We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for Experiencing Portland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2009

I was in Portland for a two day conference and stayed for an extra four days to explore Portland. Arrived on a Sunday was picked up from the airport by the hotel's courtesy van. I was upgraded to a large, comfortable room with a Bay View. Room had free wireless, king size bed, sitting area with couch desk and chair, even a fridge and microwave. Bathroom was old but clean. The heat lamp after a shower was a nice touch.
The staff knows the city and will give directions and recommendations for restaurants and the courtesy van will take you to a restaurant and pick you up after dinner ( a terrific perk) The hotel is about 10 - 15 minute walk to the wharf area where there are tons of restaurants and shops and the Casco Bay Ferries. Becky's Dinner is within walking distance (just walk down High Street) a good place for breakfast. Standard Baking is another must for breakfast take out or to take away a pastry for a late night snack (Best bakery in New England) The upstairs restaurant Fore Street is superb! You can get the full menu at the bar because it's always hard to get a table. The hotel is also a very short walk to the Portland Museum of Art. Room service in the hotel is quite good. Order any of the fish, (and you can't go wrong) veggies are crisp and not overcooked and the salad is good with real chunks of blue cheese in the dressing. The meal is delivered to your room quickly and piping hot. All in all this hotel is a good value. It has a great location, clean comfortable rooms with good perks (free internet and parking) and friendly professional staff!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GranuaileX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

980 - 986 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2009

The hotel is about 10 min from the wharf but well within walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aputti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2009

My husband and I took a 6 day trip to the East coast for a wedding and stayed in 5 different hotels. This hotel was the BEST of the lot. BEAUTIFUL lobby, great rooms, great location, was quiet. We even paid over $100 less for any other room on our trip, and still, it was the best. STELLAR!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puthoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

We were very happy with our Holiday Inn stay. Our room had a terrific view of the bay. The room itself maximized space and was functionally equipped. I wish it would have had a mini fridge, but that was the only thing it lacked in terms of our needs. We felt a bit cramped with all of our young children "gear", but that is to be expected most anywhere. The location was great for walking a lot of places, or a short drive (to the light house...). We are usually budget travelers, so we are used to dated furnishings--> to us the Holiday Inn seemed very nice and relatively current. Garage parking was also a bonus. I don't know specifically about Portland, but most other urban areas we've visited are tricky and/or expensive for parking, so we were happy to have garage parking included.

The restaurant in the hotel had decent food and was kid-friendly. We ate at the Dog Fish as well-- very close to the hotel---, and it's food was better and also had deck seating.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GypsyMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2009

This is one of the least satisfying hotel stays of my life, and I do a fair amount of professional and personal traveling. The first morning, the waitress in the hotel restaurant brought my wife the wrong order for breakfast; and the same thing happened the second morning. In both cases, a less expensive meal was substituted. On the third day, no toiletries were left in our room by the housekeeping staff. On the fourth day, the room was not vacuumed, and the beds were not made. Admittedly, the waitress did correct our orders after we complained, and we did receive toiletries after a while. But the room was never cleaned on the fourth day, because we arrived back too late to correct the situation. I should add that the stalls in the hotel parking lot are tiny!. They barely fit a standard car; drivers of SUVs will find them nearly impossible. On the plus side, the hotel does have a great location near the waterfront and a number of fine restaurants. Travellers who are willing to put up with aggravations might be willing to stay here, but we won't be coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Windigo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

We stayed at the Holiday Inn June 6. Had two rooms, one with very nice bay view. Even though the rooms were booked separately, the hotel was excellent in making sure the second room was right across the hall (at many places you end up on different floors even when you make a request). Check in/out was very easy. Free parking in hotel garage was nice, as other hotels near waterfront charge. Rooms were very clean, relatively spacious. The beds were very comfortable, though it would be nice if they had queens rather than doubles as the rooms seemed big enough. Bay view room with a king would probably be very nice for a romantic weekend. Location is very good, as it's just a couple blocks into the Old Port area. Considering the rooms were half the price of the expensive hotels directly in Old Port, it is an excellent value. Would recommend it to just about anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

I live in the UK now, but used to live in New York and Portland. This hotel has always had a great reputation and has gone with the times as far as meeting expectations of the traveller. It's in a great location (within walking distance of the "oldport" and city center). Our hotel room was extremely comfortable and sound proof, the service in the restaurant for breakfast was good, but beware of being offered a large orange juice with breakfast, as it was $6.00! The bar just outside the lobby was cozy and great for pre-meal or afternoon nibbles and drinks. The hotel also offers free internet access/computers ; which is also off of the main lobby area and accessed with your room key.

Free cold drinks machine is available in the lobby (juice and iced tea). If you are staying here to see a concert... you're in luck, as the Portland Civic Center is almost across the street!

Restaurants that I would recommend are: Dimillos floating restaurant (everyone's favorite and amazing seafood)-they have a website so that you can check out the menu. J's Oyster bar on the harbour is an upscale local seafood restaurant and quality is second to none... On the budget side.... The Drydock on the harbour (towards the ferry terminal), as been there for years and the quality of their food has improved since I lived in Portland... we had steak and fresh fired clams that were piled high on my plate and deliciously fresh! Amigos bar in the "Oldport" serves good tex-mex and cheap drinks and is a fave with students and locals. And finally, i can't remember the name of this new pub, but it used to be the old "seaman's club". It's now an Irish pub/restaurant and the service and food are amazing! *A must go!

Trips I would recommend.... take the little portland train tour.. it's quite reasonable and gives you the inside history as well as a nice stop at the lighthouse; which is beautiful. (seasonal)

Definitely a worthwhile stay here at this hotel as a nice base for exploring what Portland has to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NSutton1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,506 reviews
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Address: 88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101-3924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $101 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit the historic, exciting and alluring waterfront City of Portland, why not stay in the midst of it? Award-winning hotel with elegant decor and spectacular views. Just steps away, the Old Port thrives with unique shops, diverse restaurants and a working waterfront. Turn the corner and Portland's new Arts District surrounds the Hotel with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. The L.L. Bean Factory Outlet Store and Civic Center are only a block away! Jetport is 10 minutes away; courtesy vans are available. Choose from Executive Rooms, Suites and Double/Double Rooms. For your meetings and conventions, let us show you our 14,510 sq. ft. of meeting space and our 12,500 sq. ft. exhibit hall. Our convention coordinators will handle all of your meeting details, including spouse tours and island lobster bakes! Let us show you the pleasure of business in Maine, BY THE BAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Hotel Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing