We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Plaza Portland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Portland
1 review
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Though check0in time was 3:00, I was able to check in earlier. My room wasn't ready, but that was okay as I needed tt take care of other plans and when I returned, again earlier than 3, my room was ready.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Judith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    547
    335
    117
    52
See reviews for
505
504
126
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quispamsis
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

thanks to Dianna. provide a service of park and fly that we look forward to and as well as providing a shuttle service to the jetport, both going and arriving back to portland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

The lobby/common areas were just OK and the room was average. The entire place was dirty though. Deep cleaning needs to be done on the entire property.

The HORRIBLE part was dinner. The restaurant boasted wonderful dishes but was unable to deliver. If I could rate the food it was negative 100. The potatoes were cold, the broccoli raw and the fish was frozen mush. The beet salad and my fillet were good. The rest was so bad they comped the meal, sans steak. Our server was great although horrified by the food she had to serve. When she approached the chef, we heard him say "What was is , the uncooked broccoli?". Poor woman.

OK hotel for an overnight stay near Portland, but if you are on foot, your only food option is a fast food restaurant across the highway or this hotel's nasty offerings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkHeisler, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Portland, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the housekeeping issues and problems that you experienced in the restaurant. We strive to provide a clean, comfortable room and a terrific dining experience for all of our guests. I am sorry that we did not meet these standards for your stay. We will utilize your comments during staff training to ensure the issues do not recur. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you and show you our usual hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vassalboro, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

A group of us were looking to rent rooms and we found the Howard Johnson to be priced in our budget. It has a restaurant for breakfast and a restaurant and pub for the evening. We really enjoyed the Karaoke in the pub...I would stay here again! The rooms were clean!

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are definitely quieter, they are away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorri1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
4.1 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
4.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Portland

Property: Ramada Plaza Portland
Address: 155 Riverside St, Portland, ME 04103-1041 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Portland)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Ramada Plaza Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Portland Hotel Portland
Howard Johnson Portland
Portland Howard Johnson
Ramada Plaza Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing