We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“got to MDI”

Beals Old Fashioned Ice Cream
Ranked #7 of 22 Dessert in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Beal's Old Fashioned Ice Cream offers super premium ice cream, frozen yogurt, sugar-free ice cream and sorbet that is hand-crafted into small batches in a wide variety of flavors. There are five locations in the Greater Portland area.
Saco, Maine
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“got to MDI”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Beals is overrated. It can be found all over this state in any name your ice cream stand. Not because it's good, but because "don't leave maine without trying this" or " a maine institution". Seriously go to Mt. desert Isl. ice cream on exchange street. Home made and very creamy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 457chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    30
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We loved visiting different ice cream shops all throughout our week in Maine, but I think this was our least favorite of the 5 or so we visited. The ice cream wasn't nearly as unique as other places. It was perfectly fine, but definitely not somewhere I'd take a friend in Portland who wanted great ice cream.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GaTechYellowJacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“BIG FAT YUMMMMMMM”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Cash only! Homemade flavors change daily. Even sugar free options are equally tasty! Ice cream is rich and creamy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lucielleball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“2nd and last time”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I've tried this place twice and have found it wanting. The flavors are just too bland. Four $4 a cone I want really good product. Go down the street to Gelato Fiasco (wich I had know about that first) instead.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mapville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good yogurt selection”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We like to order frozen yogurt and they had what we needed, triple chocolate! Could use more seating though.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GinnyCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beals Old Fashioned Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Beals Old Fashioned Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing