We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value option for Portland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We opted to stay at the airport, rather than the centre of Portland, in order to save money and get a bigger room. We were not disappointed with the the Embassy Suites. Very friendly staff and really nice guest rooms. The hotel was completely sold out and the staff struggled to cope with the breakfast. However that did not detract from our stay and we have no hesitation recommending this hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank UKJohnN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyPortlandGM, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2015

Dear UK John N,

Thank you for posting your kind review on Tripadvisor, we truly appreciate it. We're pleased that you had a pleasant stay and that our staff was able to provide you with such outstanding service. We hope to see you again, whenever your travels lead you back to the Portland area.

Warmest Wishes,
Timothy Prosser
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,133 - 1,139 of 1,448 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights - from 6/28 - 7/2 and we enjoyed it very much. The hotel itself and the rooms are definitely a tad smaller than other Embassy Suites, but it was still very nice. Our room was extremely clean and cleaned well every day, so no complaints at all there! Everyone was very friendly and the breakfast was really good each day. The manager's reception was also really good with a lot of choices! We stayed on the airport side and it was nice to get a view of the runway. We could very faintly hear the planes taking off, but it really is no big deal and I am a very light sleeper. My only complaint would be the a/c units in the room. They are SO NOISY. I actually turned the one off in the bedroom part and kept it on in the living room part - and I could still hear it, but it was better. Other than that, we would probably stay here again. Lot's to see and do in Portland and the surrounding area and this is in a really good location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

For two women with auto problems and bad weather and many miles behind us, this was such a pleasure to arrive at for a nites stay. Our room was spacious and immaculate---as was the rest of the hotel. I could have spent the nite in the lobby as the furniture was sooooooo comfortable.
Had some dinner which was quite good plus it was HOT. Breakfast(included with the price of the room) was great. The young Asian fellow made the best egg omlette ever and never flipped one on the floor---he was the entertainer of the day!
Stop here---you'll be glad you did!

Room Tip: Our room had a sitting area with a full size TV. We were on the side near the airport but never hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HILDA S V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Embassy Suites Portland-June 19-22. I like Hilton and stay whenever I can. I chose this location as a matter of convenience. I might give it another try when I go back to Maine, but I might try someplace else, based on my experience. Seems I had a run of bad luck.

The hotel common is very clean and it is comfortable. The staff is warm and friendly, and the breakfast is very well done. As with another reviewer, the house cleaning that I got was spotty. The air conditioning was a bit on the noisy side but the biggest problem I had was the diffuser on the wall unit next to the bed blows cold air (or hot I suppose in winter) right on you while sleeping. I tried putting a towel over it, but the final fix was to turn it off in the bedroom and leave the one in the living area to do the work.

There was no “do not disturb” sign, I went to the front desk and got one. Got settled in, only to find the remote was dead…went to the front desk to get another. My room entry card was programmed wrong so when I came back late on the 2nd night with my arms full, I was locked out…went to get my card fixed.

When I went to bed the first night, the sheets had something on them…small black spots – not stain, but something that could be picked off and moved around…NOT bugs or alive…but bothersome nonetheless. I figured they would be changed. My own fault, I didn’t see the sign that says…put this sign on the pillow if you want your sheets changed. The second morning I did put the sign. They still were not changed. I called the desk…and Julie brought me a full set of clean sheets (9:30 at night). She even offered to change them for me but I opted to change them myself.

The Kleenex container in the bathroom was empty. When it was changed, I found 3 tissues in the bottom of the container and a very pretty origami tissue coming out the top. That didn’t help. I mentioned this to someone the next morning – and when I came back that night, the same thing…just 3 tissues.

The shower curtain/tub area smelled musty but seemed to clear as the days passed…

Little things can make or break a trip – and this stay seemed to be just one little thing after another, rather disappointing I think. Overall, I’d stay again, hoping the next visit might be a bit better because everything else was good.

One last thing, don’t let the fact that the airport is literally, right there, stop you…this property is incredibly quiet inside despite aircraft coming and going. AND, you can walk from the lobby to the airport terminal very easily – this is a definite plus for location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyPortland, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Larry L,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our property. I am so sorry to hear that we missed the boat on the details you described which affected your overall stay. Our team really strives to make every experience the best we can and from your review I can certainly see why you were disappointed.
I would very much like to make it up to you and show you that we can do this right. Please contact me at Stacy.OReilly@hilton.com or 207-482-4360 so we can speak in more detail.

I appreciate your honesty and hope to connect with you soon.

Best Regards,

Stacy O'Reilly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Loved the Manager's Reception--an event each evening where there is live music in the lobby, appetizers, and an open bar. Delicious omelets made-to-order at breakfast buffet. Suite was lovely. Beds were not to our liking in terms of comfort for sleeping. Staff was genuinely friendly and helpful. Very happy that the pool and hot tub were open until midnight.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Brett G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a really nice Embassy Suites close to the Portland jet port. It is smaller compared to other suites, but it is vey clean, comfortable, with great friendly staff and good breakfast. Unfortunately, the house cleaning that we got was spotty, and the air conditioning was noisy, but overall we were happy in our 3 night stay. Our only afterthought was that sometimes at the end of the day when we were tired, and another 5-10 minute drive to downtown was too much, a great ocean view outdoors would have greatly enhanced our trip!; the hotel has no outdoor area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Explore_Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

very friendly staff...clean...loved the manager reception and breakfast...the room was just what i needed...the pool area was nice just wish they had some chairs outside of the pool area to sit in....

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
2.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,506 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine

Address: 1050 Westbrook Street, Portland, ME 04102-1915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Family Hotel in Portland
#3 Green Hotel in Portland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $106 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland
Portland Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing