We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Park n fly experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Found it good value for money spent. The shuttle drivers were very pleasant and service was terrific for our park and fly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,416 - 1,422 of 1,711 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

I was pleased with my stay. The room was immaculate and it was a very quiet environment. The only thing that could have been better was the loose toilet seat and the toilet was very low. Thanks.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank WINIFRED L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Its just OK, needs renovations: - stained tubs & ceiling, no fan in bathroom so have to leave door open so smoke detector goes off when having shower, old wrinkled carpets in rooms. Staff friendly & efficient though. :-)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank indyjns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
JEFFERSON
11
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I was disappointed on several levels with my stay at the Howard Johnson in Portland, Maine recently. Initially, as I drove up, I noticed that the very modern looking hotel displayed
on the photo was not of this hotel. The actual hotel is much older looking and less modern.
The carpet looked worn in the lobby and hallways. The room was functional but not very
appealing.

As for housekeeping services, used towels were left on the floor and never picked up,
even though the room was cleaned daily. By the end of 3 days there were several towels
left in the bathroom floor. The last day of our stay, we had one bath towel that was clean
and available for us to use.

Also, the "complimentary coffee" in the lobby was taken away at 7:00 AM, when the
restaurant opened. I would think this should be something that is offered throughout
the morning, as well as a complimentary breakfast.

I believe your advertisement for this hotel is very much a misrepresentation of the
actual hotel; therefore, I most likely will not stay with Howard Johnson in the future.

Bert Elder
305 Ebenezer Church Road
Jefferson, GA 30549

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The only complaint was that when we first got to the room it was obvious that someone else had been in the room because the beds had been laid in although not unmade and the bathroom had been used. The staff was willing to give us another room but we liked the location so we left while the room was re-serviced. The staff was very helpful when we wanted to print our boarding passes. Te printer for the guest computer was not working so they let us use a computer in the office

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Edwin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here one night on a road trip round New England - first stop out of Boston. Extremely convenient for I-95. Picked this place as all the Portland waterfront hotels were very expensive. Arrived early and our room was ready which was a bonus. The woman that checked us in was quite frosty. Room was spacious and very clean but somewhat outdated in terms of decor. Staff directed us to get a bus into the city centre from the mall across the road - we got a taxi back at night that cost $20. Hotel was actually further out of the city than I had thought. Slept well - bed was comfy but our room overlooked the road intersection that was busy and noisy with trucks from early morning. Nothing wrong with bathroom - shower was good. Restaurant next door for breakfast was fine but staff were very friendly. Overall, it was fine for one night and good value. The cost of the room plus bus and tax fares was still way less than the Hilton or Marriott on the waterfront.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back that does not face the road - just overlooks the car park so should be qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenO89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed 1 night for early morning flight. Returned car rental at airport night before and their van picked me up promptly (15 min from call). Very pleasant evening and morning staff. Hotel is a modified from an old driveup motel style. Modifications include nice lobby, interior hallways and indoor pool, jacuzzi and fitness room. Standard guest room did not have refrigerator or microwave only upgraded rooms did. We later found out that the upgrade would have been $10, if we had known at checkin we would have taken it. Stored some drinks and medicine at front desk instead. Bed was above average, room simple and clean. Room utilized a small wardrobe cabinet due to no built in closet. Just fine for one night, we be a problem for longer flights. Restaurant on site looked excellent but we had already eaten.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bookcruises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
2.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#17 of 20 in Portland
601 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
3.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Portland

Address: 155 Riverside St, Portland, ME 04103-1041 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Portland)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $75 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Plaza Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Portland Hotel Portland
Howard Johnson Portland
Portland Howard Johnson
Ramada Plaza Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing