We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed August 21, 2005

We were lucky enough to get a room at the Holiday Inn, when all flights in the NE were delayed due to summer storms. We took the hotel shuttle in both directions and were pleased with the accommodations. We did have a drink in the bar as they offered an excellent jazz ensemble for evening entertainment. Dinner in their restaurant was very good. It was a clean hotel and worked well for our situation.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liz1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    188
    141
    77
    48
See reviews for
179
173
26
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2005

The staff at this hotel were very friendly and always ready to give us advice on places to go, also the pool was great for the kids. On the down-side the room was dirty and musty, when we first arrived the bed sheets had not been changed from the previous guests. The Kids enjoyed their stay here.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank inthepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2005

This is a pretty nice place conveniently located off I-95 and close to the attractions of Portland and other nearby areas. Freeport, home of L.L. Bean is 20 minutes away.

The hotel is very modern and clean. Our room was very comfortable and it looked as though it was remodeled fairly recently. The bed was very comfortable and the room features its own heating and air conditioning system. The bathroom was a bit small but we managed.

The staff here was very friendly. The night manager was very good about pointing out shore sights to see and gave me great driving directions. There are two pools with one of them indoors. The indoor pool is small and shallow but it’s a good place for small children. The outdoor pool was bigger but not quite large enough to handle all of the people that went in since it was hot outside.

The food here was surprisingly very good. We had dinner here both nights we stayed. The seafood was fresh and reasonably priced. It’s not a bad place to get good seafood as there is not much around there other then a Ruby Tuesday’s, an Applebee’s, and a Denny's which are not known for having fresh seafood. Otherwise, it’s a drive down to downtown Portland to get seafood which was more expensive than at the hotel.

There is also a lounge with live bands every weekend. Don’t be too bothered by the security guards outside of the lounge. In Maine, liquor cannot leave the bar area so they are there to simply enforce that.

We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Portland area.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank timman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 24, 2005

A

ALL the rooms smell of cigarette smoke.The staff is unfriendlyand way over priced for what you get for $127.00 a night. This is without a doubt the WORST holiday Inn I have ever stayed at. Save your money, sleep in the car. Be carefull at the front desk, the guy was cocky and thinks he is running the show at the Waldorf Astoria. He preferred cash up front for the room and had no plans to give you a receipt which I thought was very strange.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2005

This obviously isn't luxury, but it's a decent value. I recently traveled to Portland for the weekend and this hotel was a great choice for a casual stay. Price was reasonable, rooms were clean, bar/restaurants are within walking distance, parking was free and easy in the garage that is attached to the hotel.

If you're looking for casual/value accommodations, you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rusty98tj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, ME
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2005

We got this room for $75 the night we statyed there. The hotel was great! Clean rooms and friendly service. The kids and I had a great time at the indoor pool for a before bed swim.

Pros...

-Right by lots of shopping and resturants
-great value
-very clean
-friendly staff
-very handy to the Maine Mall

A couple cons...
-you have to pay a 60 cent toll to get to and from the Maine Mall everytime you come and go to it (unless you take backroads...and I don't know the area well enough to do that, plus the hotel staff said it was well worth the 60 cents to just hop of the interstate)
-It's VERY big...our room felt like it was MILES from the front desk/pool area
-they "brag" about having nintendo for the kids...it's $6 per half hour (or something crazy like that)!!

All-in-all....we would stay there again if we couldn't get a great rate with an indoor pool closer to the Maine Mall.

Colleen

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lapeen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 11, 2004

This hotel was excellent, the staff, restaurant, everything was 5 stars! The rooms were clean and roomy, the jacuzzi very nice! The staff at the restaurant was superb, especially the Host. He gave us tips on places to go, directions, everything. Definitely worth the $$

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#12 of 19 in Portland
1,551 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
2.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#15 of 19 in Portland
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
4.0 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,333 reviews
2.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Portland

Property: Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Address: 81 Riverside St, Portland, ME 04103-1045 (Formerly Holiday Inn Portland West)
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer today’s features with yesterday’s charm. Just minutes from the Portland Jetport and situated directly off I-95 Exit 48, our travel-friendly location is easily accessible. With its comfortable rooms, courtyard views and hospitality, the Fireside Inn & Suites Portland is the ideal choice for you and your family while visiting the Greater Portland Area.While staying with us, we invite you to enjoy Zackery’s Fireside Restaurant for dinner and evening entertainment. Our menus appeal to a wide set of tastes and we are extremely proud of our Staff. Please browse them at your leisure. We serve breakfast, dinner and wonderful desserts! We also have a full bar in Zack’s Club Lounge and offer drink specials for Happy Hour. We are pretty creative with martinis too! Whether you are joining us for business or pleasure, we are waiting for you! While you are here, why not relax by our Lobby Fireplace. Enjoy our late afternoon complimentary fresh coffee right here! Stay with us and each guest will receive a FREE Isamax Snacks Wicked Whoopie Pie! The Whoopie Pie is Maine’s Official State Treat (officially becoming law on September 28, 2011)! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and HotelsClick so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
Fireside Inn And Suites Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing