We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, ME
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I recently spent one night here. The location is excellent, just about a 10-minute safe walk from the Old Port and even closer to the art museums and Civic Center. Our room was clean and large enough, though not as large as some rooms I've been in, with two double beds. The bathroom was clean and also large enough, though again not very large. The room came with a refrigerator and microwave, both of which were welcome, and a good-sized flat-screen TV. The hotel has a lounge and restaurant, neither of which I used. Staff were all friendly and competent.

I had two complaints, preventing me from awarding this hotel an additional star. First, the air conditioning unit was very noisy at times. The normal fan noise was tolerable, but every so often the compressor or whatever it was would come in very noisily, which disturbed our sleep. Second, the room came with only five clothes hangers, which are far too few for two people and maybe not enough for even one person.

All in all, though, this hotel is worth recommending.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soxfanfrommaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Soxfanfrommaine,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. I am delighted you found the location of our hotel excellent and that our staff were all friendly and competent. I apologize you were not fully satisfied with your room accommodations. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Thank you again for your feedback.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    453
    172
    58
    33
See reviews for
214
441
51
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pepperell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
123 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I stay here once or twice a year when we visit Portland over a long weekend. The location is great, within walking distance of the Old Port, so you have access to tons of great restaurants without having to drive anywhere. The rooms aren't the Ritz, but there are clean and well kept. The staff here seem to do pretty good over-all...no complaints. Parking is a little tough, as there underground parking is very tight. Smaller cars are a better choice. Just hope they keep their rates reasonable...at times they seem a bit high for a Holiday Inn....but you are paying for location here. I will continue to use this hotel every year.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the top floors facing the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I changed hotel the week before our trip to Portland from the Residence Inn to the Holiday Inn b/c it was cheaper and free parking. The hotel was easy to get to. Check-in was a breeze. We received a welcome bag for being a Priority Member, and a free drink ticket & a 1/2 price drink ticket to the bar. I think we were upgraded to the Executive King on the city side, which I was a little bummed about, but we weren't in our room long enough anyway, so no biggie. The room was huge, and very clean, and updated. Dining area, fridge, flat screen TV, nice furniture, down comforter. The only issue is the mattress. I'm not picky, but boy, they definitely need to upgrade the mattresses. We didn't use our drink tickets, but we did use the pool, and that was nice, and they have towels to use, but we had our own. The hotel is a little father than I expected, but I partly booked it b/c it was a block away from the Children's Museum. Next time we will stay closer to downtown, but it was nice to get our walking in/exercise for the day and a half that we were there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manjss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fogelsville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2012

this hotel was a great stay! we stayed five nights for vacation and we were so pleasantly surprised by the stay! Standard king room was a comfortable size and the bed was very comfortable. The walk into town is super convenient.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

On the top floor ( half way through our stay) with view of the water, love it. Comfy king bed, large room with frig and microwave. Bathroom is one unit ( not split with vanity/sink outside of tub and toilet) . Wish vanity was a bit more spacious, Keurig coffeemaker takes up some space. Decor is in tans with blue and green accents. Lobby is updated not sure about long in tooth review haven't seen anything outdated. No hallway or noise from neighbors either.
Portland Pie (pizza) and Becky's Diner are short walks down the hill, highly reccomend both.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethiejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Many thanks to the guest who took the time to review us while still on property. It is rewarding to know we have pleased our customers. All of our rooms are newly renovated, and our city views are as remarkable as our bay views! We hope you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We were disappointed from the start with the room -- it didn't look like it had on the video on their website. We were in an Executive King and it looked like one big spacious room on the website. What we got was an L shaped room that didn't feel spacious. Also, honestly, I thought it wasn't that attractive. I can see how it might appeal to male business travelers, but it wasn't my (female) style of decorating (it was all brown). We did call and ask to move to another room but were told they didn't have any other available. The staff was excellent -- everyone we dealt with was professional and very nice. We used the swimming pool -- my six-year-old loved it, but the water was not very warm. We asked them if it was heated and they said yes, but it wasn't that warm, though once we started swimming we did warm up some. There wasn't a hot tub but there was a sauna in the women's locker room.

Room Tip: We asked for a view of the water, which we got, but we were pretty far from the water and I don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascal1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
We apologize that the guest did not like our decor. All of our guest rooms are newly renovated, with new furniture, 42 inch flat screeen TVs, granite baths and furniture encased microwaves and refrigerators. It is unusual when we hear it was not to a guest's liking. And thanks for the comments about our staff. They are always pleased to know they have done their jobs well. It is our sincere hope the writer will consider us for a second stay should the she be back in Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

I can't say enough about this place. The rooms are clean and up to date. Two blocks from the water but what makes this hotel great is the excellent staff. They are professional and
Friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Protraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Address: 88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101-3924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit the historic, exciting and alluring waterfront City of Portland, why not stay in the midst of it? Award-winning hotel with elegant decor and spectacular views. Just steps away, the Old Port thrives with unique shops, diverse restaurants and a working waterfront. Turn the corner and Portland's new Arts District surrounds the Hotel with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. The L.L. Bean Factory Outlet Store and Civic Center are only a block away! Jetport is 10 minutes away; courtesy vans are available. Choose from Executive Rooms, Suites and Double/Double Rooms. For your meetings and conventions, let us show you our 14,510 sq. ft. of meeting space and our 12,500 sq. ft. exhibit hall. Our convention coordinators will handle all of your meeting details, including spouse tours and island lobster bakes! Let us show you the pleasure of business in Maine, BY THE BAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Hotel Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing