We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2014

First family trip to Portland with the little ones. Our room wasn't ready, so they upgraded us to a larger suite at no extra charge. There was a crib ready and we had a nice view of the city and harbor. Great way to wake up every morning! The hotel was central to everything, all the great restaurants, shops and activities. The pool area was clean and the pool was warm despite temps in the 'teens outside.
The town is great for running, with lots of hills and flats. The front desk provided me with a map and assistance so I could plot my run, which was really helpful.

You will have to pay for parking in the underground parking deck, since there is no available street-parking.

Room Tip: Requesting a view of the harbor will add to the experience of being in Portland
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2GromMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

We are so pleased your stay was plesant, and that you took advantage of all Portland has to offer. We look forward to your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

517 - 523 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014

Yes, the building is getting old (for a more modern structure). It's been well used. However, the rooms are kept clean. The service was amicable, including free mini-vans to take you downtown or to the transportation hub, airport, etc. Although we walked the whole downtown area, the van was great for a late night dinner and ride to the transportation hub for our ride back to Boston. They had an exercise facility, where machines worked, plus pool with jacuzzi, which seemed well attended. A huge bonus is that the Art Museum is right across the street, and there are great coffee shops 2 blocks away, as are fun pubs and eateries.

It's really a great location all around. Good value for a stay in Portland.

Room Tip: Try to get the views of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scubaskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing your experiences with others. We hope you will visit our city soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This was my first visit to the Holiday Inn Portland by the Bay and was very satisfied with my stay. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. My only criticism was I couldn't figure out how to turn down the heat, but then again, I could have called the front desk for help, which I didn't do either. The hotel is very central and within easy walking distance to the arts district, music venues, and Old Port. This is a great place to stay if you visit town for a concert.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

We thank you for reviewing us, and most importantly for staying with us. We know there are many choices in the city, and we hope to see you back with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed here for a conference and was pleased with the service, cleanliness, view (11th fl), and location. Easy to get to everything. Especially impressed with the attentive staff. I want to single out sarah, on the front desk, who really went the extra mile for me when I was having some technical challenges right before my presentation. She treated my problem as if it were her personal mission in life to solve it. Kudos, and thanks.

Room Tip: Great views of Portland's working harbor from the 11th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryL07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to compliment our staff, and for singling out Sarah, who is a long standing valued employee. It is always wonderful to know they have done their job well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My husband and I were in Portland Maine for one night for his work. Neither of us had been before. We stayed at a Holiday Inn in Burbank last fall and had a terrible experience. So we weren't sure what to expect and were bracing ourselves. I have to say I can't come up with a single complaint.

The staff was absolutely fantastic. He had to call to add my name to the reservation because our flight was delayed and he had to go straight to work - no problem. I wanted to check in early - no problem. I asked to change rooms from 2 queens to a king - no problem. I mentioned to the front desk that I hadn't been to Portland before and wanted to walk around. She didn't just give me a map. She took time to go through options, chat with me about Portland and offer free pick up if I got too cold or tired walking around. We even asked where we could get bottled water when we came in at night and rather than pointing out the vending machine we hadn't noticed, she went in back and got us two bottles.

The room was clean, comfortable, had a view of the water and all in all was just terrific. Coffee maker, refrigerator, anything a business traveler could need. The hotel is also easy walking distance to the Old Port and anything else you might want to see downtown.

Again, we've never been to Portland and I'm sure there are plenty of places to stay but I can say this was a great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alix S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

We very much appreciate your sharing your experiences. The staff will be happy to know they have done their job well. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I stayed here one night and the service was good, we had a bay view room and it was amazing, we could see the all of downtown, and had a great view of the bay and bug light lighthouse. It is close to everything and well worth the money. I would stay again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Versace T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

We are delighted you were pleased with your stay. Thank you for posting your commets. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed here on a fairly quick overnight with work. Not a 5 star hotel, but comfortable, clean and an extremely friendly staff. Free hot chocolate and coffee in the lobby is a nice touch. The only issue I would note is that the heater was a bit noisy and woke me during the night. Walking distance to the Old Port, but they also offer the shuttle if you wish (I walked...is was a beautiful afternoon!). Great little shops, restaurants and pubs everywhere. I will definitely return to Portland and this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

We are always pleased when first time visitors enjoy our beautiful. Thank you for sharing with others, and thank you for choosing Holiday Inn for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,492 reviews
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Address: 88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101-3924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $103 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit the historic, exciting and alluring waterfront City of Portland, why not stay in the midst of it? Award-winning hotel with elegant decor and spectacular views. Just steps away, the Old Port thrives with unique shops, diverse restaurants and a working waterfront. Turn the corner and Portland's new Arts District surrounds the Hotel with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. The L.L. Bean Factory Outlet Store and Civic Center are only a block away! Jetport is 10 minutes away; courtesy vans are available. Choose from Executive Rooms, Suites and Double/Double Rooms. For your meetings and conventions, let us show you our 14,510 sq. ft. of meeting space and our 12,500 sq. ft. exhibit hall. Our convention coordinators will handle all of your meeting details, including spouse tours and island lobster bakes! Let us show you the pleasure of business in Maine, BY THE BAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Hotel Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing