We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best deals in Portland”
Review of Inn at St. John

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at St. John
Ranked #7 of 11 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2010

I've been to Portland three times, and stayed at this inn each trip. I keep coming back for the very good rates, easy access to the highway, helpful staff and nice rooms. It's a little outside of Old Port, but you easily save $100 per night here as opposed to a downtown location. It's about a ten minute cab ride to the center of Old Port, but a relatively quiet neighborhood. It is across the street from a bus station, pizza parlor and a few other chain restaurants. In the summer, the baseball park is just up the street within walking range. The breakfast is a little sub-par and the parking is a little scare (although I have never had an issue with the lot), but that's not a big deal in my book. My only concern is each time I have visited, the hallways and stairs deteriorate a little more (duct tape and stains, mainly) but the rooms have remained very cozy and a much better deal than a roadside motel.
St. John is a perfect for a young couple looking to explore Portland or a family wanting to get away from the nighty Fore Street bar scene, but remain in the heart of the city. If you're looking for a super ritzy place within Old Port, try a different hotel. But if you're heading up for a few days and want to save a few bucks but still remain close to the restaurants, ocean and museums, check out the Inn at St. John.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharmingAdvice27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

589 - 595 of 703 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2010

Spent two nights with two friends for a quick weekend trip to Portland. For both nights combined, we only spent $120.00, so we weren't expecting much. To our surprise, the room was quite clean and spacious (queen bed) and the air mattress was comfortable. The private hall bathroom had towels for everyone, plus amenities like shampoo, face cleanser, etc. Breakfast was provided both mornings (yogurt, bagels, english muffins, fruit) and hot chocolate, tea, and cookies were always available. Though the hotel is a 1.5 mile walk into town (give or take), it is a pleasant walk and goes fast. For a no frills, inexpensive, and very comfortable stay - I fully recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xmbg36e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2009

The Inn at St. John is one of my favorites in Portland. All I have to say is this is MJ I can and they know what rooms are my favorite. I was there last night and came in late after having a long night of traveling. It was nice to walk in and be greeted like I was family.
The beds are great the rooms are very charming and the breakfast is just perfect for me.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iwritewhengreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2009

We met our family here for a birthday celebration, so we had 3 rooms. All of the rooms were clean, comfortable, spacious, and exceeded any expectations we had. The beds and bedding were fabulous. There were so many extras - nice towels, plenty of light, individual heat control, modernized bathrooms, coffee pot, microwave, and refrigerator in the room, nice robes, bath amenities, and charm. The lobby was lovely and there's a nice breakfast area with coffee, tea, and cookies all day and an expanded continental breakfast in the morning. The staff was friendly and helpful. The neighborhood has restaurants within walking distance. We couldn't have been happier!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaineVagabondGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2009

What a wonderful find! This place came highly recommended from two different sets of well-traveled friends (one is an interior designer, one couple formerly ran an inn). The staff were warm, friendly, courteous and helpful. The rooms are lovely: clean and welcoming, with extra attention to the little things that are so important. The Inn has a lovely old-fashioned ambience. And it is pet-friendly! (They do charge a little extra for pets). The staff always had a biscuit for our dog when we brought him into the lobby! All in all, we loved this place and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edentravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2009

we were a little worried about staying there not knowing where it was or if it was gonna be nice , but it was good, the room was clean and very big and the water was hot for the shower which is good if you know what i mean, 'sometimes cold' the heat also worked in the room 'sometimes it dosnt ' we were very happy we stayed there and the price was great,
we did have to drive for dinner but that was no big deal, I would stay there again no problem at all ,

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttynot20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

I just returned from Portland and, honestly, there is not a better deal to be found. The Inn at St John is somewhere between a BnB and a hotel. Plenty of charm and character like a BnB but big enough that you dont feel pressure to socialize with fellow guests. Very cool.

The staff is friendly, willing and able to answer all questions regarding the beautiful city of Portland. And breakfat is fine. Plenty to eat and delicious hot coffee.

I will defintely return

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDNnCMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,533 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
3.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#14 of 21 in Portland
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at St. John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at St. John

Address: 939 Congress St, Portland, ME 04102-3031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: $63 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at St. John 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Inn at St. John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At St. John Hotel Portland
Inn At St. John Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing