We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place for an overnight” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fireside Inn & Suites Portland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for an overnight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night after arriving on a (very) late flight, and then heading out early the next morning to pick up our rental car and head on to Bar Harbor. I would definitely recommend it! Because we arrived so late (after midnight), the front desk suggested that it would be quicker for us to get one of the cabs sitting at the airport, for which we were reimbursed immediately upon check-in which was great. After a long day and long flights, we appreciated just how comfy the beds were! The hotel was also convenient to the Hertz off-airport lot (saved $200 on our rental by going off-airport, and we could return it to the airport for no extra charge), close enough that Hertz came and picked us up from the hotel for free. There was a free continental breakfast, but it was more what I consider dessert breakfast (muffins, pancakes, yogurt, etc) so we also stopped at the Panera across the street for some egg sandwiches on the way out. Overall we loved it and would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingpanda86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us about your stay at the Fireside Inn and Suites. We are happy to be a part of your trip to the Portland area. Please stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    176
    138
    77
    45
See reviews for
166
169
25
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Had to spend one night for a business trip. This hotel needs updating and rooms need to be cleaner. Should have stayed at a cheaper hotel. Overpriced room.
Dinner in the restaurant however, was very nice and the waitress was fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nighttripperplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your taking the time to evaluate us. Please accept our apologies the room was not what you expected. Your review does not mention if your dissatisfaction was brought to the attention of our staff during your stay. Our front desk staff can be helpful in relocating your room so you may have a more pleasant stay and positive experience. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the restaurant, Zackery’s, and received excellent service. Thank you again for sharing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Portland is one of our favorite cities and this was the second time we stayed at the Fireside Inn. The proximity to I-95 makes this place a convenient gem to get to. The bad part about that is it's away from the Old Port section of Portland. Portland is not the easiest city to drive in and you can get misdirected very easy. The friendly staff at the front desk called us a taxi which picked us up the front entrance and dropped us off at the Old Port. Rooms were very clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Indoor and outdoor pool a make this an added bonus for families with children. We didn't eat at Zackery's Restaurant on this trip but it was nice to know that it was there if we wanted to. I'm sure this will be a do over for us in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at our property during your visit to Portland, Maine. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the full scope of the facilities. Our staff looks forward to welcoming you back on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

It was only a one night stay and we didn't spend much time there or use the facilities. Both pools looked nice. Room was very clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. I'd definitely recommend the place. $15-$20 cab ride into Portland. We got a good deal on the room, so it was worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Fireside Inn and Suites. We are very happy to hear that your stay was pleasant, and hope that you will decide to choose us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Maine, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Fireside Inn is a wonderful respite. It's old fashioned but my experience is that a lot of "updated" hotels are not nearly as comfortable as this hotel is. The bed is really really comfortable, the linens are not covered in some kind of plastic stuff, it's quiet, the staff is very helpful, their attitudes are positive and respectful, there's a bathtub and a lot of hot water, and everything works i.e. air-con, T.V. etc. You can get what you ask for at this hotel and not be given the run-around. It's not downtown Portland but I wound not have wanted to be any closer to Portland to get a good nights rest (lol- Portland is a wild and crazy and fun happening place, but very loud)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 713MBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us about your stay at the Fireside Inn and Suites. We appreciate the kind words regarding our property and hotel staff. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Portland area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay with Fireside Inn it was clean, quiet even through you are next to the Interstate with is easy access to I-95. The restaurant is right there and you have the choice bewteen continental free breakfast or the restaurant breakfast both were nice. Free WiFi with not all hotels do. It has a inside and outside pool with was nice because you never know what the weather will be like. Prices was very reasonably. Bed was comfortable, we would stay the again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmomstou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Fireside Inn and Suites during your visit to Portland, Maine. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the full scope of the facilities including our restaurant! Our staff is looking forward to welcoming you on your return trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Kansas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Quiet location being that close to the interstate. Lobby, restaurant and pools very nice. Very hard to get into the hot tub, the metal ladder was slick. Our queen size bed was very comfortable but the room certainly needs refurbished, it smelled musty and old. Did appreciate the charging outlets to charge phones and iPad. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of us here at the Fireside Inn and Suites Portland, Maine. We are happy to read how much you enjoyed our convenient location, facilities, and pleasant staff. We hope you can join us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
2.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Portland

Property: Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Address: 81 Riverside Street, Portland, ME 04103 (Formerly Holiday Inn Portland West)
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer today’s features with yesterday’s charm. Just minutes from the Portland Jetport and situated directly off I-95 Exit 48, our travel-friendly location is easily accessible. With its comfortable rooms, courtyard views and hospitality, the Fireside Inn & Suites Portland is the ideal choice for you and your family while visiting the Greater Portland Area.While staying with us, we invite you to enjoy Zackery’s Fireside Restaurant for dinner and evening entertainment. Our menus appeal to a wide set of tastes and we are extremely proud of our Staff. Please browse them at your leisure. We serve breakfast, dinner and wonderful desserts! We also have a full bar in Zack’s Club Lounge and offer drink specials for Happy Hour. We are pretty creative with martinis too! Whether you are joining us for business or pleasure, we are waiting for you! While you are here, why not relax by our Lobby Fireplace. Enjoy our late afternoon complimentary fresh coffee right here! Stay with us and each guest will receive a FREE Isamax Snacks Wicked Whoopie Pie! The Whoopie Pie is Maine’s Official State Treat (officially becoming law on September 28, 2011)! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
Fireside Inn And Suites Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing