We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Spring Stay In Portland ME Area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We planned a short stay in Portland to close out our Spring School Vacation. The Embassy suites was centrally located to several family friendly destinations we had planned to attend. (We enjoyed the Maine Wild Life Park, The Portland Seadogs, and shopping in the Old Port.) The kids loved the evening receptions (Mom & Dad enjoyed the complimentary coctails as well.) Mom especially liked the made to order breakfast - food for every taste and diet was plentiful. The indoor pool was just the right size for the kids to enjoy. Parking was slightly limited - but we made due. This room was perfect for our family of four - two televisions made for a more enjoyable evening (no fighting over the remote.) This was our second stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
1  Thank TinaSpade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyPortland, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites for your recent family vacation. It sounds like you were able to visit many of the local attractions in Portland and relax while you were here. Thank you for your kind words about our location, included nightly reception and free breakfast. I hope that we will have to opportunity to be your hosts again when you next travel to the Greater Portland area.

Yours in hospitality,

Stacy O'Reilly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,128 - 1,134 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

Awesome experience! Staff is incredible and the accomodations are indeed top notch! Welcoming and hospitable~ Im from the south and enjoyed the great spirit of Portland! Food is 5 star all the way and the rooms are comfortable and welcoming! Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Deanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyPortland, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Deanna H,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with our TripAdvisor readers! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really strive to make our guests feel at home while they are traveling. We all appreciate your recommendation and I hope we have a chance to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Stacy O'Reilly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We flew into Portland, ME on Southwest Airlines the night of its first overnight trip to Portland. We got in late 11:40 local time...I called ahead for the shuttle and we didn't wait more than two minutes for them to pick us up.

Check in at that late time was smooth and uneventful...we had a good night's sleep there. The staff were beyond helpful and friendly. We also stayed in the same hotel when we left from Maine as well, as we had a 6:05 a.m. flight so we wanted to be close to the airport. The shuttle back to the airport was also really convenient.

We had the breakfast buffet in the morning and it was amazing...certainly not your usual hotel breakfast buffet of cold sweet rolls and coffee! We also attended the Manager's Reception in the evening on our second visit and it was also wonderful...A couple of free glasses of wine and some nice snacks...we really enjoyed it.

If I had any concerns they would be items really beyond the control of the hotel. Lots of family, many small children running around...just note it. You are literally walking distance from the airport, when a jet leaves the ground you can't help but hear it. Also, the second night we had a room directly across from the elevator...It was noisy. So if you are a sensitive or light sleeper, ask for a room no where near the elevator. However otherwise, if you are looking for great staff, convenience with regard to airport flights, and personal attention with regard to shuttle...this is a GREAT PLACE!

Room Tip: If you are a sensitive or light sleeper, ask for a room no where near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tchwawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy W, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Tchwawa,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review from your recent stay with us. I'm pleased to hear you had a great experience with our 24 hour shuttle as well as our other great amenities. I hope we will see you again the next time you travel to Portland!

All the best,

Stacy OReilly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Fair rate, GREAT location and packed with great amenities (indoor pool, indoor spa, gym, complimentary hot made to order breakfast buffet, complimentary evening cocktail hours, free in room wifi, etc.)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Eugene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy W, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Eugene L,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review from your recent stay with us. Your kind words about all of the great included amenities we offer are appreciated. I'm pleased you enjoyed your time with us!
I hope we will see you again the next time you travel to Portland!
All the best,

Stacy OReilly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Responsive staff, courteous, easy access and central location. Even being across from the airport you do not hear planes coming or going. Fun to watch the chef make breakfast omelettes. A nice place to use as a "base camp" to tour around the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Jean-Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy W, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Jean-Paul L

Thank you so much for your wonderful review from your recent stay with us. Your kind words about the staff and breakfast were much appreciated! I hope we will see you again the next time you travel to Portland!
All the best,

Stacy OReilly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the last 4-5 years, and have always been very pleased. This visit unfortunately didn't pass muster. Registration seemed complicated for some reason, and when we got to the room it smelled of cigarette smoke. I did not realize that smoking was even permitted in the hotel, but apparently is. We were told the "other end" is smoking, but our room sucked in all of the fumes. Being sensitive to this odor, I asked for another room. We were moved to a room which was doused with fabreze, which would literally take your breath away. After leaving the windows open all night the fabreze dissipated, and we realized that an attempt had been made to cover a foul odor in the carpet. The staff provided a voucher for a free meal to compensate. It didn't make the nights sleep any better. The breakfast buffet and staff, as usual, were excellent. The beds are still very comfortable. We will probably stay there again, but I will need to "test" the air quality of the room before unpacking.

Room Tip: The rooms are usually excellent with little noise from the airport (even on the airport side). I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psutraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy W, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear psutraveler08,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us from your recent stay. We do still have a few smoking rooms available in our hotel. We really appreciate your continued business and I'm sorry to hear that you were not 100% satisfied with this stay. I hope you will contact me at 207-482-4360 or via email at Stacy.oreilly@hilton.com if there is anything I can do for you in order to regain your business. I'm pleased to see that the staff and breakfast exceeded your expectations on this trip.
I look forward to welcoming you as our guest again soon!

Best Regards,
Stacy OReilly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed at the Embassy Suites several times either with my husband and children or as in November 2012 with 3 other fellow shoppers. The rooms are clean and comfortable with lots of room to store your shopping bags. The best part is the fabulous, huge breakfast that even has an omelet bar which is included in the price of the room. Great way to begin the day and also very economical if travelling with your family. Staff at the hotel are friendly and willing to go the extra mile. Cannot comment on the spa or pool as they were under repair while we were there.

Room Tip: We were on 3rd floor which was quiet and you could use the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy W, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Paula W,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review from your November stay. We have many guests using us as a home base for shopping at the Maine Mall, Old Port or even the outlets in Freeport or Kittery! Your kind words about the staff and breakfast were much appreciated! We look forward to seeing you again the next time you travel to Portland!

All the best,

Stacy OReilly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
2.8 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,448 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
2.8 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine

Address: 1050 Westbrook Street, Portland, ME 04102-1915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Family Hotel in Portland
#3 Green Hotel in Portland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $121 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Otel, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland
Portland Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing