We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"One step up from a crack house!"”
Review of Inn at Portland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Portland
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Lincolnville, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“"One step up from a crack house!"”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

That's how my husband described this nightmare of a motel. We booked it based on their ad (should ALWAYS check Trip Advisor!!!) and after a late-evening arrival we knew we'd made a horrible mistake. The vile stench in the raggedy-carpet hallway should have warned us. We were put in Building 100, the first in the row of separate buildings behind an Asian restaurant. The entry door lock was broken, allowing anyone entrance to the building at any time of day or night. The hugely OFFENSIVE odor in the halls was impossible to identify...garbage, smoke, carpet chemicals, dirt, dead things...all combined to make one retch. We checked the room and the odor was not as strong there, but the carpet was dirty and the beds/mattresses appeared to be from the 50's. We had to vacate or be sick. Chris, at the front desk, gave us our refund in full...or says he did, have not seen it appear on my credit card record yet, so we will see. At almost midnight, with most other motels in the area full to capacity, we finally found another room. We would have slept in our car rather than suffer this place. Bad, REALLY bad!! Can't believe a place like this exists in Portland.

Room Tip: Always ask to see the room before committing to it. Wish we had. Would have saved us the time it t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    12
    11
    15
    40
See reviews for
19
29
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Southern Finland, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This place was horrific, and we stayed only because there wasn't any other places available. During our two day stay in Maine there happened to be something going on, and all the hotels and inns were full booked. The Inn at Portland was the first one in about 100 miles radius to have vacancys and it was getting late. We paid 140 dollars for a room witch stank of mold! The inn was located behind a restaurant (seemed more like a bar) and a smoke shop. Very dark, no one around. The only place during our two week road trip in the northeast USA and Canada where we actually felt like we could be robbed any time.

There was also a trap of some kind outside our window. Don't know if they very trying to catch a raccoon or a giant rat. Don't even want to know!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank XharryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and i stayed her YEARS ago, around 1997 or so and sadly the nastiness of the place then hasnt improved over the years. Apparently since our last visit it has been a "Ramada Limited", "Roadway Inn", and a couple of other names to boot before reverting back to the Inn At Portland name. Cleanliness is at an all time low and hallways wreak of smoke and garbage cans overflowing. Its very creepy at night as its terribly lit in the parking lot. How this place survived ill never know. It needs a good cleaning and or wrecking ball. Yuck!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tamara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Driving back from Sunday River Ski Area, we decided to split our journey home in two.

After staying here... I kind of wished we kept driving.

Part of that reason.... was the fact that we woke up the next morning to blizzard conditions, and driving home the night before would have beaten mother nature, but we decided we would get a good night's sleep and continue our journey in the morning. We tried to save a few bucks, and chose this hotel.

A good night's sleep?

The first thing we noticed... was a head shop right behind the office. Then we had a little trouble finding the hotel, as it is behind a Chinese restaurant, and not all that well lit. The location didn't look all that safe because of the way it was hidden, and not well lit. We didn't have to worry about safety... there was barely anybody staying there. The hotel is in a state of disrepair. Old heating units pulled out and stored in the hallway, and the small of cigarettes. Nice! So far, this was the scariest hotel I had ever stayed in!

Then we discovered our hotel key card did not work. We went back to the office and got on that did work (Gee... thanks for the extra effort!). Upon entering our "non-smoking" room, we noticed the stale cigarette smell was still present, and the carpets looked pretty grody. Our room was FREEZING cold! We cranked the heat, but it took a long time to warm it up. Using things like a blow drier set on high for 15 minutes, and ironing the sheets of the bed to warm it up are not things anybody should have to do in a hotel, but this place was so cold, I will bet morgues are warmer! The room itself was fairly clean. We checked the sheets and inspected the mattress. No bed bugs! Yay! The bed itself was very uncomfortable. I did not get a good night's sleep at all, which negated stopping almost completely.

The room is fairly large, and there was a sitting area with two chairs, a lamp, a small fridge, and a table. Not well laid out, but at least it was next to the heater!

Peeling wallpaper around the odd sink, ugly bathroom tiles showing signs of serious wear, but at least the shower/tub looked fairly new.

I would give it 1 1/2 stars (or less) but the fact that it wasn't filthy in our room, we didn't get robbed, and there were no bedbugs... I will reluctantly give it two stars. I don't suggest you stay here, as there must be better choices for only slightly more money. But it you have to save every penny possible, go at your own risk.

You can buy a bong before you get back on the highway... if that's your thing.

Room Tip: Pray to the god of your choice, and hope for the best afterward.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PFandtheFlyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danforth, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Front Desk Clerk was very nice and helpful. After checking in, and looking at our room, we decided not to stay at this particular Inn. The motel was located in the back of a restuarant. When we drove around to the back, there were several vehicles with people lounging around, playing music. Another vehicle had a man just sitting and smoking. When we came back out 30 minutes later, they were still there. A concern of people just hanging out, especially when we were to come back later at night. Lighting above the outside door dim, and no parking lot lighting. Inside the hall lights also dim. The room had an unpleasant smell - musty , smoky even though it was a non-smoking room. The lighting in the room was dim, the doors seems not so solid, and could easlily hear people coming and going and conversations in the hall and other rooms. The refrigerator had rust on the bottom and smelled musty. This mostly was a safety concern for two single women who would be returning later in the evening, no other businesses around and the main office set apart from the main complex, up front. THe clerk was understanding of our request to change our minds and find another hotel. He stated 100 % satisfaction guarentee. and Was pleasant and polite about this. not a good choice even for the price which was $109 for a Saturday night.

Room Tip: Go up the road and get a different hotel..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMBNewcAstleMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Billerica, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We were arriving close to midnight into the Portland airport and just wanted an inexpensive bed to rest for the remainder of the night. I was very concerned after reading the mixed reviews and dreaded spending our last vacation night here. Our luggage was delayed; I realized the Front Desk would be closing at Midnight; I called immediately. The Gentleman said not to worry, he would wait for us to arrive and did; we were grateful. The reception desk was easy to find but the motel itself is behind a Chinese Restaurant. It looks like the type of place where rooms might be rented for a couple hours at a time if you know what I mean... Walls were pretty thin, we could hear people coming and going into the early morning hours. I was paranoid I'd find bedbugs; I put my luggage in the tub, pulled back and inspected the sheets and everything seemed fine. The room smelled old and musty prompting me to open the sliding window, the latch was broken off but it opened. There was no window screen so instead we turned on the air conditioner and hit the bed. Unfortunately, the a.c. was so noisy we turned it off and opted for the screenless window; hoping no flying creatures would visit.

The sheets were crisp and clean and the room was as clean as housekeeping could make it; but frankly NOTHING in the room had been updated (I'm guessing) in well over 30 years. On the positive; good water pressure, hot water in the bath, and late checkout.

As I mentioned; you get what you pay for; we paid $58 and thought that was about what the room was worth. I wouldn't stay there again though.

Room Tip: Good for a couple hours rest; nothing more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MiaVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunmore,PA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here on our way home from a vacation in Central Maine. Although no frills, we had a clean, good sized, comfortable room. I feel this was good value for the price. A restaurant is in front of the property, and it is a convenient location.
The desk clerk was very friendly, and the WIFI and everything in the room worked well. It is not an upscale hotel with an upscale price; but it suits a purpose for one night.

Room Tip: Check out potential lodging on the internet for the room types offered. Many rooms with one bed are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunmore_PATeacher41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
0.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#15 of 20 in Portland
1,634 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#16 of 20 in Portland
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
3.8 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,391 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Portland

Property: Inn at Portland
Address: 1150 Brighton Ave, Portland, ME 04102-1029 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at Portland 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Inn at Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing