We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canadian travelers NO WIFI”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed April 30, 2013

No WIFI in room even though it advertised free Wifi
Since we are traveling from Canada we could not search the Internet to retrieve travel arrangements (boarding passes etc) on our wireless devices without paying the substantial data fees. Called help desk which wasn't very helpful, called front desk who said to walk down to the lobby to use their desktop computer again not very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Troy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkHeisler, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Portland, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about the issues you experienced with the free Wifi during your stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the difficulties that you had getting online. The 24 hour technical support staff is usually very good at fixing any problems, I am sorry that they were unable to do so for you. We were having some sporadic issues with the Time Warner modem during the time you stayed with us that may have caused the problem. That issue has since been corrected. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,690)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Plaza Portland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,249 - 1,255 of 1,690 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

Visited here with 4 other friends this year for girls weekend. We had joining rooms which made it fun. The rooms were quiet. I heard nothing from the hallway or outside. Both the pool and the hot tubs were nice. Overall it was a great stay and we will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlsweekendMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel is in the Northwest part of Portland in a industrial area. It is quiet and yet the turnpike is nearby. The Egg & I is right next door for breakfast and they also have a Denny's nearby for breakfast. The pool was really nice and there were 2 hot-tubs. We stayed on the 3rd floor and our beds were very comfortable. The hotel staff were very friendly to us and the housekeeping staff was very good. I was glad we decided to stay here instead of downtown Portland. It was quiet here and I appreciated that. Also there is free parking which is a plus. Will stay here again next time I come to Portland.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6,667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is an older hotel. The rooms were OK but smelled of cigarettes even though it is smoke free. The staff did clean the air which improved it but still was not my favorite place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Ellen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkHeisler, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Portland, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Please accept my apologies for the smoke smell that you experienced during your stay. As you mentioned, we are a smoke free facility, so that is rarely a problem - I am sorry that it was during your visit. We will use your experience during our housekeeper training as an example in an effort to avoid a similar issue in the future. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MarkHeisler, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Portland, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Props to Howard Johnson in Portland for making my dream come true after seeing my favorite banc in concert! In Canada, most hotels accept 18 year olds ...however, I called 15 different hotels/inns/motels/ in Portland and the Howard Johnson was the ONLY one I could rent a room even though I'm in college and afford to live on my own. So once again props to the Howard Johnson

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashbuug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
2.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#17 of 20 in Portland
590 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
4.1 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Portland

Address: 155 Riverside St, Portland, ME 04103-1041 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Portland)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $77 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Ramada Plaza Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Portland Hotel Portland
Howard Johnson Portland
Portland Howard Johnson
Ramada Plaza Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing