We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time at a Fireside Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First time at a Fireside Inn”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I was in Portland for the first time and decided to stay at the Fireside Inn because the price was right. The room was dated, but clean. The beds were very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was much better than we expected. The only complain that we have, is that they didn't have any hot tea, which is a minor thing. When we arrived we were greeted with a whoopie pie each, which was a nice touch. We will definitely try another Fireside inn again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2013Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy you found all the facilities and staff accommodating. We belong to a hotel chain of over 30 hotels in the Maine and New Hampshire area called Lafayette Hotels. This chain includes 7 Fireside Inns. The best compliment we can receive is to have you and your family stay with one of our properties on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    189
    141
    77
    48
See reviews for
179
173
26
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel is perfect for exploring Portland and the surrounding area of Maine without spending a ton for hotel accommodations. First impression...the hotel staff was so friendly and accommodating...can't say enough about that. I was provided with advice on great places to eat (favorites of staff) and they were spot on! The rates were good, the room was clean, and the breakfast food in the hotel restaurant was very good. We did not eat dinner at the hotel so cannot comment. The continental breakfast was OK. Entertainment on Friday night in the lounge was nice. My kids enjoyed the outside pool and the jacuzzi. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It makes us happy to hear you’ll be staying with us again! Our location is easily accessible from the highway and the major route into the downtown Portland area. We offer an excellent value at the Fireside Inn and Suites by giving our guest complimentary amenities which they may end up paying more for downtown such as parking, Wi-Fi, and breakfast. We look forward to accommodating you on your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our first room smelled terrible of smoke as do all the hallways. Our second room was barely acceptable. Sheets were clean but the rest of the room was dated. Bathroom had hair all over shower walls. Bed was comfortable. We went down to breakfast in the morning at Zachary's. Five tables were full. At least a dozen empty. We were told 10 minutes wait. Our other two parties were already seated! Then a manager appears and tells us 30 minutes. Someone called in sick and the manager and hostess apparently don't know or want to know how to wait and bus tables. They offer a free continental breakfast but that was also a joke. The soccer tourney they booked in trashed the place, ate all of the food and broke the pancake machine. We left for a drive thru. Will not be visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shamilton12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us about your stay. We appreciate you letting us know about the problems you experienced. Please accept our apologies that we fell short of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
166 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I read the reviews - but we were meeting family in Portland and they did not want to spend $300 for a hampton inn (the going rate for that particular weekend) so we all stayed at the Fireside. When I called I asked for the nicest and newest room available. They claimed I had booked an upgraded room. Not the case. The room was not clean and I have no idea what was "upgraded" about it- there were cobwebs everywhere and it smelled strange.

The only positive is that the bed was comfortable and the staff as reported in the reviews were as nice and helpful as could be.

The weekend breakfast is more exensive and much better than the breakfast during the week. All in all I would take a pass on this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us about your stay. It’s disappointing to hear that while you enjoyed some aspects about your stay, the staff, breakfast, and price, that you will not be revisiting us. We have many different types of rooms available. Your review does not mention if you let the staff know of your concerns with your room. We would have been happy to relocate you so you would have had a more pleasant experience. We are renovating more of our rooms and adding flat screen TVs, fridges, and fireplaces. On your next visit to the Portland area we hope you will try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The facilities alone are not the reason you want to come back to a hotel - it's the staff. The friendliness and helpfulness of Fireside Inn staff is a reflection from the top. They could not have been more helpful, nicer, or accommodating to these two out of towners. Beautiful flowers, a fire in the fireplace, and an inviting pool add to the ambiance; breakfast and dinner were excellent. Wish we could go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your compliments of our hotel online with the Trip Advisor community. We appreciate the kind words. Our friendly staff looks forward to welcoming you back should you ever travel to the Portland area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Filthy. Moved the drape aside and there was huge cobweb under it where it hadn't been vacuumed for a long time. My husband found dirt on the floor next to the TV. The air conditioner had debris in it and it was caked with dust. The room smelled bad . It was too late to find another room and we had no choice but to stay. Never again.The room needed stripping and a good thorough cleaning.

Room Tip: Book early and pay extra to get a decent room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank digby d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for giving us your feedback. We are constantly working on improvements to make our hotel the best in the area. We appreciate any feedback we can use to achieve that goal. It is disappointing to know of the housekeeping issues you experienced. Your review does not mention if you made any of our staff aware of your concerns. Our Front Desk staff can be helpful in relocating your room for you to make for a more comfortable stay. We hope you enjoyed your time in the Portland area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed one night at the Fireside Inn on July 24. I was attending a conference at the Holiday Inn by the Bay starting July 25 and had to book an extra night for July 24. The conference booked rooms at the Fireside Inn. I dropped off my bags in the room about 12 noon and had to leave immediately to attending the conference at the Holiday Inn. The room was musty but sometimes rooms are when you first go in and the staff turn on the air conditioner. I came back to the room at 11pm and the room was horribly musty. The rug felt wet. I took a shower and crawled into bed. When I got up in the morning I took a shower and killed a water bug. When I checked out I told the gentleman at the desk of my horrible experience and said he was sorry.

Well the water bug didn't even split the bill with me. I don't understand how anyone could say that this was a good stay. Unless you are used to musty hotels and mold, I guess this suits your needs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank mbaldari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Please accept our apologies for the problems you encountered with the room. We appreciate you sharing your experience as we would not have an opportunity to improve without your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
1,553 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
2.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#15 of 19 in Portland
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,336 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
2.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Portland

Property: Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Address: 81 Riverside St, Portland, ME 04103-1045 (Formerly Holiday Inn Portland West)
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer today’s features with yesterday’s charm. Just minutes from the Portland Jetport and situated directly off I-95 Exit 48, our travel-friendly location is easily accessible. With its comfortable rooms, courtyard views and hospitality, the Fireside Inn & Suites Portland is the ideal choice for you and your family while visiting the Greater Portland Area.While staying with us, we invite you to enjoy Zackery’s Fireside Restaurant for dinner and evening entertainment. Our menus appeal to a wide set of tastes and we are extremely proud of our Staff. Please browse them at your leisure. We serve breakfast, dinner and wonderful desserts! We also have a full bar in Zack’s Club Lounge and offer drink specials for Happy Hour. We are pretty creative with martinis too! Whether you are joining us for business or pleasure, we are waiting for you! While you are here, why not relax by our Lobby Fireplace. Enjoy our late afternoon complimentary fresh coffee right here! Stay with us and each guest will receive a FREE Isamax Snacks Wicked Whoopie Pie! The Whoopie Pie is Maine’s Official State Treat (officially becoming law on September 28, 2011)! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and HotelsClick so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn And Suites Portland
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing