We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A typical Holiday Inn (in a good way...)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A typical Holiday Inn (in a good way...)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

In my experience, Holiday Inns can traditionally be relied upon for providing all the basic necessities of a hotel at reasonable prices. This property is no exception.
The rooms are clean and comfortable, and ours offered a nice view. Check-in and out was quick and we found the staff to be helpful in providing information about the area and recommendations on where to go. One thing that stood out is that all the people who work here seem…….happy, and genuinely interested in assuring the guests have a good experience.
We chose this hotel because it was within walking distance of many bars/restaurants/shops, but due to the snowy weather we had, we ended up using the hotel’s shuttle service to go out which was a nice added bonus to have.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianaf12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    445
    171
    56
    33
See reviews for
210
429
51
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

there was nothing overly wrong with the hotel. it was clean enough and the room was an average size with a decent bed and tv. it was nothing special. there was no shock value in either a negative or positive way. the nice thing was that it did not pretend to be more than what it was and the price reflected this. a good place to lay your head but dont expect entertainment.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Our property has recently undergone a complete renovation, with brand new furniture in every guest room, and 42" flat screen HD TVs. We are sorry the guest was not as enthused as we would have liked about the accommodations.

We appreciate the patronage, and sincerely hope the responder would consider another stay with us if in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Not a good weekend- too many people, overpriced, no hot water, no TV, check in a 4pm out at noon, smelly room. Nice view, though. If they are out of non smoking rooms, stay someplace else. No air circulation...

Room Tip: Get a non smoking- if they are full except for a smoking room, stay someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel101102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We are truly sorry the guest's stay did not live up to their expectations. We did have an unexpected breakdown of one of our hot water tanks. While we were not completely out of hot water, at the hour Sunday morning when a full house was utilizing the showers our hot water supply did run low for a while. As far as "no TV", we did not have any difficulties with either reception or cable. If the guest would be interested in elaborating, I encourage a phone call.

We are always anxious to solve any problems that might occur during a stay, and would welcome the chance to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We chose the Holiday Inn by the Bay because it was close to our daughter's apartment, but come to find out it was close to everything. We stayed for three nights including Thanksgiving. The staff was very accommodating and friendly even when they had to work over the holiday. We were within walking distance of everything we wanted to see and everyone we encountered in the city was friendly. We felt very comfortable during the whole stay.

Room Tip: We were on the bay side and had a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TGiF01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westford
Level Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed one night at the Holiday Inn because it was right across the street from the Portland Museum of Art. We also chose this hotel because they were not far from the old town and because they offered van service to and from the restaurant. So that is why we chose this restaurant....BUT, we really liked it. The price was good, the service was fantastic and they really did take us to and from our restaurant. The rooms were nice, beds were comfortable, bathrooms clean...nice big pool and exercise area...not that we used them but we did peek. Great time, good value, I'd recommend you stay there. Nice city to walk about.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth County, NJ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed here for two nights on a business trip in early Fall 2012. The hotel was a large, nice, basic property. The staff from the front desk to the cafe to the shuttle driver were all extremely pleasant and upbeat. I was very impressed by the pool area: large, clean, and one of the few times I've found a hotel pool with an actual deep end. The shuttle service will take you anywhere with 3 miles of the hotel - pretty useful amenity. The breakfast offerings in the cafe were the typical breakfast fare although I thought slightly on the expensive side. I had a chance to walk in the area surrounding the hotel during the day and it seemed clean and safe. I used taxi service to the hotel, so I do not know about parking. The rooms were spacious, average hotel rooms. The rooms are equipped with a Keurig coffee maker. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet. All in all a pleasant stay and I would return for either business or pleasure. A higher floor will get a better view.

Room Tip: A higher floor will get you a better view of the water; I was on a lower floor and the view was most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oneLten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, MA 01970
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Holiday Inn by the Bay in Portland, Maine. The rooms were more than adequate and quite comfortable. The location was a little far from the Old Port, but they had a free shuttle to bring you and pick you up as well. It is within walking distance, but when we were there it was quite cold to walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nivtop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Address: 88 Spring Street, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit the historic, exciting and alluring waterfront City of Portland, why not stay in the midst of it? Award-winning hotel with elegant decor and spectacular views. Just steps away, the Old Port thrives with unique shops, diverse restaurants and a working waterfront. Turn the corner and Portland's new Arts District surrounds the Hotel with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. The L.L. Bean Factory Outlet Store and Civic Center are only a block away! Jetport is 10 minutes away; courtesy vans are available. Choose from Executive Rooms, Suites and Double/Double Rooms. For your meetings and conventions, let us show you our 14,510 sq. ft. of meeting space and our 12,500 sq. ft. exhibit hall. Our convention coordinators will handle all of your meeting details, including spouse tours and island lobster bakes! Let us show you the pleasure of business in Maine, BY THE BAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Hotel Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing