We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, Delish and Accomodating!”
Review of Shays Grill Pub

Shays Grill Pub
Ranked #126 of 617 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
129 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Cheap, Delish and Accomodating!”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I went to Shay's on a hot Saturday afternoon in search of a light lunch and nice, cold drink. I was with 3 other friends. The restaurant was fairly quiet - we had great service. The food was perfect. The drinks were cheap. Our waitress even split the check 4 ways without any complaint. Great place for lunch in Portland!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bostonkse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    33
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Outdoor Seating in Monument Square”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Went for a walk with plans of having dinner but didn't know where we would end up. We kept walking past restaurant after restaurant and then saw that Shay's had outdoor seating with tables open. Bingo.

We were able to sit down and had drinks in a matter of minutes. The Sangria was wonderful and there was a great selection of beers on tap. The waitress was able to tell us all about the specialty brews and she was spot on.

Menu has lots of variety. Several starters to choose from, entrees, burgers, and sandwiches.

Although we loved dining al fresco, what we did not enjoy was one of the other tables outside who would leave their table, step over the rope and smoke. Seemed sort of pointless... walk away from the eating area! Obviously Shay's is not at fault for these diners doing this, but wished that an employee would have asked them to move an appropriate distance from the dining area.

That said, we'll be back again since it was so nice to sit outside and graze away.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank esfullerbeatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stopped in for drinks and appetizers”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Friendly bartender, spotless open kitchen, great drinks at a reasonable price. Somehow did picture something much bigger from the other reviews. It is a very small bar with maybe 8 booths, but an interesting menu.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank serenitynow77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food reasonable price”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I recently meet a Client at Shay's in monument square. I've also eaten there before. The have a good selection at a fair price, particularly for Portland. Of the items I've had on the menu the burger is particularly good as id the salad that has cranberries and almonds and blue cheese and grilled onions. Also the Mediterranean Nacho's were fantastic, under $10 and a meal in themselves! The atmosphere is cozy and upscale pub like.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Atrixwolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland me
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hello? Could we have a little service over here, please??”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Thought we'd try Shay's for supper this evening--close to where we live but had never been before. We walked in around 5:30, there were about 7 people towards the back and a blonde behind the bar said "Sit wherever you like!" So we sat. And we waited. And we waited. My husband was facing the bar watching the Blonde chatting away to another girl. And chatting. And chatting. I finally walked over to... the bar and asked for a couple of menus which she handed over. And we looked at the menu. And we looked. And we looked. And she chatted. And she chatted. And we waited. And we waited. After over 15 minutes in a bar that had few patrons, we had not even been asked if we'd like a drink. We had finally waited long enough. And we left. No excuse for such bad service. No stars for you, Shay's. Not one. None. Nada. Zip.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shays Grill Pub also viewed

 

Been to Shays Grill Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing