We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Friendly & Reasonable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed July 10, 2011

I purchased my hotel stay through Expedia's unpublished rates and Expedia chose this hotel for my stay for $104. What a pleasant pick! My hotel room was very clean and spacious. Although the hotel is next to the highway I did not hear the traffic in my room. I loved the courtyard garden where my husband and I drank our morning coffee. The staff is super friendly which one would only expect from Maine! The hotel is situated in a convenient spot and is a short drive to the touristy area of Portland. I stayed in a non-smoking king room on the second floor. Unfortunately, the floor is not completely smoke free so the hallways at times smelled like smoke but my room was smoke & odor free. The king bed had inviting white crisp linens and a white duvet. The room seemed recently renovated. The continental breakfast was simple: cereal, muffins, fruit, coffee & juice. I was happy with it since some hotels don't even offer a simple breakfast but if you want a hearty breakfast order in or go out for it. If your looking for a clean hotel room that is reasonably priced than this Hotel is for you :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilovemygetaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (674)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

598 - 604 of 674 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2011

This was a hotel one of a prebooked 15 day fly drive tour of New England and was a one night stopover. It is a $20 taxi ride to downtown, the hotel gave a $5 dollers voucher towards the fare. The free continental breakfast is a "come on" to get you to take the cooked breakfast served in the dining room, as they lead you to a set table without asking if you want the continental breakfast. The continental brakfast is served in another area with only three tables and is very basic, cardbord and plastic cups, with limited choices it also closes one hour earlier than the main dining room. My advice is eat elsewhere.
The room was clean but basic and motel standard.
It was not the worst hotel chosen by our tour operator on the trip but it we would not have chosen it.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank BTBL40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2011

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the continental breakfast provided to our hotel guests free of charge. We have a large assortment of items on our buffet: coffee, tea and juice, fresh fruit, yogurt, an assortment of freshly baked muffins, Danish and four varieties of cold cereal and one hot. While these items are set up in the lower portion of our Dining Room, guests are free to sit anywhere in the Dining Room and then make the choice of having either the free continental breakfast or ordering a full breakfast from our menu. We apologize for any confusion you may have experienced and hope that you will give us another chance to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We went here for fourth of July weekend. The prices are good, but service not so much. Our beds were made yet they did not leave us clean towels. They left the dirty glasses but took the dirty towels. The room rate is supposed to include the continental breakfast. They almost had a riot on their hands the fourth of July morning because they ran out of food. They had a
grocery store right across the street yet no one cared enough to go pick up some cereal and pastries. It would have been so easy!

This is the second and last time we will stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rutherann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideinnportland, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2011

I would like to apologize to you for your issues over the 4th of July weekend. We have a very good Housekeeping Manager and Inspectors, but obviously your room was missed when checking glasses and towels.

In the restaurant we did underestimate the volume of guests over the busy holiday weekend and ran out of some items on Monday morning. I agree with you that if someone had had a chance they could have gone across the street to the supermarket and purchased the necessary products. However, since we do have a full-service restaurant, the Food & Beverage Manager offered anyone who missed out on the Continental Breakfast, a full hot breakfast free of charge. We have re-evaluated our Continental Breakfast needs over the busy summer weekends and we are confident that this occurrence will not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We spent one night here during a long family trip and found it very refreshing. The staff was friendly and helpful at check in but the most impressive thing was the lost and found department. Several important arcticles stayed behind when we left and when i called to arrange shipping they said they did it for free!!! Wow.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Thought this was a great hotel stay.
Very clean, Staff friendly and helpful.
restaurant has a very good menu, BUT the service is slow.
Overall a good hotel for the money UNDER 100.00$
Room rates suggest 210.00$ not even on a perfect day would it be worth that.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adkres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Staff was courteous and promptly addressed questions and/or issues. The hotel appears to be older and thus has the old, not well cared for appearance. The hallways appeared dingy and the carpeting in the guest room did not make me want to walk barefoot (although I never do at hotels). The shower space was a bit tight but the bed was comfortable and clean. Not a horrible place by any stretch but this hotel is in need of renovation.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhillyAuditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

We chose this hotel as a starting point for our New England tour. The hotel itself is good standard for holiday inn measures and an excellent starting point if you want to explore portland or go on westbound to head for New Hampshire. Rooms are clean, quiet and service is efficient and quick, but not overly friendly. All in all a quite satisfying experience, however the extremely loud room fridge and two broken ice/vending machines were a bit tedious to deal with.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redrat72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#14 of 21 in Portland
1,776 reviews
2.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#18 of 21 in Portland
618 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
3.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Portland

Address: 81 Riverside St, Portland, ME 04103-1045 (Formerly Holiday Inn Portland West)
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: $84 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer today’s features with yesterday’s charm. Just minutes from the Portland Jetport and situated directly off I-95 Exit 48, our travel-friendly location is easily accessible. With its comfortable rooms, courtyard views and hospitality, the Fireside Inn & Suites Portland is the ideal choice for you and your family while visiting the Greater Portland Area.While staying with us, we invite you to enjoy Zackery’s Fireside Restaurant for dinner and evening entertainment. Our menus appeal to a wide set of tastes and we are extremely proud of our Staff. Please browse them at your leisure. We serve breakfast, dinner and wonderful desserts! We also have a full bar in Zack’s Club Lounge and offer drink specials for Happy Hour. We are pretty creative with martinis too! Whether you are joining us for business or pleasure, we are waiting for you! While you are here, why not relax by our Lobby Fireplace. Enjoy our late afternoon complimentary fresh coffee right here! Stay with us and each guest will receive a FREE Isamax Snacks Wicked Whoopie Pie! The Whoopie Pie is Maine’s Official State Treat (officially becoming law on September 28, 2011)! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn And Suites Portland
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing