We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay for a Good Price”
Review of Inn at St. John

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at St. John
Ranked #7 of 11 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

On my first visit to Portland, I stayed in the Inn at St. John. I saw the great reviews online, and the prices were extremely reasonable. When I arrived at the hotel, it was like a little Bed and Breakfast. The hotel staff was very helpful. My room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was a lot better than I had expected for than of a continental meal. The hotel is not located downtown, but the bus stop is right across the street. It was extremely easy to get downtown. If you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay, I highly recommend the Inn at St. John. You won't be sorry.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with your own personal bathroom if it's available. My bath was loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronniemarie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 693 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

First of all, this is NOT in a nice area of Portland. It's not near anything touristy, but it is convenient to the highway. That said, the inside of the inn IS quite nice, the staff have made an extra effort to overcome the grittiness of the location - hanging plants, fresh paint, better than average breakfast, etc. I should have called, but I took a gamble via the online website and chose room 108, which I assumed would be in the back, since I had read on other reviews that the location did not have an elevator and was on a busy street at a stoplight. Well it turned out, room 108 was a lovely room but faced the street. And yes, there were Harleys idling at the stop light from time to time and people yelling outside in front of the convenience store next door. Honestly, the room itself could not have been nicer, and very clean. Tip: if you decide to stay there, park your car in their too-small parking lot and leave it there if you can. We went out for dinner, coming back around nine PM, and all the spots were taken. When we went in to complain, the told us to park in their "overflow" lot (of a Chinese restaurant next door). We drive a Lexus and did not feel good at all about leaving it overnight in this part of town in a dimly-lit restaurant's parking lot. Word to the wise.

Room Tip: Lug your bags up the stairs to a room at the back on the third floor to have more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fleurdelis007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here and would definitely come back again - we felt as if we were at home. The staff was warm, friendly and helpful. The Inn is located within driving distance to many sites. The complimentary continental breakfast was good, with plenty to choose from, beautifully presented and the availability of coffee, tea and cookies throughout the day is charming. Very welcoming!!!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room with a queen bed and en suite bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here last week and we loved it! The staff was very friendly and helpful with what to do downtown. We had a queen bed with a private hall bath- which we liked a lot! The room was nice and had plenty of space! Def recommend this esp for the price. We got a coupon for a taxi ride to downtown which we appreciated and it was only 8 bucks. You can walk downtown from here but it's quite a walk and we just decided on the cab. We had a complimentary breakfast that next morning- which there was plenty to choose from. I'd def stay here again! Yeah there isn't an elevator but we had no problem with this at all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kt012885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Some shared bathrooms, some bathrooms across the hall, a few en suite, so this is not a luxury hotel. But it is clean, comfortable, and the staff is friendly and helpful. It might remind you of a modest but acceptable European hotel. The area is uninteresting at best, but a long walk or a short drive brings you to the museum, the restaurants and the port.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bontravail1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I don't have any real complaints about the Inn at St. John, just that it was nothing special. The rooms were ok, cleanliness was just ok. It was definitely NOT nice - reminded me of a grandparent's old home with dingy towels and shower. I could have stayed at a discount chain hotel and had a much nicer/cleaner room. The atmosphere of a B&B was a little bit better though. It did include breakfast, which was granola bars, packaged yogurt, toast, criossants, bagels - again nothing special. It was not in downtown Portland near the shops/restaraunts, so you would have to drive into town. The cleaning ladies were always smoking on the back porch/parking area which was not inviting. Nothing outwardly terrible happended, I just would never stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a few nights. The staff was helpfull and friendly. Next time I go to Maine, will look back to stay there. Located just outside of Old Port, but talking with the staff, they will tell you where to park in town if you drive. Great resturants all over Old Port.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pyrch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
3.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#15 of 21 in Portland
1,734 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,483 reviews
4.7 mi away
Inn At Diamond Cove
Inn At Diamond Cove
#8 of 21 in Portland
116 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at St. John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at St. John

Address: 939 Congress St, Portland, ME 04102-3031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: $65 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at St. John 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Inn at St. John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At St. John Hotel Portland
Inn At St. John Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing