We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed a Saturday night at the end of our New England vacation in October. We wanted to be downtown Portland and there was very little available at any of the hotels although I was trying to book many weeks in advance. Our room at the Holiiday Inn was a very large king on the top floor with a nice view of the city. However, the rate was $283 before tax! I had no complaints about the room but it was not worth that much money. We liked being able to walk to restaurants and shops and it was an easy drive to the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CmarieM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

565 - 571 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

The room was well equipped with a heater for hot water and was nicely decorated. The wife worked well and was provided without a surcharge. The view of the water was pleasant. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjrg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Although we are unable to fully understand the review, we are delighted that your stay was enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here on the 2nd night of our New England Coach tour.We arrived after dark and a very tiring day so decided to eat in the hotel restaurant.This at first glance looked virtually empty but we were told to sit in the lobby to wait for a table which took about 20 minutes. There were only 3 staff waiting on and they did their best but we deduced that there was a function going on so service was pretty slow. We only had a bowl of chowder which was lovely but it took a bit too long. We then asked at the desk about the wifi code and were told it should have been in our welcome envelope.Well it wasn't, otherwise we wouldn't have asked,not too impressed with that attitude. Breakfast was better,nice choice, friendly staff and well organised. The bed was on the small side and the room was just ok,like our stay overall.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iannpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

We are very sorry there were issues with your dining room experience, however pleased that the next morning your service was well improved. Certainly the desk should have provided you with the password without qualification. Our apologies. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Booked this room for our 20th anniversary get away. Very disappointing. I requested a non smoking room. The room we had was a smoking room, and the stale smoke smell was awful. The window was sealed shut, so there was no chance of getting ANY fresh air in there. This room was also sold as a room with a "Bay View" room. It was pretty in the distance, but when you stood by the window, all you could see was the rooftop of the parking garage....covered in seagull and pigeon droppings. Not a pretty sight! I was also very upset by the fact that we had to PAY to park our car in their garage. $10 per day! Paying hotel guests should NOT have to pay to park! We loved Portland, and the Old Port area.....but we will NEVER stay at this hotel again. There are many others to choose from. So shop around!!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CupcakeGirl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

We are very sorry the guest was unhappy with their stay. If there is anything the Hotel can do to rectify any of the issues, we encourage a phone call to speak with management. As far as the parking charge, we remained without a charge for many years while all other downtown properties charged. When we instituted a charge this summer, we kept it well below that of the other properties so as to better serve our guests. We sincerely hope we can have the opportunity of accommodating them in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I spend A week Here For a Supreme Emblem Club Convention at the End Of August Staff was very Polite And Friendly. They even have a Shuttle that will take you down to the Waterfront and pick you up. The Bar and Waite Staff were very Nice and the FOOD was EXCELLENT!

Room Tip: Upper floors are better for the Veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

There were so many issues with this hotel that I would not advise anyone to stay. This was a one night stay on our trip from Acadia back to NY with my husband and 2 year old son. Our room was very disappointing. My first experiance was the door to our room would not open unless my husband really used force to open it. The sheets had holes, the comforter was stained, the floors were dirty in the harder to reach places around the bed. The bathroom was odd with droped celings, the sink didnt drain, the shower curtain rod was rusted. When we went to bed the bed was sagging in the middle and the pillows were old and uncomfortable. If we had a stay any longer then the one night we needed to rest from the road we would have changed hotels. Also, the TV was very strangely set up so I had to call the front dest to figure out how to get regurlar channels, and he said that alot of people have issues with it??? So why dont you fix that? Overall this was digusting hotel I would never stay again or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewleyWed61210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Our most sincere apologies for the unfortunate circumstances of your stay. The room should have been properly attended to, and an offer to move if that were not feasible. Was management contacted about your concerns? The comment made about the TV is unfortunately not true. We have very few requests for assistance. The Desk Manager will be made aware of the statement. We are glad you chose our property for your rest stop, and would like the opportunity of accommodating you again in the future. If you would like to discuss the stay further, we would be pleased if you would contact the hotel directly and ask to speak to management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed here recently several days for a conference. This hotel sees a lot of conference/convention business. The staff was uniformly excellent. Front desk, conference staff, restaurant staff, housekeeping, all were really much better than average. The hotel is in a good location. Most of the attractions of the old port area are just a few blocks away although there are restaurants and bars closer. Convenient shuttle to airport and train station.

The only area that could really use improvement is the hardest thing to improve, the overall physical condition of the hotel. My bed was fine but others in my party did have concerns about the lumpiness of some beds. Bathroom is small but this is an older 1960-70s hotel that has been modernized. It's nice but not to the same standards as a new built hotel. The advantage to the older construction is that I didn't hear a peep from my neighbors the whole stay. Thick Walls. Outside noise did however make its way into the room due to older and less soundproof windows. My heater/AC unit worked well and thankfully had a fan setting so I could use the fan noise to mask exterior noise. However, when the AC kicked in it made some very strange noises. I thought a helicopter or jet engine was warming up on the roof or something at first. It was odd but not overly annoying. I actually became enamored of it by the end of my stay. Get a room on the south side if you want to see the water. Overall, three stars except for the service which is so good it gets bumped up a notch.

Room Tip: Water view rooms on the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HenryFlagler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

We appreciate the feedback and are hopeful we will have the opportunity of accommodating the guest again on a return trip to Portland. The compliments on our services will be shared with the entire Hotel. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.2 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Address: 88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101-3924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $99 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit the historic, exciting and alluring waterfront City of Portland, why not stay in the midst of it? Award-winning hotel with elegant decor and spectacular views. Just steps away, the Old Port thrives with unique shops, diverse restaurants and a working waterfront. Turn the corner and Portland's new Arts District surrounds the Hotel with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. The L.L. Bean Factory Outlet Store and Civic Center are only a block away! Jetport is 10 minutes away; courtesy vans are available. Choose from Executive Rooms, Suites and Double/Double Rooms. For your meetings and conventions, let us show you our 14,510 sq. ft. of meeting space and our 12,500 sq. ft. exhibit hall. Our convention coordinators will handle all of your meeting details, including spouse tours and island lobster bakes! Let us show you the pleasure of business in Maine, BY THE BAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Hotel Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing