We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and staff very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel is a little pricey, but it was very clean and comfortable. Parking was reasonable and easy to access, and all of the staff was super helpful and friendly. The view from our room was nice as well. I liked that there was a microwave in our room, as I've never seen that before. And there was a safe and a mini fridge that wasn't one of those already stuffed with overly priced minibar items. It was just there as a nice addition to our room to keep our drinks cold! The only thing that was a little weird was that the keurig coffee machine was set up in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

584 - 590 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

We only stayed one night at this hotel in Portland, but we were very comfortable and pleased with our stay. Our room overlooked the bay and it was beautiful. The hotel was close walking distance to all of the waterfront shops and restaurants. Need to note, that they do not have breakfast included but they do have a restaurant on site and parking on site (at a small cost). Our room cost was average (not low but not too high). I would have liked it to be a little less. We didn't try the restaurant but we did have one "free" drink at the bar. I believe that was due to being a "priority club member" or something like that. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

room was very clean, quiet, and offered enough room. incl. refirg/micro and their pool is nice too.
bathroom was super clean and water pressure was great (and i was on a higher floor). staff was friendly and helpful. close walking distance to many waterfront restaurants/ shopping.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbolles08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Only had 2 days here, selected the hotel based on location which was even better than expected. Walking distance to the bay, restaurants and shops. Parking available. Room was very spacious, we had a big double with an extra bed, enough for our family of 5. There's some obvious wear and tear everywhere, ac system could use some upgrading. Indoor pool, water is very warm but kids enjoyed a morning swim. Guest laundry available and free wifi in the room. All in all, good rate for basic hotel in central location.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gotravelwithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear gotravelwithkids,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I was delighted to read your review and your very kind comments regarding the our hotel and the facilities that we offer.

It is greatly appreciated when our visitors have enjoyed their experience with us, so much so, that they share this experience with us and other reviewers. We would like to express our sincerest gratitude for your comments which allow us to confirm that our efforts for the well-being of our guests have been met.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write to us. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future and we hope that your review will be useful for future travelers.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Clean and comfortable. Convienient location, walking distance from the old port and downtown. The hotel restaurant would need better mangement. A couple sitting beside us waited over 45 minutes for their egg breakfast... we left and went to dunkin donuts...

Room Tip: The extra charge for a bay view room is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartineCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Love the location - a little walk down to Casco Bay waterfront and close to the Art area. Pretty much what you would expect from a Holiday Inn, except for a few things:
Positive: - we were happy at this stage of a road trip through new England to be able to do our laundry at the coin washing machine outside the door (well on the 11th floor - note however, there is ONE machine and dryer only).
Slight negatives and oddities: - Unlike other Holiday Ins,, when you check in and get the goody bag of a pack of chips and a bottle of water, this one only hands out one (a little bizarre and sort of mean to hand out one bottle of water...............and as for the free drink at the bar - well only one of those too - though I am told this has something to do with Maine laws.
I also think it would be reasonable to offer guest parking at half the rate of the many who park there as a public car park.
And breakfast. Supposedly served from 6am which is great if you are getting ready to leave on a long journey or even going to work - but no - the actual buffet doesn't actually come out until sometime after 7.
The staff are friendly and the Bar food is fine (clam chowder, not bad at all).

Room Tip: Go high:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for four nights with three kids.
The location was great- just around 10 minutes walking distance from the downtown .
Our room was clean with nice view.
We had breakfast at the hotel- kids eat free;-) The food was good and fresh. Last morning we had buffet and I was nicely surprised with huge selection .Much better buffet then I had in any Holiday Inn so far. Kids also didn't pay for buffet .
Swimming pool was big and clean.
Stuff was very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milkasim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,449 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Address: 88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101-3924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $115 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit the historic, exciting and alluring waterfront City of Portland, why not stay in the midst of it? Award-winning hotel with elegant decor and spectacular views. Just steps away, the Old Port thrives with unique shops, diverse restaurants and a working waterfront. Turn the corner and Portland's new Arts District surrounds the Hotel with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. The L.L. Bean Factory Outlet Store and Civic Center are only a block away! Jetport is 10 minutes away; courtesy vans are available. Choose from Executive Rooms, Suites and Double/Double Rooms. For your meetings and conventions, let us show you our 14,510 sq. ft. of meeting space and our 12,500 sq. ft. exhibit hall. Our convention coordinators will handle all of your meeting details, including spouse tours and island lobster bakes! Let us show you the pleasure of business in Maine, BY THE BAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Hotel Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing