We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but it works...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Small but it works...”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here at the Hilton Inn By The Bay because it was the cheapest hotel in the downtown area. First, checking was excellent. We arrived 3 hours early, and the person working the check in got us a room with no problems. She even showed us on a map the best places to eat that are within walking distance. Next, the room. We got a double bed non smoking that was small but nice. The room and bathroom was clean, but the view was ok. We were charged 10 dollars a day to park in their garage, which was fine by me as I didn't want to leave my car on the street. The lounge was nice and I spent an evening there having a couple of drinks with the mrs. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and I would definitely come back here on my vacation.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Voyager_2_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and glad to hear you will return. Please make sure, though, that you book at HOLIDAY INN BY THE BAY. The hotel name in the review is not the correct one. Feel free to call us directly for any reservation assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    453
    173
    58
    33
See reviews for
215
443
51
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This Holiday Inn is pretty standard - good size room, nice bathroom, restaurant, bar, (indoor) pool, etc. But it's in Portland, Maine for heaven's sakes, so it's awesome in ways that are not so standard. We left our car in the garage and walked everywhere, so we never had to fight with the locals for the two or three open parking spaces downtown. This is a town of lobster restaurants and bars, so arguing over where you are going to leave your car can ruin your evening. Just walk and enjoy the soundtrack and the view. Take a boat ride and walk back to your comfy room, clean sheets and fresh towels.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orangeexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and our city. For future reference, if walking does not suit you, our vans are happy to shuttle you to downtown locations. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Got what we paid for from a chain hotel. Comfy and functional room plus a pool. Good view from the room but the building is no architectural beauty. Location is very central so most things walkable. Some confusion whether breakfast is included and if the parking is free.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Neiljw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Neiljw,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay.

We are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the facilities and services that we have to offer. Your satisfaction is of utmost importance to us as we constantly strive to make your experience a great one.

We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon for another enjoyable stay.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed here a few nights and were very peaked with the place. Located about 10 minutes walk from Commercial Street (the waterfront) but also only 5 minutes walk into the main town so we thought it was very well placed. The staff were very helpful with a shuttle bus that takes you around (including back to the airport). We had an issue with our 1st room we were surrounded by a party of friends who were very drunk and very loud in the early hours so the following day the staff moved our room for us while we were out and this was no issue at all. We did not eat there but the restaurant was popular and there was a a well stocked bar as week. A good base for exploring Portland!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed our hotel and the services we offer, and hope you return for future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Three night stay in late July, drove in but didn't really need to take the car out of the parking garage much as this hotel is just a few blocks from the downtown area where most of the shopping and restaurants are. We were happy to be able to walk all over. They do offer a shuttle, which we took to an outdoor festival, which was a big reason for our trip. It was great not to have to worry about driving there and back, nor about parking there....the front desk, housekeeping and valet staff were very nice, good at their jobs and helpful, all pluses and should we return to portland we'd be very likely to stay here again.
On the slightly negative side...no indicators on the elevators on any floor except the lobby...couldn't tell which of three doors would open, or which direction it was going in..and the doors close FAST! My husband tried to stop the closing doors a couple of times, with mixed results. AC in the room is quite loud, as previous reviews stated. Also, the room safe is on the bottom shelf of the bedside table, and uses your room card (or other magnetic strip card) to operate. Due to its position, it's not possible to slide the card without hitting the edge of the table, nor can you read the directions on the safe unless you're laying down on the floor! Surely there's got to be a better place for the safe!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FandE401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your review and for your constructive comments. We always welcome the opinions and experiences of our guests. We sincerely hope you will choose us again for your accommodation needs in Portland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

This would be the second time I have stayed at this property.
The front desk personnel are very polite and professional but not overly so.(Very important to me.)
The King bay view suite I had was not bad at all. Only problem I had was that the AC unit needed servicing but still was functional.
The view was nice until you look down at the roof of the lobby.
It is very unsightly with the seagull droppings and unkept equipment on the roof.
The best thing is the location it is close to everything downtown.
Lots of great restaurants nearby almost walking distance.
With that being said I do not recommend the restaurant in the motel.
Being a seafood lover and especially lobster. I made the mistake of ordering baked stuffed lobster.
The only positive thing that it wasn't very expensive.
It was ordered as room service and arrived exactly when they said it would, (kudos for that)
I also ordered A cup of haddock stew. (sadly that was the best part of the meal.)
And the one and only thing I was missing on the tray was the drawn butter.
The lobster was pathetic, it was just stuffed full of some pieces of fish and scallops no kind of seasonings no kind of vegetable just covered with crumbled up Ritz crackers and then baked.
The lobster claw meat is also very disappointing the lobster had a very sizable claws the actual meat was less than one quarter of the actual size of the claw.

Room Tip: All the floors are concrete so you won't hear someone that is heavy-footed upstairs. Make sure y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KG4MXV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your review and for choosing us again when you traveled to Portland. It is unusual for us to receive a comment as yours about the lobster - thus I have passed it on to the chef to investigate. We appreciate your input and sincerely hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
508 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We had heard about all the good bars in Portland and we wanted to be able to walk to them and so we picked this hotel. We had a king room with a Bay view but the night we were there the weather closed in - so not much view. The room was big and clean and the reception was good also. You have to use the valet parking which I think is an extra cost. £100 for the night so not cheap but you do not need a taxi to get yourself home!

Room Tip: Bay view is nice if the weather is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheScubaDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for posting your review. Our valet parking is complimentary. The cost per night to park a vehicle is $10. We hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Address: 88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101-3924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit the historic, exciting and alluring waterfront City of Portland, why not stay in the midst of it? Award-winning hotel with elegant decor and spectacular views. Just steps away, the Old Port thrives with unique shops, diverse restaurants and a working waterfront. Turn the corner and Portland's new Arts District surrounds the Hotel with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. The L.L. Bean Factory Outlet Store and Civic Center are only a block away! Jetport is 10 minutes away; courtesy vans are available. Choose from Executive Rooms, Suites and Double/Double Rooms. For your meetings and conventions, let us show you our 14,510 sq. ft. of meeting space and our 12,500 sq. ft. exhibit hall. Our convention coordinators will handle all of your meeting details, including spouse tours and island lobster bakes! Let us show you the pleasure of business in Maine, BY THE BAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Hotel Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing