We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Roadside Dining” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Benny's

Benny's
Ranked #313 of 601 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
209 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Roadside Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

This is a roadside setup with a great big sign that lures you in. The prices are out there so you know you have a chance to avoid the tourist markup that comes with the fancy places downtown. We check it out for lunch and we go away happy. The fried clams are big and juicy but the fries that come in the basket are limp and soggy. The fried onion rings are in a batter that reminds us of tempura. The lobster roll, although not the largest we will enjoy on this visit to Portland, is certainly big enough, very tasty and well worth the price.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TandemBikeRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    5
    1
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pucallpa, Peru
Level Contributor
116 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“BENNY'S - Mainer Heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Yes, it's funky as a Clam Shack in Maine! And the locals like it like that! They're near the port but the prices are no where near what you'll pay at the tourist joints just a bit closer to the wharf. But to each their own. Some prefer cloth napkins and fancy flatware. So be it!

At Benny's you'll find native Mainers cooking it their way. And their way is a delicious no-fuss method of coaxing flavors out of local foods. If paper napkins and plastic forks don't twist your panties in a knot, Benny's is for you. The lobster was PERFECT! The famous fried clams superb and the fries, we asked up front for crispy, and got it. On a whim we'd ordered crab cakes. So good we ordered more! Being we had a case of wine in the trunk and Benny's has a BYOB license, we opened a few favorite bottles to augment the meal. No corkage fee and the waitress offered us glasses with a smile. Outdoor seating did not thwart the service and we found eating Maine's Classic Plates al fresco part of the charm. Benny's? We'll be back on our return from the Maritimes of Canada!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

This place is just nasty. The fried clams were over priced and the worst I have EVER had. This place needs so much help. What they really need is a Bulldozer...stay away!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Consulting_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
134 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The side road Rte. 1A restaurant with the slogan "Famous Fried Claims" is a terrible place to eat. We stopped by seeing live lobsters shop near this restaurant. After seeing the live lobster shop, we walked in this place and thought we should try if they offered fresh seafood. We always love fried clams. We ordered fried clams and fish and ship that came with French Fry. The food were very greasy both clams and french fry. Clams were fresh, but not well cook and the oil was filled in the basket. When the server put the basket on the table, I told her that I could not eat this type of food. It was too greasy and french fry was too dark brown and soaked with oil. The oil must be so old. I tasted a few bites and threw food away.

The sitting area inside the building was also dirty. if you want to eat good seafood, drive few more minutes to Commercial street in Portland.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MeKat513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“SOGGY MAYONAISE SOAKED LOBSTER ROLLS”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I cant speak for the rest of the menu but we thought the lobster rolls were probably the WORST we have ever had. There was so much mayo that it was just soggy, watery, mushy, soupy yuk.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JWright2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Benny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing