We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place but a bit overpriced.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
161 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Nice place but a bit overpriced.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the Fireside Inn & Suites Portland for one night. I shopped all over the place for a hotel that was pet friendly but not overboard with the extra charges. All of the rooms at fireside are pet friendly and only charge $10 per night for a pet. The downside is the room was 171.15 including taxes to start with. We decided to go with the fireside because we love the Fireside in West Lebanon NH and had the expectation this one would be just as nice. We had a king size courtyard view room. The room was clean and a good size. The bathroom was tiny. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were tight, fresh and clean. The TV was an old outdated thing with a lousy picture. The decor was old and showing its age. The downside to the courtyard room was we couldn't go into the courtyard and enjoy it. Dogs are not allowed there. So we could only look at it. Since we couldn't leave the dog in the room alone we ordered room service from the onsite restaurant, Zackery’s. We found the food to be pricey but it was very tasty. So being pricey is ok since the food was delicious. The free continental breakfast was ok, nothing special. Overall this is an ok hotel. It needs some updating in my opinion and until that is done it is not worth what they are charging.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience and feedback of your stay with us at Fireside Inn Portland. We are happy we could accommodate you and your four legged friend. We have many different types of rooms at many different prices, the courtyard rooms are more because they offer more (a view of the courtyard, a quieter location, microwave, and fridge). We are working on getting flat screen TVs in every room. Our restaurant staff is pleased to hear you enjoyed your room service, and we all hope you will return to us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    185
    139
    77
    47
See reviews for
176
172
26
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

I arrived at the fireside this evening and I did not have a room and o asked the man and women doing the bags where my room was they said go to the front desk to get a room they were rude. I went there and no one helped me till the guy greg who meet our bus said he would help me and another woman who also did not have a room found her a room also. Greg was also very.nice at dinner. I ussally do not complain but dinner and our greeting was good but the baggage and desk people were rude and not helpful at all.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grj55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us during your bus tour trip. We are happy to be accommodating more and more bus tours like yours each year! Your business is important to us, and we apologize you were not completely satisfied. There was an unfortunate error with the rooming list we received for your bus group. The fax machine had actually left off a bottom portion of the list. We are glad to hear this error was taken care of and you received a comfortable room to stay in. We are also glad to hear you enjoyed the tour dinner. We hope you will consider us again the next time you’re in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

we booked our "deluxe" room online through expedia and paid $199.00. when we arrived at the hotel we were told that there was only one ground floor room available. It was damp and dark. When I called to see if there was another room, the person in the office was completely unhelpful and out and out lied to say that that was the only room available and we had booked through Expedia. Which somehow meant that you should expect the worst room? we went downstairs to leave for another hotel, and were given another room on the second floor. still not very nice, but a bit better. This is not a well kept hotel and we would never stay there again

Room Tip: our tip would be not to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank relco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Was in Portland over night and after looking at the rates for Labor Day weekend on the Wharf and Downtown hotels, we opted for Hotwire. A "3 star" near the airport was listed for about $100 so we booked it. Were a little apprehensive after learning the name of the hotel and reading the reviews. The first room they offered us smelled of smoke. We had to pay extra to upgrade to a "deluxe" room because they didn't have a non-smoking regular room available. Since we'd already paid Hotwire, we opted for the up charge rather than losing the $100 and going elsewhere.

The non-smoking deluxe room was nothing special (this is MAYBE a 2-star property, and it needs an update to boot.) The room didn't smell, the AC worked, it was nice to have the fridge and microwave, and the room was somewhat clean (we found a chewed pen between one bed and the wall, and the bottom of the tub was gray and needed a good clean.)

The wifi worked well and was included in the room rate. There is a small work out room and 2 pools (indoor and outdoor).

There was a band playing in the restaurant, but we opted to go out instead of trying the hotel's food.

A big bus tour was booked in the hotel with us, so we skipped breakfast (full of people anxious to eat and get to the bus). It looked pretty simple, muffins & bagels, etc. The restaurant was serving full breakfast off the menu.

The staff was polite. We were given two Whoopie Pies when we checked in, they taste more of sugar than chocolate, and we weren't big fans.

Not sure I'd stay here again, too many iffy bits to be a good value.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MrsJRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is an older hotel that is 2-star, at best, not the 3-star promised on Hotwire. My first room was very, very smoky. The staff - all friendly - was willing to move me into another room, but I had to pay extra, as only "deluxe" rooms were available. (The hotel is popular with bus tours and was nearly sold out.) The "deluxe" room was tired looking, with cheap bathroom fixtures, but had two chairs, a microwave and fridge, and overlooked the courtyard, rather than the street. The beds were comfortable enough and it was quiet. An adequate hotel if you are more interested in being out-and-about than being in your room.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank southcounty65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus Pa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Spent 2 nights in at the Fireside Inn. Would not stay again. I was on a bus tour so had no choice in the matter. When we were checking into our rooms, the hallway carpeting was visiably dirty. Given a room that had a strong odor of mold and mildew. My travelling companion had whezing attack and she does not have asthma. I reported concerns to the 3-11pm Manager. He did his best to rectify the situation and gave me another room. Airconditioner and filters were filthy and housekeeping and engineering dept came up to fix problem. We were also given an ionizer which helped. I just did not trust the cleanliness of the place and asked for cleaning supplies and cleaned the room myself. I have no problems staying in an older style hotel but I have a problem when I encounter issues with housekeeping and maintenance of the property. Rooms would be okay if they did not smell and were cleaned properly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lw420B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Cons- room smelled of smoke, shower drain clogged, shower curtain ripped, alarm not plugged in so had to set myself, outdated, smell, no way should be 3 stars

Pros- service was fine for me, sheets look newer at least, cheapper- paid $80 through Hotwire.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amzing10s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
4.0 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Portland

Property: Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Address: 81 Riverside Street, Portland, ME 04103 (Formerly Holiday Inn Portland West)
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer today’s features with yesterday’s charm. Just minutes from the Portland Jetport and situated directly off I-95 Exit 48, our travel-friendly location is easily accessible. With its comfortable rooms, courtyard views and hospitality, the Fireside Inn & Suites Portland is the ideal choice for you and your family while visiting the Greater Portland Area.While staying with us, we invite you to enjoy Zackery’s Fireside Restaurant for dinner and evening entertainment. Our menus appeal to a wide set of tastes and we are extremely proud of our Staff. Please browse them at your leisure. We serve breakfast, dinner and wonderful desserts! We also have a full bar in Zack’s Club Lounge and offer drink specials for Happy Hour. We are pretty creative with martinis too! Whether you are joining us for business or pleasure, we are waiting for you! While you are here, why not relax by our Lobby Fireplace. Enjoy our late afternoon complimentary fresh coffee right here! Stay with us and each guest will receive a FREE Isamax Snacks Wicked Whoopie Pie! The Whoopie Pie is Maine’s Official State Treat (officially becoming law on September 28, 2011)! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
Fireside Inn And Suites Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing