We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Airport Embassy Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland
1 review
“Airport Embassy Suites”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Rooms needed updating and it would have been nice if they switched the reception snacks up rather then having the exact same thing every single evening as their are people who stay more then one night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyPortland, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Thomas A,

Thank you for staying with us in Portland. I appreciate your feedback as we look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel. Our guest suite appearance and manager’s reception are areas we are actively examining. I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share and hope to have you back should you travel to the area in the future.

All the Best,

Stacy O'Reilly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    884
    338
    100
    29
    18
See reviews for
559
400
36
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Not you typical Embassy Suites. This property does not have the usual atrium so the rooms are nice and quiet. The location is walkable from the Portland Jetport but they do have pick up service. Nice 2 hour cocktail hour on the house every night for 2 hours and a very good breakfast inclucing made to order omlets. Only 2 miles from the old harbor area in downtown Portland. Overall a good pick.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyPortland, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear PanMan58,

Thanks for your wonderful review of our hotel. I appreciate your kind words about how quiet the rooms are and am glad to hear that you enjoyed the included reception and breakfast!

We appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you when you next return to the Portland area.

All the best,

Stacy OReilly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

As we checked in, a live band was playing in the atrium and there were complimentary drinks and snacks being served. This is no ordinary “motel”! I totally agree with all the positive things other reviews have pointed out. They are aimed at the business traveler but the room size, amenities, comfort and “extras” are a joy no matter what your reason for traveling is. For the general Portland area they are priced very reasonably and the “dog friendly” policy is very much appreciated.

Room Tip: Our room faced the airport and we didn't hear a sound inside the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhotoTheatre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyPortland, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear PhotoTheatre,

Thank you for your wonderful review from your recent stay with us! The Tony Boffa band plays at the hotel every Monday night and our included snacks and beverages happen every night from 5:30-7:30 PM. It is a fantastic way to start your stay and I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We'll look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Portland.

Best Regards,

Stacy OReilly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My first stay at the Embassy Suites was excellent. The rooms are excellent size with all the amenities one could ask for. The manager's reception was very nice after a long day of business and I didn't have to go out to eat after working all day. The plate of fruit, cheese and crackers and veggies with dip were perfect. And while I am talking about food, the breakfast was the best complimentary breakfast I have had at any hotel.

Stacy, general manager, was very accommodating with questions I had.

The hotel is new. It is close to the airport. The employees are attentive. I used the fitness area and it was also clean, good equipment and a good temperature.

I will be staying here again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEFrequentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyPortland, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear NEFrequentTraveler,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your first stay with us and we look forward to many more. I also appreciate your kind words about me, the included amenities and the staff.

Please don't hesitate to let me know if there is anything we can do for you on your next stay with us.

Best Regards,

Stacy O'Reilly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Having received an excellent experience in previous stays at this convenient hotel we booked once again and found the accomodations to be consistently very good. The staff is helpful, friendly and very accomodating. Although virtually on airport grounds the location is not at all noisy from air traffic like one would expect.

Room Tip: Great breakfast options and evening reception is great. A nice time to meet outher guests and compa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyPortland, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Jerry G,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel! We love having guests return time after time and I'm so pleased to hear that your experiences with us are consistently good.

We will look forward to seeing you again soon and hope we can help you find some other part of Portland to explore in the future.

Best Regards,

Stacy O'Reilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, NB
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The free drinks every night at the bar were a god send after a busy day. All of the staff were very courteous and nice except for the front desk ladies who seemed to be having an off day and were just sour.

My only complaint was the smell of smoke. It was everywhere in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWFougere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyPortland, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear RWFougere,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your experience with us. We are honored to be the first Embassy Suites you experienced and I hope you will look for them in other destinations you travel to.

While I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff overall courteous and friendly, I would like to apologize for your impression of the front desk staff. This is not up to my expecations at all and I will certainly address your concerns with that department. I will also investigate your comments about the smell of smoke and again apologize for any inconvenience to your stay.

I hope that we will see you again should your travels bring you back to the Portland area.

All the best,

Stacy O'Reilly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, NB, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was our first time at an Embassy Suites hotel and we were very pleased with our 2 room suite - 1 king bed. We arrived after a day of shopping with our 9 month old baby and opted to try room service from Cafe Stroudwater. The haddock, crab cakes and clam chowder were quite nice and service was prompt. The in-room coffee is very good and ES provides ultra-pasteurized creamers so I got to enjoy my coffee just the way I like it! No "non-dairy creamer" white powders required! I had requested a crib or playpen and it was in the room at time of arrival - great job Embassy Suites! Finally, the breakfast was very nice and for me is a huge draw for me to return to Embassy Suites. The use of a coffee machine in the breakfast area is a bit puzzling to me but the coffee was acceptable. We have four children and the suite layout will work excellent for the whole family if we opt for 2 double beds instead of the king. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crtoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassyPortland, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear crtoole,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel from your stay earlier this month. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed the large suite, room service and breakfast. I will be sure to share your comments with the staff. I also agree with you that the half and half creamers are much better then the powdered ones!

We will look forward to having you and your family as our guests again when you return to the Portland area.

All the best,

Stacy O'Reilly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
2.8 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,392 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
2.8 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Address: 1050 Westbrook Street, Portland, ME 04102-1915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Family Hotel in Portland
#3 Green Hotel in Portland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland
Portland Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing