We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and eclectic”
Review of Pomegranate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pomegranate Inn
Ranked #9 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a really fabulous b+b. Lots of spaces to relax with treats and refreshments available. Breakfast was delicious. The rooms are well appointed and colorful without being garish. We were able to easily walk to Congress street for dinner and entertainment.
We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HSMarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Pomegranate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the treatment you received from our exceptional resident managers, henrY and Erin. Best of all, we love that you used the word "eclectic" in the title of your review. That so describes unique, arty inn! Please visit Pomegranate Inn again the next time your travels bring you to Portland, Maine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
There are newer reviews for Pomegranate Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 361 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

I loved this elegantly eclectic B&B. I could have stayed right there exploring the artwork, books, and fun decorating scheme. Each of the rooms is unique, with handpainted walls, and unique headboards. We stayed in Room #3 because it reminded me of a Matisse painting. It was on the third floor, and one of the smaller rooms, but I loved it! Cozy bed, and there's even a little reading room on this floor. Breakfast was AMAZING, however I understand the current management is moving on. I sure hope they can find somebody half as good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeannette e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at the Pomegranate Inn for an after-holiday winter getaway, and it was just as wonderful and relaxing as we had hoped.

The food was fantastic. The tea and cookies were out the moment we arrived, and were a nice treat each afternoon. The breakfasts were wonderful... Just as good as the picture and reviews that had originally led me to choose the Inn had suggested. Coffee and tea were available around 7am for the "early risers" (I get up at 3:30am most days, so it was a bit of a lie-in for me.)

The location was great, and we had no problem walking everywhere we wanted to go, even in the January cold.

I would definitely return to this Inn in the future.

Room Tip: Room 8 was lovely. The fireplace next to the king-sized bed is very cozy on a winter night, and the...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cody C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Dana and Greg had a full house this past weekend, but everything was perfect, especially the breakfasts and their gracious service. We have stayed at the Pomegranate Inn in the past, and we will return in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SketchbookinHand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

First time at this utterly charming inn--won't be the last. We came for a romantic weekend and came home feeling as if we had been away for a week. We took one of the smaller rooms, beautifully appointed, and size didn't matter because the first floor has so many cozy nooks and nesting places--I spent a delightful afternoon reading by the fire in the parlor while my fiance had a well-deserved three-hour nap under a comforter in the room. Greg, Dana, and team are helpful and available but not intrusive. Breakfasts are indeed splendid. Location is super, in a historic neighborhood that is a pleasant walk or a quick drive to Portland's attractive shopping, food, and cultural opportunities. Lovely and romantic and very, very special.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely and special. There is a wide variety in size and spaciousness, but don'...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ichiban46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was our second stay at the Pomegranate Inn. We returned because we were so pleased the first time. On this trip we even stayed in the same room and found that our happy memories of the last visit were not a dream. Breakfast is still fabulous, the Inn is still wonderfully comfortable while being a feast for the eyes and our hosts, the Moos, were just as amicable as we had remembered.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Inn has very subtle external signage, but once you find it you wont forget it. The decor is a fantastic mix of classical and contemporary art. The beautifully carved bed in our room was incredibly tall, but luckily there was step stool to help at bed time. Breakfasts were great, just as artfully designed as the Inn itself. The location is very nice, with good places to eat within walking distance.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.0 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,425 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
1.1 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomegranate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomegranate Inn

Address: 49 Neal St, Portland, ME 04102-3506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: $180 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pomegranate Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arty and eclectic boutique Portland Maine inn. An exceptional art collection blends with thoughtful, gourmet, small-plates breakfasts and a truly unique vibe. Housed in a three-story Italianate mansion dating from 1889, Pomegranate Inn is like no other Bed & Breakfast you've experienced. Contemporary mixes with traditional in the inspired setting of Portland's lovely West End. Close to this vibrant New England city's Arts District and bustling Old Port, yet quietly set among lovely homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pomegranate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomegranate Hotel Portland
Pomegranate Inn Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing