We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Convenient and Comfortable”
Reviewed September 24, 2009

I had booked this hotel based on the reviews on Trip Advisor. My husband and I were looking for basically a base to do our sightseeing of Portland and Freeport. This was affordable and pet friendly, two definites for both of us. The hotel was right off the I-90, which made it convenient for us to get around Maine. The hotel room was clean and spacious, with a complimentary snack and coffee maker. There was also a fridge and microwave, which we had not expected and was a nice surprise. We also had access to a computer with high speed internet, which allowed us to search for hotels in Boston (for the U2 concert) and a self service laundry room on the 2nd floor. There were 2 restaurants on the premises (Friendly's & an Italian restaurant) and the parking was free.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_O_Traveler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    575
    345
    118
    54
See reviews for
529
518
133
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
86 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

I am currently touring Maine and north east Canada, and stopped in the Howard Johnson Plaza hotel in Portland Maine for two nights. The hotel is conveniently located on the I-95, and close to routes 25 and 302 that take you to the center of the city.
My room had two beds and was large and spacious. The hotel and my room were clean.
The front desk staff were friendly and helpful.
The hotel also has an exercise facility and a pool, which I didn't use.
Overall, everything was good except for the lack of breakfast as a part of the room's rate.
The hotel has a "Friendly's" restaurant, but ou don't get your breakfast for free there. You need to pay for it. i prefer to have the breakfast with the room, and was disappointed this was not the case. Yes. It was my mistake for not checking that before making the reservation. However, considering that i enjoyed my stay, maybe it is a good thing I didn't check that when I booked.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhz_tlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

This was a last minute trip and this hotel was the cheapest and available for labor day wknd but it turned out to be nice. Nothing fancy but clean and that's a plus. Our room seemed to be updated, our families wasn't really, we actually had a fridge and microwave inside room, flat screen tv, it was good (room#317). It's about 10minute drive from main town. Parking was always available. The staff was friendly and you get a newspaper every morning. We had no issues at all.
We had a really nice time in Portland and if you're on a budget and want a nice clean hotel, this is it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chasssky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2009

We stayed at the Howard Johnson in Portland, ME for two nights while visiting Portland on a road trip this August. We found this no-frills pet-friendly hotel to be convenient, comfortable, and clean.

Location: This hotel is located on an exit from I-95, which was the way we were driving so it was quite convenient for us. The drive to downtown Portland was fairly quick (around 15 minutes), and we were able to find meter parking without an issue. We felt that the less central location of this place made it a good value. There is a Friendly's and another restaurant right next to the hotel and across the road there is a Shaw's supermarket and a Panera Bread, as well as other shopping venues.

Hotel: This is a typical motel layout with internal corridors and external doors on the first floor. The front desk offers the usual services, including a fridge and microwave that is available for guests to use (they are behind the counter, so you have to ask the person staffing the desk for help).

Room: We had a ground-floor room, which was great because that allowed us to easily walk our dog. The room was clean and was a true non-smoking room (i.e., it didn't smell of smoke). The decor in the room is a bit outdated, especially for this price point. Bathroom was very clean. The safe in our room did not work (strange error message), so we used the security deposit boxes at the front desk. We were made aware that the key to the box was the only key in existence, and if we lost it we would have to pay $250 to drill out the lock.

Service: The staff were friendly and courteous, but not overly so. Housekeeping was on par with a good standard of hospitality.

Internet: Free, in-room wireless.

Breakfast: Not included. We got ours at Panera Bread :). They did give us coupons for Friendly's, but we didn't get a chance to use them since we spent most of our time in the downtown area.

Value: The entire Portland area seems horrendously overpriced, and this hotel is a decent value only by virtue of that fact. We paid around $150 per night, with tax, after a AAA discount.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WJ912001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Very clean, although the shower didn't drain well, a peeve of mine. Excellent weight machines in the fitness center! Pool was average but nice, and two smaller hot tubs, 1 with jacuzzi. Base rooms lacked a fridge but were clean,a very comfortable bed was the hotel's highlight. Coupons to nearby restaurants and some...adult entertainment across the street.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbtVTer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

This is a very well run motel, a good value with convenient location to the Maine Turnpike and major roads. The front desk staff is friendly and efficient, housekeeping near flawless and the attached Friendly's and Verrillo's are decent restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thealienist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

From the point of needing to call for directions to get there, as we got lost, to the time of departure, we met with helpful, friendly staff. They provide coupons to both attached restaurants and Verillo's was especially fun. The owner visits the tables, talks, jokes and generally has a good time with the customers. The hotel was clean and inviting and we are planning to return again next year!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0Dancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
3.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
4.1 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Portland

Property: Ramada Plaza Portland
Address: 155 Riverside St, Portland, ME 04103-1041 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Portland)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Ramada Plaza Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Portland Hotel Portland
Howard Johnson Portland
Portland Howard Johnson
Ramada Plaza Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing