We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Competition”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The room was very clean plenty of towels and the staff were very friendly, acknowledging and greeting me every time I walked past the front desk. The $10 coupon was a nice touch to experience the dining area. The beds were a bit uncomfortable The food was good and continental breakfast had good variety. However lunch was not offered and made it a bit challenging during the competition. They were very accommodating to our competition. It was nice to relax in the front lobby area by the fireplace on couches while waiting for the afternoon competition setup. It felt like being at home in your own living room

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us at the Fireside Inn and Suites during your trip to the Portland, ME area. Thank you for taking the time to review us; we appreciate it! It sounds like we succeeded in our goal to provide spotlessly clean rooms, exceptional customer service and hospitality. Our lobby fireplace is very relaxing, especially this time of year! We hope you'll come see us again the next time you travel to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
There are newer reviews for Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 640 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had a very delightful visit at your hote. The only thing I can say is that the beds were not very comfortable. A bit hard and gave both my husband and myself back aches in the morning. Our daughter, however, slept like a baby.
Food in the restaurant was delicious! Pool was very clean and warm. Our daughter had a wonderful time swimming as did we.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your stay at the Portland Fireside Inn and Suites. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your dining experience in our onsite restaurant, Zackery's. Our indoor heated swimming pool and hot tub sure are nice during the wintertime! During the summertime we open our outdoor pool which is also heated, and located in our beautiful garden courtyard. We hope you'll come visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This hotel is our Go-To hotel whenever we stay over for a night or two in Portland. The rooms are clean, the pillow-top beds are comfortable. The $10 credit toward breakfast was an unexpected treat on yesterday's visit. The price is very affordable. I appreciated the in room ref rig. The front desk staff were friendly and efficient. The complementary "woopie pies" made a nice middle of the night snack. It was interesting and thoughtful that the pool has an adaptive swivel access chair.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thanks for sharing your experience online with us regarding your stay at the Portland Fireside Inn and Suites. We appreciate your feedback. It's beneficial to know what we're doing right and what can be improved on. We are happy to hear you've enjoyed staying with us on more than one occasion. On your next trip ask about our "Welcome Home Club" Rewards Program! Yes, we also agree the handicapped adaptive chair for our pool is a great addition to our property! The outdoor pool has this as well as the indoor. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Have stayed for 12-15 nights per year for approx. the last 10 years. Lost a min. 1 star when it left the Holiday Inn chain, but still OK value for money. Rooms are OK and being serviced OK. Very, very friendly staff.
Negative side: If you are a smoker: Pretty poor facility for smokers!
The reward programme works really well.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool area is an advantage.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Knud Frisenborg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for reviewing us and sharing your feedback. We appreciate the time you took to do this, and for your continued business at our hotel. As many other hotels, restaurants, and facilities in Maine are choosing to be “smoke free”, we are happy to offer a 100% smoke free building too. We hope you are able to take advantage of our smoking section outside the building while you stay with us. We really appreciate the kind words about our staff as well; they are fantastic!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My girlfriend and I were shopping and looking for a nice clean and safe place to stay. They were helpful (my reservations got lost but they still accommodated us) and we were happy to have a yummy breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norbert20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us about your stay in Portland at the Fireside Inn and Suites. We are happy our staff was able to accommodate you and your girlfriend and were helpful in finding you a room. Our complimentary continental breakfast is offered every morning, and we also have a restaurant which serves a hot breakfast and dinner option. Please come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Only slept here and didn't use any of the amenities. I was very impressed with the cleanliness and comfort.. The lobby is very welcoming and attractive, I liked that the fire was going in the fireplace. It has a nice location, close to airport, mall and Maine turnpike. The staff were all very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dwickert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review us online. We really appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Portland Fireside Inn and Suites. On your next trip we hope you’ll get to enjoy all our hotel has to offer. We have complimentary breakfast each morning, as well as a restaurant serving hot breakfast and dinner. We also have two pools, an indoor and an outdoor. Our hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi and shuttle service 24 hours a day to the Airport, Bus Station, and Train Station. We appreciate the kind words you had to say, and look forward to having you visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I took my wife away for a 4 day birthday weekend. This was our first time staying at the Fireside. We had the suite with the fireplace and loved it. It was a snowy Maine weekend and we were able to snuggle in front of the fire and watch the snow come down. The suite is made up of two large rooms which were very clean and filled with comfortable clean furniture. No bad smells as you sometime get even in much more expensive hotels. A odd but nice feature of the room was the fact that it had two bathrooms. Other features we liked were the two 42" TVs which we were able to attach to our Tablet and watch Netflix via the excellent WiFi at the hotel. Also the coffee pot usually found in hotel rooms was replaced with a nice K-Cup machine stocked with Green Mountain Coffee. The Hotel has many comfortable places to sit and chat and the lobby has a nice roaring fireplace to sit in front of, along with free coffee in the afternoon and free popcorn. The staff was super nice and helpful. The only thing I can ding them for is the heavy on carbs free breakfast, I expected more based on the rest of the hotel. But we will become a regular customer based on this stay!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us and Happy Belated Birthday to your wife! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us while in the Portland area. The fireplace rooms certainly are a nice place to rest during the winter time. We will be adding more fireplaces to more rooms over this coming year. We hope you’ll try our restaurant for breakfast next time; they have lots of yummy offerings too! Our staff looks forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#15 of 20 in Portland
1,690 reviews
2.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#17 of 20 in Portland
590 reviews
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
3.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
4.0 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Portland

Address: 81 Riverside St, Portland, ME 04103-1045 (Formerly Holiday Inn Portland West)
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $93 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer today’s features with yesterday’s charm. Just minutes from the Portland Jetport and situated directly off I-95 Exit 48, our travel-friendly location is easily accessible. With its comfortable rooms, courtyard views and hospitality, the Fireside Inn & Suites Portland is the ideal choice for you and your family while visiting the Greater Portland Area.While staying with us, we invite you to enjoy Zackery’s Fireside Restaurant for dinner and evening entertainment. Our menus appeal to a wide set of tastes and we are extremely proud of our Staff. Please browse them at your leisure. We serve breakfast, dinner and wonderful desserts! We also have a full bar in Zack’s Club Lounge and offer drink specials for Happy Hour. We are pretty creative with martinis too! Whether you are joining us for business or pleasure, we are waiting for you! While you are here, why not relax by our Lobby Fireplace. Enjoy our late afternoon complimentary fresh coffee right here! Stay with us and each guest will receive a FREE Isamax Snacks Wicked Whoopie Pie! The Whoopie Pie is Maine’s Official State Treat (officially becoming law on September 28, 2011)! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
Fireside Inn And Suites Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing