We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chicken salad from a pizzeria ever tasted”

Stavros Pizzeria & Deli
Ranked #336 of 621 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Pizza
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Best chicken salad from a pizzeria ever tasted”
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We're on our way to the mountains for some skiing/snowboarding and needed a quick dinner. Stavros's is very unassuming, yet the food served up and friendly service was awesome. I got the grilled chicken salad, with double chicken, plus a bottle of water all for $8!! The chicken was fresh, juicy and hot. I ordered a double serving of chicken, thinking that it wouldn't be enough, yet there was so much chicken that I couldn't even see my salad, which was also great. The staff were really friendly and Stavros's Pizzeria & Deli worked out to be a perfect option for us. Thanks guys, will stop in again on our next trip!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ACMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
1 review
“great food horrible service”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

i eat here almost daily and the food is spectacular.........when they get my order right
and that happens about a third of the time(i always order one of two things) the the employees that take your order always seem annoyed and rude.
delivery people are always nice tho.

so if you want great food its almost worth the horrible counter service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justgetmyorderight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great gyros and solid pizza”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stavros is located right on a busy stretch of Forest ave and can be easily missed while driving by. Try to make a special trip if you like gyros. They make big and plentiful greek wraps with a particularly delicious yogurt sauce. The staff is sweet and accomodating and the pizza is reasonable. The other thing I really like about Stavros is that they have about 6 comfortable tables to eat in house which can sometimes be exactly the right thing when running around with kids in the evening. Sometimes you want easy take out and sometimes you want an easy place to feed the kids good food that won't break the bank!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rushmore45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“try the gyros”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I can't comment on the table service, since we called ahead for takeout. but the gyros are the best we've found in town. The rstaurant's popularity may have to do with its proximity to the University, but we've found the food to be first-rate.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scotsman04101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, ME
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good casual dinner fare.”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Someone in my office orders dinner from here almost every night. When they're on point, the food is awesome, but they might have an off night from time to time. The pizza is just ok, but there are so many amazing pizza places in Portland, it's hard to compete unless that's all you do. I recommend the subs, pasta, and calzones. Their cheeseburger sub in particular is one of the best I've had.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angeliza2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stavros Pizzeria & Deli also viewed

 

Been to Stavros Pizzeria & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing