We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay, could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Front desk was helpful. Room was pretty good, tiling around the bathtub a bit grungy. Temperature in the room was very hard to regulate - either hot or cold. Thin blanket on the beds - asked the front desk for extra blankets and they chuckled and said they were all out of extra blankets. Seems like everyone had asked for them. Strange.

Woman tending the breakfast area was odd. Asked if we could grab take-out breakfast on our way out the morning we departed and she asked "where are you taking it?". Coffee was very weak. Tasted like hot water with a tinge of coffee to it. Get some extra Keurig pods and brew it in your room.

Bar was decent, location convenient. I'd probably stay somewhere else next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

We wish to thank the reviewer for the comments. We do, of course, offer extra blankets, and we apologize that the desk gave a different interpretation. It is certainly our hope that the reviewer will choose to stay with us again. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly for any future needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,120)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 1,120 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

The location of hotel in Portland, Maine was right off the bay, perfect for walking to around to different locations and to restaurants and shops.. The negative side of stay hotel room was a bit dirty and shower had mold in it. Room did have microwave and fridge which was good.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn in downtown Portland so that we could attend a concert at State Theater. Very reasonable price, room spotless, sheets and condition of room acceptable Staff tries very hard. They offer free shuttle service to downtown and areas at no additional expense, a very nice amenity. Pillows are on the lumpy side and should be updated otherwise everything great. They have a parking garage for an additional 10. Which makes it very convenient for parking.

Room Tip: get a king if possible on bay side
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danver8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel during your visit to Portland. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We received a warm welcome upon check in with a bag of snacks and water. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was conveniently located -- walking distance to restaurants and shops. The rooms were nice and roomy, although I wish they had queen size beds instead of doubles. The mattresses need replacement. They were lumpy and bowed in the middle. Our traveling companions had the similar experience, so it's not an isolated case. Other than that, I would stay here again. The hotel was well maintained from the public space to private and it was quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinayRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for the comments. We very much appreciate the input concerning the bedding. The staff will be made aware of your compliments. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights in October.The hotel is in a great location.Close to the waterfront!The only room available for 2 consecutive nights was a smoking room.Even though the room smelled horrible it was clean,comfy and quiet.Worth the 270.00 per night??? No! There is also a 17.00 fee for parking. I unfortunately was battling a 5 day stomach virus and the restaurant in the Hotel was so kind to me.They went above and beyond getting me toast/ginger ale etc.At the total cost of 287.00 plus taxes and such I will "shop" around for accomodations next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank connie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for the review. Please be aware that our prices are comparable (and lower) than the other downtown hotels. And our parking charge is $10 per night per vehicle. If you were charged anything other than that, please contact the hotel so that we might rectify the bill. We're very sorry you were ill, but glad the restaurant was able to help in a small way. We hope you will choose us again in your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Had a bayside room as always. Seemed cleaner, brighter, and updated from last year.
Never had a bad night in this hotel, and come every year for the past 10 years. The room was cleaned properly as usual. No problems at all. Quiet while we were there.

Room Tip: Bay side for sure.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grammy47115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for the review and the kind comments. We appreciate your choosing us for your accommodations, and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed a Saturday night at the end of our New England vacation in October. We wanted to be downtown Portland and there was very little available at any of the hotels although I was trying to book many weeks in advance. Our room at the Holiiday Inn was a very large king on the top floor with a nice view of the city. However, the rate was $283 before tax! I had no complaints about the room but it was not worth that much money. We liked being able to walk to restaurants and shops and it was an easy drive to the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CmarieM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,423 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Address: 88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101-3924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $159 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit the historic, exciting and alluring waterfront City of Portland, why not stay in the midst of it? Award-winning hotel with elegant decor and spectacular views. Just steps away, the Old Port thrives with unique shops, diverse restaurants and a working waterfront. Turn the corner and Portland's new Arts District surrounds the Hotel with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. The L.L. Bean Factory Outlet Store and Civic Center are only a block away! Jetport is 10 minutes away; courtesy vans are available. Choose from Executive Rooms, Suites and Double/Double Rooms. For your meetings and conventions, let us show you our 14,510 sq. ft. of meeting space and our 12,500 sq. ft. exhibit hall. Our convention coordinators will handle all of your meeting details, including spouse tours and island lobster bakes! Let us show you the pleasure of business in Maine, BY THE BAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Hotel Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing