We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I don't usually review restaurants but this place is worth mentioning.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Benny's

Benny's
Ranked #321 of 607 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“I don't usually review restaurants but this place is worth mentioning.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

This place is a mile down the road from all the downtown restaurants on the wharf. The place is basically outdoor seating with a cool kind of clubhouse type facility. The lobster roll and cole slaw are unfricking-real. Super good.

Go on a day when Becky is working. I have never met such a nice person. Especially in a restaurant. I tried guessing the brand of hot sauce by smell and I was right. She over heard my wife and I talking about it and went and checked the brand for us.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wal-Dawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    5
    1
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
255 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 649 helpful votes
“Avoid this place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

On impulse, we stopped this roadside shack to get some fried clams, lured by their name, "Benny's Famous Fried Clams". They must be good with that name, right? We ordered a pint of fried clams for $14 plus dollars and had two sodas and water. The soda cups are given to you after your order is taken thru the little order window and the sizes look like small and smaller and there is a soda fountain in the seating area to fill your cups. Water is poured by the guy behind the counter into little cups from a standing pitcher of water. Our order was delivered by someone from the kitchen and what we received was a pile of fried bits and pieces and crumbs. Our overall impression was that the place was not clean, the staff was sketchy at best, and the food was totally unacceptable. Some "hole-in -the-wall" places serve great food and their quirky ambience adds up to a positive experience. This place is just a hole. Not recommended.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank MaineTravel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River
Level Contributor
166 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nothing to look at but great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We drove past this place for years, than we read about it in a book on clam shacks. The book was right. We sat outside watching planes fly over to land at the airport. There are several additions giving it a funny look. The fried clams are amoung the best I ever had. The fries are old fashioned and reminded us of the ones we found at an amusement park that is long gone. The fish is haddock cut into pieces nicely battered, the size lets it cook quick keeping it tender and moist. It is not fancy but it is clean and is now on our list of must do when in Portland.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caty47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River
Level Contributor
166 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

We go to Portland several times each year and never stopped here until our last trip. It will now be a must for us. We found a good review in a book about clam shacks so had to try it. Everthing in the book was correct. The place is nothing to look at and has been added to several times. The outdoor dining complete with planes going to the airport was also as stated. But the food...some of the best fried clams I ever had. The fish and chips was haddock chunks and old fashoned fries like we had as children at an ameusment park. The fish riveled the best we have ever eaten. So get over the looks as we did because it is all about the food.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Caty47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Best lobster roll by far!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2008

Best lobster roll by far!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benny's also viewed

 

Been to Benny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing