We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We spent one night here during a long family trip and found it very refreshing. The staff was friendly and helpful at check in but the most impressive thing was the lost and found department. Several important arcticles stayed behind when we left and when i called to arrange shipping they said they did it for free!!! Wow.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (640)
There are newer reviews for Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

567 - 573 of 640 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2011

Thought this was a great hotel stay.
Very clean, Staff friendly and helpful.
restaurant has a very good menu, BUT the service is slow.
Overall a good hotel for the money UNDER 100.00$
Room rates suggest 210.00$ not even on a perfect day would it be worth that.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adkres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Staff was courteous and promptly addressed questions and/or issues. The hotel appears to be older and thus has the old, not well cared for appearance. The hallways appeared dingy and the carpeting in the guest room did not make me want to walk barefoot (although I never do at hotels). The shower space was a bit tight but the bed was comfortable and clean. Not a horrible place by any stretch but this hotel is in need of renovation.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhillyAuditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

We chose this hotel as a starting point for our New England tour. The hotel itself is good standard for holiday inn measures and an excellent starting point if you want to explore portland or go on westbound to head for New Hampshire. Rooms are clean, quiet and service is efficient and quick, but not overly friendly. All in all a quite satisfying experience, however the extremely loud room fridge and two broken ice/vending machines were a bit tedious to deal with.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redrat72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

I went down to portland last winter to go shopping with a friend, and i was impressed by this place. Good service and nice rooms for the price. We only stayed two nights but I wanted to stay longer. Conveniently next to the mall.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iluvbieber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

DUMP !!!! Horrible, even the non smoking room smells like smoke. We checked 3 different  rooms.. Same dump ! 
Staff didnt care about our requests or anything we said.. Unfortunately we paid that dump in advance, it wasnt refundable!
PLUS when we were sleeping early in the morning WITH the " no disturb" sign hanging on the door, the cleaning lady knocked several times until she woke us up, when we opened the door, she pretended she wasnt knocking on our door. Ridiculous !
Again, we infirmes the Staff about this, they said "she wanted to clean the room."!!!!!!!!
Excuse me ?? What a dump !

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keliborio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Travelling from New Brunswick, Canada to Asbury Park New Jersey and needed a place to stay overnight during the drive. Thought we could find a cheap motel in the Portland area. We checked out the Motel 6 in Westbrook. We waited 15 minutes for the night clerk to find out if a room was available and while waiting, I kid you not, a guest there started talking to us about how he was looking for the night clerk to look after his dog so he could go to the local strip club. Needless to say, we decided to move on in our search. Down the road we found this Holiday Inn and we were happy we did. The front desk staff was friendly and very helpful in getting us a room. Yes it was a little pricey, but in the end, we got a great night's sleep and were ready to start the next day's journey.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Unclenormie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#15 of 20 in Portland
1,690 reviews
2.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#17 of 20 in Portland
590 reviews
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
3.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
4.0 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Portland

Address: 81 Riverside St, Portland, ME 04103-1045 (Formerly Holiday Inn Portland West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $93 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer today’s features with yesterday’s charm. Just minutes from the Portland Jetport and situated directly off I-95 Exit 48, our travel-friendly location is easily accessible. With its comfortable rooms, courtyard views and hospitality, the Fireside Inn & Suites Portland is the ideal choice for you and your family while visiting the Greater Portland Area.While staying with us, we invite you to enjoy Zackery’s Fireside Restaurant for dinner and evening entertainment. Our menus appeal to a wide set of tastes and we are extremely proud of our Staff. Please browse them at your leisure. We serve breakfast, dinner and wonderful desserts! We also have a full bar in Zack’s Club Lounge and offer drink specials for Happy Hour. We are pretty creative with martinis too! Whether you are joining us for business or pleasure, we are waiting for you! While you are here, why not relax by our Lobby Fireplace. Enjoy our late afternoon complimentary fresh coffee right here! Stay with us and each guest will receive a FREE Isamax Snacks Wicked Whoopie Pie! The Whoopie Pie is Maine’s Official State Treat (officially becoming law on September 28, 2011)! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
Fireside Inn And Suites Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing