We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too crazy about it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We arrived prior to check-in and were told that there were no rooms available at the moment and to come back in a few hours. I wasn't thrilled with the fact that the woman who "helped" us didn't make much eye contact with me and didn't even offer to let us leave our bags at the hotel.

When we checked in later we were greeted by a nice gentlemen who presented us with our room keys, a $10 coupon for the hotel restaurant, and whoopie pies from Wicked Whoopies, which were absolutely amazing. Additionally, there was a popcorn machine in the lobby, which we took advantage of. We were assigned a room in the back of the property.

The property could definitely use some updating. I wish I could say it was clean and comfortable, but it wasn't clean and because it wasn't clean, I couldn't exactly get comfortable, especially in our room. The bathroom had several strands of hair near the sink when we arrived, which REALLY turned me off.

We passed on the $10 restaurant coupon and went across the street to CHIPOTLE for dinner, instead.

I can't say I recommend this place...I definitely would never go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lissy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for sharing the details of your stay with us at the Fireside Inn and Suites Portland. We are more than happy to check guests into their rooms early if one is available. Our check in time is 3pm. If a room is not available we are able to accommodate luggage for you. We apologize this service was not offered to you during your first interaction with the staff. It sounds like your second impression was much better, and the way all our guests should be welcomed in our hotel. We have been renovating many of our rooms, adding flat screen TVs, fireplaces, etc. We would welcome the opportunity for you to come back and try us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
There are newer reviews for Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 640 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

I agree with most of the recent reviews of this hotel. You need to lower your expectations of this property. It is NOT at the same level of any Hilton or Marriott properties. Closer to some of the older LaQuinta properties. I was told by another guest that the retail is over $180/night. I would never pay that for this hotel. We got a crew rack rate under a 80 bucks and it was fair at that rate. The staff there is great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hwkrdrvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us at the Fireside Inn and Suites Portland. While our property is older, we have been busy adding upgrades and doing renovations. Our staff would welcome the opportunity to show you what we have been working on the next time you’re in the area. Flat screen TVs, fridges, and fireplaces are some of the new upgrades we have been making. Our rates depend on the seasons; summertime being the busiest and having the highest demand for rooms. Our goal is to offer guests value in their rate with our complimentary breakfast, Wi-Fi, parking, business center, etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Went to Portland one night to spend time with friends from Arizona. They were flying our in a couple of days. Room was clean, kids enjoyed the pools and it is so conveniently located. We chose to have a quick breakfast so we went with the continental. It was free and got us on our way. Loved the pancake machine. Everyone is so welcoming and friendly. LOVED the whoopie pies at check in. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeann2427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for another great review of our hotel! We appreciate your continued loyalty and repeated business. We are glad you enjoyed all the facilities and our staff. Looking forward to have you stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We did an online reservation and got the room for $116 a night. Not bad compared to the cost of the other hotels. Room we had was an older room, but was nice and clean. We were facing the parking lot. As with most hotels, room had a musty smell until we turned on the Air and it was fine after that. The grounds, pool, lobby areas were very attractive and very clean. They had a bar and restaurant which was nice to have there. You can sit in the area by the pool and have a drink. The restaurant was very cute and clean and the breakfast there was wonderful and cheap. The staff was wonderful. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The continental breakfast is free. However, if you want eggs and bacon or sausage you need to use...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with our property during your vacation to Maine. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are very happy to hear that your stay was a pleasant one and you enjoyed the full scope of the facilities including our restaurant! Maine is always an excellent spot for vacation, so our staff looks forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel is old, and because of that our room smelled musty. The desk chair had huge stains on it, and there were gnats in the room for the entire stay. The shower curtain was also stained. The bed was comfortable and aside from the shower curtain, the bathroom was clean. The hotel was good for what we needed, a place to sleep and shower. I would not recommend the continental breakfast, as it left a lot to be desired, but the dinning room was pretty good. The staff was great. We didn't meet an unfriendly face. If I were basing the review on the staff, I would give it a 5 for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tawil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It is helpful knowledge to us to know what are doing right and what can be improved on. We apologize for the housekeeping issues you experienced during your stay. Your review unfortunately does not mention if these concerns were brought to the attention of any of our staff. Our Front Desk Staff can be very helpful in relocating your room and remedying this kind of situation so your stay with us is a more pleasant one. It sounds like you did experience great customer service with our staff and they appreciate the kind words. We hope you will try us again the next time you’re in the area as we have been doing renovations and adding upgrades to our rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I decided to try this hotel for a recent trip to Portland because the prepay option was so reasonable compared to other options ($120 per night) - we booked late and the rates at my usual choices (Courtyard, Residence inn, Marriot) were astronomical (300+ per night). I knew the reviews were mixed but thought I would chance it and complain if the room was not acceptable. Well, I did complain as soon as we arrived - the room smelled very bad - worst than just musty and when my daughter sat on the floor her white pants got brown and wet (I am guessing spilled coffee because she was near the coffee maker which was on top of a tiny cube size refrigerator sitting on the floor). Also, the room was extremely damp. We were moved immediately to another room facing the courtyard with a bigger refrigerator and a microwave. It seemed ok at first but soon enough the dampness set in and the musty smell was apparent. The entire hotel felt dirty. The grout on the floor of the bathroom was black except in the corner under the sink where you could see it was actually light colored. The carpets felt dirty but they are so dark colored you really could not tell - lots of built up dirt around doorways and along walls. There was a huge build up of dust and dirt in the air conditioner. Since we prepayed for 7 nights we decided to deal with the hotel - the obvious downside to prepaying - a friend staying at the same hotel opted to leave after 2 days and pay up for the Marriot. After this prolonged time I concluded that the hotel has lots of potential - nice courtyard, indoor pool, outdoor pool, ho ttub, sauna, ballroom, however it is old and dingy and needs everything updated. New carpets, air conditioners, ventilation system(bathrooms do not vent probably causing a lot of the dampness and musty smells), curtains, beds(very hard), furniture. To me it looks like a perfect opportunity for "Hotel Impossible". Lastly, the rooms facing the courtyard are nicer, however, most nights there were loud crowds gathered until at least 11:30pm.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are nicer but noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lthomas175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It is helpful knowledge to us to know what are doing right and what can be improved on. We apologize for the housekeeping issues you experienced during your stay. We are happy our Front Desk Staff was helpful in relocating your room. We hope you will try us again the next time you’re in the area as we have been doing renovations and adding upgrades to our rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

They changed the free full breakfast, to a free continental breakfast, since the last time I was there. Staff was good however after my second nights stay my card stopped working. As the staff at the desk failed to put the proper check out dates on the room cards.
Our room window had a draft it was march so you could feel the cold air coming in near the window.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GK363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Fireside Inn and Suites Portland. Our hotel offers a free continental breakfast and guests have the option of dining in our restaurant for extra items. We apologize that your keys to your room stopped working. While this could have happened for many reasons, it is a quick and easy fix after visiting the front desk. We hope you enjoyed your stay in the Portland area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#15 of 20 in Portland
1,690 reviews
2.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#17 of 20 in Portland
590 reviews
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
3.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
4.0 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Portland

Address: 81 Riverside St, Portland, ME 04103-1045 (Formerly Holiday Inn Portland West)
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $93 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer today’s features with yesterday’s charm. Just minutes from the Portland Jetport and situated directly off I-95 Exit 48, our travel-friendly location is easily accessible. With its comfortable rooms, courtyard views and hospitality, the Fireside Inn & Suites Portland is the ideal choice for you and your family while visiting the Greater Portland Area.While staying with us, we invite you to enjoy Zackery’s Fireside Restaurant for dinner and evening entertainment. Our menus appeal to a wide set of tastes and we are extremely proud of our Staff. Please browse them at your leisure. We serve breakfast, dinner and wonderful desserts! We also have a full bar in Zack’s Club Lounge and offer drink specials for Happy Hour. We are pretty creative with martinis too! Whether you are joining us for business or pleasure, we are waiting for you! While you are here, why not relax by our Lobby Fireplace. Enjoy our late afternoon complimentary fresh coffee right here! Stay with us and each guest will receive a FREE Isamax Snacks Wicked Whoopie Pie! The Whoopie Pie is Maine’s Official State Treat (officially becoming law on September 28, 2011)! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
Fireside Inn And Suites Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing