We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We recently made a trip to coastal Maine and stayed at the Holiday Inn while in Portland. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel was a great location for visiting the harbor by foot. But we did enjoy the courtesy van when too tired to walk back. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you so much for posting your review sharing with others your positive experience here. We are glad you chose us for your stay in Portland, and hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,121)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 1,121 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014

We were in Portland for only one day (unfortunately), so we weren't looking for anything fancy or over-the-top.

What this hotel delivered was a clean, comfortable room with all the amenities we needed, and a helpful, friendly staff (although everyone in Maine seemed super-friendly). Best of all the location is ideal. You are a short walk from all the best of what this beautiful little city has to offer.

Well worth the stay and I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank discodogman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you for the complimentary review. We are glad you chose us, and hope when you return you can spend more time in our delightful city. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I hadn't stayed at a Holiday Inn for quite a while, so I wasn't sure what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised.

The room was clean and comfortable, and the toiletries and in-room coffee were better than average.

The hotel also offers a shuttle to local restaurants, which is convenient for people who can't or don't like to walk much. That said, the walk to restaurants and the wharf is easy.

The gym is nothing to write home about, and breakfast isn't included, but I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatRode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

We very much appreciate your review and wish to thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

If you have read the review by Carla Companion, I wold like to add to it. I was a wedding guest and Aunt of Carla's. Upon checking into our room, I sat in the chair by the window. Looking back into the room I saw , shockingly, a greasy hand print, not just fingerprint, on the glass covering the picture next to the bed. I stopped at the desk on my way out to dinner and asked to have housekeeping sent to the room to remove it. Upon returning 3 hours later the hand print was still there. I called and they sent up the most disgruntled man who, when I opened the door, did not even speak, he just walked in with his windex bottle and a rag, cleaned the glass and left. The following day my son and his 8 month pregnant wife were due in at 11:00. I went to the desk and requested an early check in for them. When they got in at 1:00 they were told there were no rooms ready for them. We sent them to our room so my daughter in law could lie down and rest and we went to sit in the lobby and people watch. While we were sitting there for 45 minutes I watched not one or 2 but 6 people come in and check in! By number 6 I asked why they were able to but my son was told that no rooms were open. MIRACULOUSLY a room instantly became available!
The entire experience was far less than what I would have hoped for from a major chain in any location. Posted by Karen Ryder

Room Tip: Go to the Marriott
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wannagetwet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

We are very sorry to hear of the unfortunate set of circumstances surrounding your stay. We would very much like th opportunity to speak with you directly to see if there is a way to resolve the problems. If you would please call the hotel directly and speak with the Assistant General Manger we will do our best to win back your confidence in us. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

After a lengthy delay in our original plans and some frustration regarding the pre-pay no refund policy we had a great stay at the Holiday Inn By The Bay. From the shuttle service to and from the airport, to the front desk staff, we were met with very friendly and helpful service. We were provided with great ideas for day trips in and out of Portland, as well as local eateries for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Had a great time and Portland and would highly recommend this hotel for great location at a great price for Portland.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed our hotel and services. Thank you for posting the review. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We booked there for a long weekend and it was just the best. The indoor pool was great fun, as well as the amazing views from the "bay side" room. The value for services was fantastic and we were able to walk to most locations and when we couldn't the taxis were easy & affordable.
HIGHLY RECOMMEND for family gatherings or romantic get-aways !

Room Tip: We recommend paying extra for the bay view rooms
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanCee10021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Thank you for your glowing recommendations to others. We appreciate it very much and hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed here for one night in June. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was large enough but the bathroom was a little small and there was too much crammed in there. The TV was large. The mini fridge kept shifting in the dresser cabinet and made noise for several hours. The air condition was very loud when it came on. Other than that, no major complaints. Location was great. A bit pricey in my opinion, and an additional fee for using the parking lot. Breakfast should always be included at that price.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Holly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

We appreciate your review and constructive comments. Guest feedback is our best means of improvement. We hope you will return for another visit soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,426 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Address: 88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101-3924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $156 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit the historic, exciting and alluring waterfront City of Portland, why not stay in the midst of it? Award-winning hotel with elegant decor and spectacular views. Just steps away, the Old Port thrives with unique shops, diverse restaurants and a working waterfront. Turn the corner and Portland's new Arts District surrounds the Hotel with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. The L.L. Bean Factory Outlet Store and Civic Center are only a block away! Jetport is 10 minutes away; courtesy vans are available. Choose from Executive Rooms, Suites and Double/Double Rooms. For your meetings and conventions, let us show you our 14,510 sq. ft. of meeting space and our 12,500 sq. ft. exhibit hall. Our convention coordinators will handle all of your meeting details, including spouse tours and island lobster bakes! Let us show you the pleasure of business in Maine, BY THE BAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Hotel Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing