, clean, and comfortable. The pool is always so warm...it is nice to swim in this pool and watch the snow fall outside. We have stayed several times so many times that my 7 year old calls it her hotel! I have sent friends and family to stay at the Clarion in Portland Maine and they love it too.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    227
    129
    66
    37
See reviews for
161
189
45
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I got a much lower price for this hotel than others in Portland because we used Priceline, so I can't complain too much about the hotel. It was listed as 3 stars, but we were a little disappointed when we thought about other 3 star hotels we've stayed in. I would consider it to be a two and a half. The place is a little dated and the hallways smelled slightly musty, but the front desk people were very very nice and helpful and the area felt safe and parking was free.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amootrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I belong to the Choice Hotels loyalty program, so opted to stay at the Clarion Hotel on my recent trip to Portland, Maine, rather than the local B&B where I'd stayed before.

On check-in, the gentleman on the desk gave me an upgrade to a business class room, which I appreciated, as it had a mini fridge and microwave in the room, as well as a spacious desk and comfortable work area. The decor is done in neutral colors; the bed was comfortable with a good firm mattress. I also appreciated that the hospitality tray with coffee, tea, etc., was restocked when needed.

The only maintenance issue I had is on the first evening I discovered my TV didn't work. When I was leaving the next morning to sight-see, I mentioned it to the staff member on the desk and by the time I returned it was fixed.

With the exception of the woman waiting tables in the restaurant on the Saturday morning, all the staff members were very helpful and responsive. The restaurant is the only negative. I had asked if there were some whole grain options as far as cereal, bagels, etc., and was told very snottily that there were not. The waitress further said she had no grapefruit available, yet someone who came in after I did ordered grapefruit and they got it. After that experience, I ate elsewhere in the mornings. The prices weren't terrible, but the food was mediocre and the service abysmal.

Even if I weren't getting points for my stay, I'd choose this hotel again, but I'd likely never eat at the restaurant again unless they get new wait staff.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room on a higher floor; it's usually quieter in places that have first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amethyst23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

My fiancé and I wanted to explore Maine's coastal attractions this weekend so we ended up at the Clarion because of it's location, price, and amenities. The staff at check in were very polite and efficient. We were on the 5th floor and had no issues with our room aside from some channels not working. The front desk staff tried to remedy it but could not. It was not a big deal as we ended up ending the day with a dip in the pool and a soak in the hot tub. The next morning we took advantage of the breakfast buffet (10.95+ tax/person) as it seemed like the most cost effective way to get breakfast. It was excellent- it even included waffles and omelette made to order! The woman who was running breakfast was very nice. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: This hotel is close to an airport so I would recommend seeing if there's an area least affected...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeaHouseQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

For the price we paid this was a decent stay. It's a lower end 3 star. The room was alright, clean, but the light switch wasn't working right, also the door to the bathroom kept on wanting to get stuck. There is no complimentary breakfast, and we didn't try the grill. I was mostly disappointed about the fitness room. It was too small with only a few pieces of equipment, only one treadmill. I would definitely recommend they get rid of two useless vending machines (why would you want those I a fitness room anyway?), and make space oldie another treadmill or just place to stretch and such. It is also very hot in there because of the pool.
It is about 2 mile walk to downtown, so don't expect to have it next door.
The staff is great and very helpful.
Once again, it's Clarion we are talking about. Don't expect too much. Clarions everywhere tend to be rundown and old.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marmishka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The hotel is between the airport and downtown on a main road - convenient for my three-day business trip. The restaurant is a bit funky, but the food and service were excellent for the price. Room was good-sized. Washer and dryer near the elevator on my floor. I have the impression that it's a 50 year old property that needs another major update, but it met my needs. Pets are allowed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UPrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Wow what an outhouse! I can't see out the window due to gross white film.Fan doesn't work in bathroom,which is smaller than my closet at home.There is grime on the sills,smells like an ashtray.A moldy sitting chair,stains on the bedruffle.I can't use the air conditioner due to the smell.$93 for this.I'll never stay at any Clarion ever again.Don't let the lobby fool you.

Room Tip: Find another Hotel,and check your room first,before you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkiP231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
2.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#14 of 19 in Portland
1,598 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
1.8 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Property: Clarion Hotel
Address: 1230 Congress St, Portland, ME 04102-2129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel is a full service hotel located just 5 minutes from downtown Portland, Maine. The hotel offers a dining room, lounge, business center, pool, Jacuzzi, fitness center, on-site laundry. We pride ourselves on offering exemplary products and service to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Portland, Maine
Clarion Portland
Portland Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing