We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look No Further!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Portland
maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Look No Further!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Our stay was wonderful! We had a great meal in the restaurant before my kids took a dip in the pool. The property was very clean and the staff friendly and helpful. The negative reviews were definitely not true. The property is conveniently located at the exit, but I did not hear any noise. We loved the whoopie pies we received at check in. I think the Fireside Inn chain is fairly new, we will definitely look for others when we are traveling.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbrown1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community regarding your recent stray with us at Fireside Portland. We are happy to hear you and your children enjoyed all the great amenities we offer such as two pools, complimentary Whoopies, and breakfast. It is true the Fireside Inn name is new to southern Maine, as we have others in Waterville, Auburn, and Bangor. We also have two Fireside Inn properties in Gilford and West Lebanon New Hampshire. Having repeat customers like yourself if what makes our hotels strive, and we look forward to accommodating you on future trips to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    184
    139
    77
    47
See reviews for
176
171
26
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We made reservations at the Fireside Inn because they would transport us to American Cruise Line and allow us to leave our vehicle there. It is located out of the main town area which we liked because downtown Portland is a zoo. The room was comfortable & clean. We ate in their restaurant that evening and the meal was reasonably priced and quite good. A continental breakfast was provided in the morning. I would recommend this as a place to stay in Portland.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjj98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community regarding your recent stray with us at Fireside Portland. We are happy to hear we could accommodate all of your needs and appreciate your recommendation. It is critical to our hotel’s success to have you as a loyal customer. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosbach, Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Fireside Inn surely was at some point a good hotel, possibly even a Holiday Inn as a old van in the back of the hotel may suggests. Now its just a run down hotel where bussloads are being dumped due to low priced rooms.
Locates just by the I95 the noise level is impressing, as are the neighbours of the Fireside Inn: Burger King and shops that sell all kind of stuff.
We are on a round trip and thankfully only a night there. Everywhere are signs of wear, be it doors, carpets or interior fittings. The dirty carpets on the stair and hallway give a indication of how this hotel is run. The room has got a rather specific smell, and once opened the window is difficult to shut (american trucks are great, but they are loud). The hairdryer is loaded with dirt and dust, the AC hangs half dismounted in its fitting. We really regret staying here, while we passed so many lovely Motels and Inns on the A1 coming from Boston.
Why the coffee maker stands in the toilet is a mystery to me, I drink my coffee else where. There are many more little things to add, but I hope I have given an idea. In light of things we have decided to skip breakfast here.....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panarabica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent trip to Portland with us. We are very sorry to hear we didn’t meet your expectations. We are constantly improving our property and are in the process of adding flat screen TVs and Keruig coffee makers in our rooms. We are also working on some new rooms which will be available by the end of the year. We welcome any kind of feedback so we may continue on improving our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We just spent two nights at the Fireside Inn in Portland Maine. After reading some of the negative reviews on trip advisor, my wife and I were very apprehensive. We communicated our concerns with their front end manager who assured us our stay would be a pleasant one. She was right, our two night stay was just fine. Upon arrival we were greeted by two friendly ladies staffing the front desk. Check in was very smooth. The hotel and the rooms are a little worn and a little dated but the room was very clean. However, the musty smell in the elevator was very strong and should be addressed. The room had two double beds and overlooked the courtyard We booked our rooms through one of the travel web sites and paid a reduced rate as compared to the Firesides published rates. The drive into Old Portland is about 10 minutes.

The price we paid for a three star rated hotel was a very good value compared to other hotels in the area. Our feeling is the rating on the travel website of three stars is accurate and given what we paid for the room, we were very happy with it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucyindahood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience online regarding your stay at the Fireside Inn Portland. We appreciate it! I am glad to hear your concerns were answered and well taken care of. Our goal is to provide spotlessly clean rooms, superior service and hospitality. We hope to accommodate you on future trips to the Portland area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raynham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

The rooms were spacious and we were delighted with the Dog bowl and Whoopie pies. Clean and kept up we had adjoining rooms that made it fun to hang out later with our friends. The hotel was not too far from the center of town for the price on a weekend. Pool was nice and it seems like alot of weddings take place there with a area for a gathering or party.

Room Tip: Adjoining rooms are great for friends to visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Fireside Inn & Suites Portland. We are happy to hear you (and your pet!) enjoyed your stay with us. It is our pleasure to accommodate gatherings at our property. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
159 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the Fireside Inn & Suites Portland for one night. I shopped all over the place for a hotel that was pet friendly but not overboard with the extra charges. All of the rooms at fireside are pet friendly and only charge $10 per night for a pet. The downside is the room was 171.15 including taxes to start with. We decided to go with the fireside because we love the Fireside in West Lebanon NH and had the expectation this one would be just as nice. We had a king size courtyard view room. The room was clean and a good size. The bathroom was tiny. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were tight, fresh and clean. The TV was an old outdated thing with a lousy picture. The decor was old and showing its age. The downside to the courtyard room was we couldn't go into the courtyard and enjoy it. Dogs are not allowed there. So we could only look at it. Since we couldn't leave the dog in the room alone we ordered room service from the onsite restaurant, Zackery’s. We found the food to be pricey but it was very tasty. So being pricey is ok since the food was delicious. The free continental breakfast was ok, nothing special. Overall this is an ok hotel. It needs some updating in my opinion and until that is done it is not worth what they are charging.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience and feedback of your stay with us at Fireside Inn Portland. We are happy we could accommodate you and your four legged friend. We have many different types of rooms at many different prices, the courtyard rooms are more because they offer more (a view of the courtyard, a quieter location, microwave, and fridge). We are working on getting flat screen TVs in every room. Our restaurant staff is pleased to hear you enjoyed your room service, and we all hope you will return to us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

I arrived at the fireside this evening and I did not have a room and o asked the man and women doing the bags where my room was they said go to the front desk to get a room they were rude. I went there and no one helped me till the guy greg who meet our bus said he would help me and another woman who also did not have a room found her a room also. Greg was also very.nice at dinner. I ussally do not complain but dinner and our greeting was good but the baggage and desk people were rude and not helpful at all.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grj55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us during your bus tour trip. We are happy to be accommodating more and more bus tours like yours each year! Your business is important to us, and we apologize you were not completely satisfied. There was an unfortunate error with the rooming list we received for your bus group. The fax machine had actually left off a bottom portion of the list. We are glad to hear this error was taken care of and you received a comfortable room to stay in. We are also glad to hear you enjoyed the tour dinner. We hope you will consider us again the next time you’re in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
4.0 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Portland

Property: Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Address: 81 Riverside Street, Portland, ME 04103 (Formerly Holiday Inn Portland West)
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer today’s features with yesterday’s charm. Just minutes from the Portland Jetport and situated directly off I-95 Exit 48, our travel-friendly location is easily accessible. With its comfortable rooms, courtyard views and hospitality, the Fireside Inn & Suites Portland is the ideal choice for you and your family while visiting the Greater Portland Area.While staying with us, we invite you to enjoy Zackery’s Fireside Restaurant for dinner and evening entertainment. Our menus appeal to a wide set of tastes and we are extremely proud of our Staff. Please browse them at your leisure. We serve breakfast, dinner and wonderful desserts! We also have a full bar in Zack’s Club Lounge and offer drink specials for Happy Hour. We are pretty creative with martinis too! Whether you are joining us for business or pleasure, we are waiting for you! While you are here, why not relax by our Lobby Fireplace. Enjoy our late afternoon complimentary fresh coffee right here! Stay with us and each guest will receive a FREE Isamax Snacks Wicked Whoopie Pie! The Whoopie Pie is Maine’s Official State Treat (officially becoming law on September 28, 2011)! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
Fireside Inn And Suites Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing