We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Trade Show Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Honestly, I don't know why anyone would stay here unless you are craving a flashback to the 80's. We are here for a trade show in a basement with 4 giant a/c units. They've been blasting all day, even though it's 60-something outside. Additionally, when we asked to open the shades in the basement where the tradeshow is being told, we were gruffly told no by the hotel. Crazy.

There are lots of nice places to stay in Portland, this isn't one of them.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
3  Thank Ted A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Ted A,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you had with our air conditioning system and deeply regret that the level of service provided fell below your standards.

Your experience is definitely not reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves with. As such, your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future improvements where possible. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

584 - 590 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

I was a little torn on rating this Holiday Inn either an "average" or "very good." I've stayed here last year and came back again recently, so I guess that says something.

The Holiday Inn is in a great location for walking throughout the downtown Portland area and the hotel, overall, is clean. We also had a decent view of the water from our hotel, which was nice.

One complaint we had is that the parking garage is very tight and was often packed. If we had taken my husband's truck, we would have had issues parking it. Also, the elevator automatically always stops at the lobby, no matter where you are going. Of course, this isn't a huge deal, but can be a minor inconvenience. Also, the staff wasn't overly friendly.

One positive is the free shuttle the hotel provides. My husband and I had reservations at Five Fifty Five one night, which is easily within walking distance, but it was pouring outsie. The shuttle driver was very friendly, and promptly drove us and picked us up from the restaurant.

Although this Holiday Inn is around average, I would still stay here again.

Also, if you're looking for restaurant recommendations, I highly recommend Five Fifty Five and Street and Co. for dinner, and Hot Suppa for breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Godiva0318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I was in Portland for my cousin's wedding. The location could not have been better. So many great places for me to run in the mornings, and since the hotel is located in the heart of downtown, I was able to explore many areas. The airport was merely 15 minutes away by car. We had no trouble parking the rental car in the parking deck. It was most convenient, as was the hotel shuttle. The room was comfortable and clean. The hotel is about midway to needing an update, but I was pleased with the condition of my room. Since I usually spend very little time in my room, I am not hard to please in this regard, location being the most important factor to me when looking for a hotel. The second most important factor is the friendliness and helpfulness of the hotel staff. I did not find the staff here to be lacking either--they were great and very friendly.

Room Tip: My view was toward the north (City view, not a water view), which was fine. The room was a better va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Loved the free shuttle from the small clean Portland ME airport. So enjoyed talking with Mike the driver. Fun Bawstan accent. ;-) Had requested a high floor room with a Casco Bay view (DEFINITELY RECOMMENDED - but away from the elevators. That's where the staff are, and can hear their door slam, at times often). Got there in the AM, room wasn't ready understandably, but offered a lower-floor room that was ready. I was ok with waiting, (and it was worth it) - downtown a 10 min walk. Staff were so friendly and professional. Joined their IHG Reward Club prior (free) and recommend it! Goodie bag waiting w/free drink coupons & snacks. Program also gives you late check-out (2pm) usually no problem. Room was beautiful - clean, spacious, INCREDIBLE Casco Bay view. Free WiFI always a HUGE plus. Gym was very small, but clean. Indoor pool huge - clean and a great place to hang out esp when it gets cold. Bartender at lounge for (free) drink was pleasant and informative of the happenings of the city. Free juice/lemonade & coffee in the lobby a plus. A wonderful stay, especially for the price point. And Portland is spectacular. Some of the nicest people I have ever met.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room (11th fl highest) with a bay view away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woogie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very small handicap parking spaces. I am sure they did not comply to ADA regulations. Had to park in reservation area at night. There ought to be a way to assign a regulation space to each handicap room reservation.

Bathroom was awkward. Threshold a bit high. Had to wheel in and lean back to shut the door before turning to get under the sink.
The shower head was well placed in the middle of the shower so you could sit and adjust it easily. The a/c was very noisy/loud.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Yankee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Yankee19,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the layout of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I were recently visiting on business. I would say the hotel rooms had a slightly tired look.

Furniture was nicked up, the bed skirt had dirt on a section, the linens were not as nice as the Comfort Inn we stated in at almost half the price. Also there was dust on all the furniture-I pleasantly asked for someone to dust and vacuum. Guessing they did, but it still was dusty.

The mattresses felt soft (old?) and were not that great. We turned off a/c and we were still cold.

Liked the location. We enjoyed walking down the hill to eat breakfast at Becky's Restaurant 2 days and walking around the Old Port area and downtown area. Portland is a great town with beautiful views, interesting shops and good food.

This Holiday Inn needs some improvements in my opinion.

Room Tip: Our room looked on city, ask for a view of ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taichichick2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear taichichick2013,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We are glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. We are deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We are hospitality professionals and strive to be the best. Your comments will be looked into.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My fiancé and I were visiting Portland for a friend’s wedding and we arrived at the hotel around 1:00pm and were checked in right away. The hotel was booked to full capacity so we were psyched that a room was ready for us. The room had been "updated" with a nice flat screen tv and comfy bed but the room could have used some additional improvements for the amount of money we were paying for the one night. The air conditioning unit loudly kicked out cool air and didn't seem strong enough to cool down the room. All in all it was an average room that had a great location close to the water and marina area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear DRoben12,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,505 reviews
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Address: 88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101-3924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $101 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit the historic, exciting and alluring waterfront City of Portland, why not stay in the midst of it? Award-winning hotel with elegant decor and spectacular views. Just steps away, the Old Port thrives with unique shops, diverse restaurants and a working waterfront. Turn the corner and Portland's new Arts District surrounds the Hotel with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. The L.L. Bean Factory Outlet Store and Civic Center are only a block away! Jetport is 10 minutes away; courtesy vans are available. Choose from Executive Rooms, Suites and Double/Double Rooms. For your meetings and conventions, let us show you our 14,510 sq. ft. of meeting space and our 12,500 sq. ft. exhibit hall. Our convention coordinators will handle all of your meeting details, including spouse tours and island lobster bakes! Let us show you the pleasure of business in Maine, BY THE BAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Hotel Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing