We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Nearby Hotels
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$224
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa(Portland)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ramada Plaza Portland(Portland)(Great Value!)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port(Portland)(Great Value!)
$226
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
The Westin Portland Harborview(Portland)(Great Value!)
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Portland Harbor Hotel(Portland)(Great Value!)
$179
$149
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Clarion Hotel(Portland)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$197
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,164)
Filter reviews
1,164 results
Traveler rating
383
497
190
61
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
383
497
190
61
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbay viewold portcivic centerwithin walking distancefree shuttleshuttle serviceparking garagekeurig coffee makerart museumcasco bayfront desk staffrooms are cleanhotel restaurantindoor poolhotel shuttlefew blockscongress street
Filter
Updating list...
736 - 741 of 1,164 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I was at a GFWC New England Region Conference this past weekend. Check in/out was a breeze and I liked having the convenience of a free parking garage. The room was very clean and we had a view of the local hot spots. The room had a microwave and a fridge. Banquet meals were great, the staff was pleasant and accommodating. Wish i had more time to explore the city - many of the ladies walked around, the location was great for walking to the bay and shopping.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I were taking a trip to Acadia National Park and decided to stop in Portland for 2 nights. Check in was a breeze and we liked having the convenience of a parking garage. It is true that it was tight but it also was guarded and that was a plus. The room was very clean and we had a wonderful view of the harbor. This hotel is just up from Becky's Diner and is a very easy walk. The port is close enough to walk to. The room had a microwave and a fridge. The water pressure was excellent and the service was spot on. The town was not at all scary to walk around and it was a very interesting experience being in a working port.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amsirius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I were in Portland and stayed here for 2 days. Here is a list of the positives and negatives.
The good - This hotel is definitely the cheapest of the hotels within walking distance of the commercial area. The hotel is set a few blocks from the main commercial area but the area is safe to walk around. We walked back from Commercial Street after midnight each night and I felt safe. The hotel is clean and the rooms are modern. The hotel offers free internet and parking. The room has a nice sized flat screen with free HBO, showtime and on-demand movies. My room had a refrigerator, microwave and a small sitting area. The hotel has a place to eat breakfast and a bar / lounge. The hotel has an indoor pool and fitness area although we didn't use either. The hotel offers a shuttle service but we didn't use it.
The bad - There really isn't any "bad" so I'm listing nit-picky things that I noticed. I'm 6 ft 4 in and the bathroom seems to be set up for someone under 6 foot. If you have anything but a compact car, it will not fit in the parking lot. I think if I drove my truck to this hotel I would have paid to park it in the lot across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a king bed, you will get a larger room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoGiantPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

...as long as you don't drive a huge land barge, that is, because the free parking spaces in the hotel garage are on the tight side of narrow, even for our Honda Fit. If the garage is almost full, maneuvering into a space with cars on either side can be a case of threading the needle.
Otherwise, no complaints whatsoever. The hotel is in a perfect location, has an efficient, friendly staff and nice amenities. For coffee hounds, that includes a Keurig coffeemaker and a supply of K-cups in each room.
Oh yeah, and a big flat screen teevee, if that's of interest, comfortable bed with soft pillows and a decent hairdryer that's not bolted to the wall. There's a fitness center, too, for whoever has the energy after exploring Portland.
It was our second stay here with the expectation of returning in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank courage_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Room was clean, staff was friendly and helpful. Staff did seem reluctant to 'allow' us to utilize the shuttle - not sure if this was due to the wedding that day or what. Desk clerk was familiar with the area and was able to provide accurate directions to attractions. If you don't mind walking a little, this hotel can save you some money and you can walk anyplace in the downtown in less than 15 minutes.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilbffp101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews