We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed here for one night on business in March 2013. Didn't have very high expectations, but was pleasantly surprised. It's a very nice hotel, with a bar/lounge and a restaurant. Every staff member was very helpful and accommodating. Ate breakfast and it was one of the best breakfasts I've had in a long time at a hotel or restaurant! The room was nice with all the amenities I'd expect. Slept fine and didn't hear any noises from other rooms. Got a nice little bag of goodies when I checked in because I'm a Priority Club member. I can't think of one complaint and would definitely stay again if/when in Portland.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMFoodie-wino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

652 - 658 of 1,141 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

this place is almost perfect.
its in a great location, and is a nice looking hotel.
when we checked in they gave me a little gift bag for being a ihg member with some snacks a magazine and free drink cards for the lounge my fav gift was the lottery ticket that was a bust :/ the check in girl was nice, also the night staff was helpful.

our room was decent, on first glance you think damn i pick a good hotel, but after awhile you take it all in you realize the little bits that are in need of help. our ceiling paint was chipping looked like water damage since it was next to the window. the bathroom sink area was nice and looked modern, the tub and wall tile could do for a little upgrade, where the tub meets the tile on the wall there was brown gunk all over it. you can just see the hotels age when you take time to find it.
otherwise, the beds were very comfortable, there was a keurig coffee machine, lots of little goodies in the bathroom, and a 7 foot deep pool!!!!! seriously when was the last time you saw a 7ft deep hotel pool. that is what made this review a 4 instead of a 3

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ittybittyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great location; directly across for the Civic Center and close to all the "action". The hotel's Manager John was very helpful with a reservation problem I had; thought I'd have to cancel, but he worked it out so we could come. There is a coffee/soda machine available 24/7 in the Lobby that is a great convenience. The views facing the Bay are wonderful and the food in the bar was surprisingly delicious especially for what I expected for "bar food" quality. Nice pool, the bed sheets are very clean and soft and there are plenty of bed pillows. The room was spacious and well-laid out. We love this hotel and look forward to another romantic weekend away staying here. The entire experience was memorable and happy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water, spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiaVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Coffee machine in lobby broken for three days. But you could purchase in restaraunt. Brought my own pillow. Maid service cleaned room and left my pillow on the floor. Foreign hairs in tub upon arrival. House cleaning definitely lacking. Stayed second floor. Very quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

We are very sorry the guest found our accommodations less than satisfactory. The comments made are unusual, and far from our usual responses on this or any site. We have completed a full renovation of all of our guest rooms, that included new bedding, new furniture, an enclosed microwave and refrigerator, and 42" flat screen TV. Should the guest ever wish to try us again, we would welcome the opportunity to address all of these concerns. We encourage the guest to contact the hotel directly if we can be of any assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel is basic at best. The positives - it is basically clean and the staff seems like they try hard to make the best of the hotel. The negatives - the beds are NOT comfortable, the furnishings are older, the carpeting needs replacing, and the walls are paper thin (I can clearly hear the people nextdoor talking). In addition, the air conditioner / heater is very old and noisy, and the wind hitting the window on the room is making a horrid whistling sound. There was confusion when I checked in... I was assigned to a room but when I got there, there was actually someone already in it. A concerning and uncomfrortable mistake for sure although housekeeping and the front desk didn't seem too concerned. Not my first choice hotel in Portland for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGirlHSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear hmillea,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I'm glad that you noticed the cleanliness of our property. Please accept my sincerest apologies over the bed and some of our amenities. All of our reviews are evaluated by management, and your review is no exception. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My fiance and I traveled to Portland for a Pirates hockey game. We decided to stay across the street at the Inn by the Bay and wow were we happy we did. After the game, all we had to do was walk across the street back to our room. There was no waiting in long lines in the parking garage to get home. We had a wonderful room with a king bed with a view of the Harbor. We got to watch the sunrise in the morning and had such an amazing night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrontDeskManager207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Apart from a very noisy air-conditioner/heating unit, we had no issues with the room or the hotel. There was some sort of wedding event in the hotel so it was quite busy. Still, everything was OK - clean, room was a good size, amenities were fine, check-in and check-out uneventful. But that air-conditioner kept us awake - we had to turn it off to get some sleep.

Free parking underneath the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littlescapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

We're so sorry the guest had an issue with the HVAC system, however we're pleased that the overall stay was a pleasant one. It is our hope they will return when visiting Portland again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,484 reviews
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Address: 88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101-3924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $103 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit the historic, exciting and alluring waterfront City of Portland, why not stay in the midst of it? Award-winning hotel with elegant decor and spectacular views. Just steps away, the Old Port thrives with unique shops, diverse restaurants and a working waterfront. Turn the corner and Portland's new Arts District surrounds the Hotel with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. The L.L. Bean Factory Outlet Store and Civic Center are only a block away! Jetport is 10 minutes away; courtesy vans are available. Choose from Executive Rooms, Suites and Double/Double Rooms. For your meetings and conventions, let us show you our 14,510 sq. ft. of meeting space and our 12,500 sq. ft. exhibit hall. Our convention coordinators will handle all of your meeting details, including spouse tours and island lobster bakes! Let us show you the pleasure of business in Maine, BY THE BAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Hotel Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing