We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfect Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
236 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“A Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

This hotel has everything that you could want...and then some. The staff were all pleasant, our room (a two bedroom suite, thank you!) was lovely. The evening reception was most welcome after a nine hour drive and the breakfast was excellent. The omelette, crispy bacon, fresh fruit and yoghurt hit the spot and set us up for the day. The overall ambience of the hotel is calming and the location is ideal, both for downtown Portland (10 min) and the mall (5 min). We didn't eat in the restaurant but the menu looked good and prices were certainly in line with restaurants in the area.My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer but this will be our go to hotel for future stops. In fact, I am going to book it now for August. Thank you Embassy Suites Portland!

Room Tip: We chose the airport side but I am sure all rooms would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katchapuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyPortlandGM, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Katchapuri,
Thank you so much for you positive response on Tripadvisor, we all appreciate it. We look forward to your return in August . It's very rewarding to have earned the loyalty of another satisfied guest, so thank you.

All the best,
Tim Prosser
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    324
    93
    26
    15
See reviews for
516
383
34
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Great staff, very clean, great restaurant. Highly recommend it. The managers' reception is great and everyday. On Mondays, during the manager's reception, there is a band playing. Rooms are great very spacious. If you ask for recommendations for restaurants, the staff have plenty of excellent places. Also, on places to see.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Roberto O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyPortlandGM, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Roberto,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your kind words on Tripadvisor, it was a pleasure to have you. I'm pleased that our staff were able to help you, in finding the best dining choices and in ways to spend your time. We hope you'll make Embassy Suites your home whenever your travels bring you to the Portland area.

Best Regards,
Timothy Prosser
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Tim the manager really took care of us on this trip. We needed a late checkout and Tim accommodated us. In the breakfast area, Andrew was great behind the grill and Yana did an excellent job out front.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyPortlandGM, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear John G.,
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review on Tripadvisor. We were all happy to help you out and glad that everything went smoothly with the graduation and your departure. We hope you'll be able to visit us again very soon.

Best wishes to you and your family,
Tim Prosser
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed at the Embassy Suites hotel this weekend... and have stayed here a few times before over the last 5 years. This hotel is getting very outdated - AC was so loud in our room (wall control not unit controlled) and the suite was extremely small for a family of 4, 2 small boys. Movie charge was $15 for the Wolf of Wall Street (??)...that seems a little high. Our boys stayed on the pull out sofa bed and the blanket was completely pilled and old, actually pretty gross. The shower area is super tight - cleanliness was ok. The complimentary breakfast was excellent and service was great... however dining room upholstered chairs are so beat up and GROSS... very dirty looking. Pool water was cloudy. Overall ok value for what it is but I do think we will consider another location next time we are up visiting family in Portland.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris1086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyPortlandGM, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Chris,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay last weekend wtih us. I'm glad we were able to connect this morning via phone and really do appreciate you letting me know how we can improve. As I mentioned, some improvements we can do immediately and some will take a little longer.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back on your next trip to Portland and showing you that we can do better!

All the best,

Stacy OReilly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Hotel is an "old-school" Embassy Suites that has been renovated. Room configurations have not changed, but everything is reasonably modern. Check in was easy, and the staff were quite friendly. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Breakfast was standard fare, but was well done. Made to order omelettes were made with care, and buffet items seemed above average quality,

Beds were comfortable, and surprisingly so were the sleeper/couches at least to sit on. TV includes a number of premium channels in full HD. Bathrooms are a little tight, but were fine.

A few very minor gripes...no make-up mirror, some rust on the bottom of bathroom doors, drapes/shades are 1 inch too short allowing bright light in after sunrise. More of an issue; ac/heaters were finicky and loud in one of our two rooms.

Two tips - the hotel is less than 1/4 mile from baggage claim and no need to wait for a van or rent a car if the weather is nice. You can see the hotel when you exit the airport. Just walk to it. If you want to sleep late in summer, ask for a room facing away from the airport to avoid 5am sunrise. Kids may get a kick out of rooms facing the airport with a full view of the runway. No worries about noise - the relatively limited plane traffic and insulated windows the keep noise to a minimum.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep late in summer, ask for a room facing away from the airport to avoid 5am sunris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank just2ovUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyPortlandGM, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear him-and-her19335,
We appreciate you taking the time to post your positive review on Tripadvisor and also for pointing out the concerns you had. I will certainly take a look at that room and get those issues resolved. We do have a few make up mirrors which can be requested, so if you do plan a return trip, we would be happy to have one in the room for you, upon arrival. Thank you for mentioning our close proximity to the Airport terminal, I'm not sure if you were aware, but we also offer complimentary shuttle service to the airport, available 24-hours per day. Thanks again for your feedback and for choosing Embassy Suites.

Best Regards,
Timothy Prosser
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed here Memorial Day Weekend. The hotel is about a 10-15 minute drive to Downtown Portland and is located near the airport. Reception was very friendly and the suites were clean and well furnished. The living room and bedroom are separate rooms so you can close the bedroom door and have privacy if desired. There was a television for the living room and one for the bedroom. From 5:30 - 7:30 there is an evening reception complete with light snacks (dips, veggies, crackers, chips, etc) and beverages (soda and Shirley Temples for the kids and wine, sangria, beer,etc. for the adults). In the morning free breakfast is included. This is a full breakfast with made to order omelets, bacon, cereals, french toast, etc. The food was definitely well above your average breakfast included in hotel rate meal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLW05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyPortlandGM, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear JLW05,
Thank you for posting your informative review on Tripadvisor, we're pleased that you enjoyed your holiday visit. It's very rewarding to receive praise from an experienced traveller, such as you, and we truly appreciated it.

Kind Regards,

Timothy Prosser
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

I have stayed at numerous Hilton Hotels, but by far this one was impressive for the price. It not only included the breakfast buffet but a free cocktail for each guest registered. The suite was large and accommodated us with the 2 rooms for privacy and quietness with a t.v. in each room. Will definitely stay here again whenever visiting this area.

Room Tip: Only a short taxi ride to old Portland and free shuttle to airport
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank roberttF4907BM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyPortlandGM, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Robert,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor, we truly appreciate your support. It is very gratifying to hear back from a satisfied guest and we are glad that we were able to earn your loyalty.

All the best,
Timothy Prosser
Assistant GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
2.8 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
2.8 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Address: 1050 Westbrook Street, Portland, ME 04102-1915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Green Hotel in Portland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland
Portland Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing