We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saved by Holiday Inn...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fireside Inn & Suites Portland

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Saved by Holiday Inn...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

Travelling from New Brunswick, Canada to Asbury Park New Jersey and needed a place to stay overnight during the drive. Thought we could find a cheap motel in the Portland area. We checked out the Motel 6 in Westbrook. We waited 15 minutes for the night clerk to find out if a room was available and while waiting, I kid you not, a guest there started talking to us about how he was looking for the night clerk to look after his dog so he could go to the local strip club. Needless to say, we decided to move on in our search. Down the road we found this Holiday Inn and we were happy we did. The front desk staff was friendly and very helpful in getting us a room. Yes it was a little pricey, but in the end, we got a great night's sleep and were ready to start the next day's journey.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Unclenormie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    184
    139
    77
    47
See reviews for
175
171
26
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

very easy to find off the interstate, this hotel has everything. great service, lovely restaurant, indoor and outdoor pool and just a few miles from downtown.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank troll001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

I booked this room hoping to have a nice weekend in downtown Portland. First thing you must know is that this hotel is NOT in downtown Portland, Maine. It is about 10 miles from the center of the downtown. I mention this because if you do not have a car, plan of spending between $15- $20 for a cab trip each way to get to downtown. This wouldn't be bad, if the area where the hotel was located was scenic. It is not. It is off of the freeway, near ugly hideous mall development. Very depressing. The hotel is also awkwardly laid out and designed.

But the worst part was that even though I requested a non-smoking room, I was given a smoking room. The room had the sickening stench of stale cigarettes. They claimed not have any more rooms and offered to send some Febreeze room freshener and an ionizer ..both of which were thoroughly ineffective. Outrageous!

I wish I had paid the extra money and stayed a nicer 3-4 star hotel downtown. If you add up the cab rides to and from downtown, and then add the depressing feeling of this hotel's local, the health risk associated with inhaling second-hand smoke, an extra75-100 bucks a night would have been well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artbrutnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington MA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

The hotel is perfectly adequate with large, comfortable rooms and good service. As tourists we would have preferred a downtown location but booked too late to find rooms. Our restaurant breakfast was ample and reasonably priced, with excellent service. Our non-smoking room was free of smoky odors, but hallways smelled of smoke. No elevator.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RPMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

Filthy carpets, hallways, stair wells, odors throughout the portion of the hotel where the guest rooms are located. Hotel in desperate need of renovatios/updating! Entrance/front exterior (online pictures) are very deceiving. Upon check in guests are told to drive around to the back of the building to locate rooms. There is a dramatic change in environment from front to back. The parking lot is in need of repairs and the hotel is so run down that I was uncomfortable sleeping there. To top in off, the front desk staff was very rude upon check in on the evening of 8/2, however the staff working the morning of 8/3 were very professional and engaging! Do not stay here, just nasty!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusinessTraveler097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

This Holiday Inn is well-maintained and clean. We especially liked the 2 pools (1 indoor, 1 outside). The room was big and clean, although the bedding was a little worn.

The whole place felt like it was fine, but needed updating. Be prepared to schlepp your luggage, as it's a big place and there are no elevators.

We ate breakfast at the restaurant and thought it was sub-par (and expensive). The buffet had about 4 items in it, one of which was a stack of burned pancakes. No fruit. Restaurant service was slow (it took about 1 hour!), and the food was just so-so.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAisMyTrueHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

The hotel lobby was very welcoming and clean, as were the rooms. I was traveling with my two younger sisters and our stay here was great. We had no problems at all. The staff were nice and accommodating. The location of the hotel was good-only a 15 minute drive to Congress Street. I would definitely recommend this to others.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Am1088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
4.0 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
4.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Portland

Property: Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Address: 81 Riverside Street, Portland, ME 04103 (Formerly Holiday Inn Portland West)
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer today’s features with yesterday’s charm. Just minutes from the Portland Jetport and situated directly off I-95 Exit 48, our travel-friendly location is easily accessible. With its comfortable rooms, courtyard views and hospitality, the Fireside Inn & Suites Portland is the ideal choice for you and your family while visiting the Greater Portland Area.While staying with us, we invite you to enjoy Zackery’s Fireside Restaurant for dinner and evening entertainment. Our menus appeal to a wide set of tastes and we are extremely proud of our Staff. Please browse them at your leisure. We serve breakfast, dinner and wonderful desserts! We also have a full bar in Zack’s Club Lounge and offer drink specials for Happy Hour. We are pretty creative with martinis too! Whether you are joining us for business or pleasure, we are waiting for you! While you are here, why not relax by our Lobby Fireplace. Enjoy our late afternoon complimentary fresh coffee right here! Stay with us and each guest will receive a FREE Isamax Snacks Wicked Whoopie Pie! The Whoopie Pie is Maine’s Official State Treat (officially becoming law on September 28, 2011)! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
Fireside Inn And Suites Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing