We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn at St. John
Nearby Hotels
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$305
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay(Portland)(Great Value!)
$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa(Portland)(Great Value!)
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ramada Plaza Portland(Portland)(Great Value!)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$224
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Westin Portland Harborview(Portland)(Great Value!)
$169
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Portland Harbor Hotel(Portland)(Great Value!)
$212
$187
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port(Portland)(Great Value!)
$299
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$209
$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (714)
Filter reviews
714 results
Traveler rating
336
269
67
24
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
336
269
67
24
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorprivate bathcookiesbagelscontinental breakfastprivate hallshared bathroomfirst flooreuropean feelold portsteep stairsmedical centercongress streetqueen bedbottled waterchain hotelsthe breakfast area
Filter
Updating list...
466 - 471 of 714 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My parents,dog (Lexi),and myself took a family vacation from St. Louis,Missouri to Maine. Since Lexi was traveling with us I used the internet to search for pet friendly hotels and found the Inn at St. John. We arrived on a rainy Wednesday the 19th of September 2012. We parked in the lot behind the Inn, walked up the back steps, down a hall and to the front desk. We were greeted by two gentlemen at the desk. Having made our reservation online the check-in process was very simple. I was given a paid receipt and the key to room 101. It turns out that room 101 is right by the front desk. I was a little concerned because we had our Lhasa Lexi with us. If you're not familiar with Lhasa's they were bred as an interior sentinel in the Buddhist monasteries to alert the monks of any intruders who entered. In other words they tend to bark if they're not familiar with their surrounding. I turned my focus from this concern and asked if there was a way to get our luggage from our car to our room without going up the back steps. My father had a 7-way bi-pass and didn't need to carry luggage up steps. The gentleman said, "Don't worry about that we will take care of that for you." He rounded up several staff members who came outside in the rain and carried all of our luggage to our room. Now that's service! The room was, "Beautiful" and must have been sound proofed because Lexi didn't bark 1-time because of noise. The beds were very comfortable and we all slept good. If I could I'd give this Inn more than 5-stars I would because in my eyes it's a perfect 10.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shannon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Room was nice and clean. Private bath down the hall was a minor inconvenience, but acceptable. Located a little distance from Old Port, but there is a bus stop across the street. We took the bus in and walked back. Beware of the steep steps to the upper floors. We had no problem, but if you have physical limitations, get a room on the first floor.

Room Tip: There is a bit of street noise in the morning for the rooms in the front. Not an issue for us, since we are up by 0630 anyway.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed in room 3b the Inn at St. John for two nights and found the whole place to be charming, unique, memorable yet out of place to its rather drab surroundings.
The room was much the same although smelt of terrible damp from the moment we walked in till the end; this was odd as the rest of the Inn did not smell of damp. We should have complained but the staff were so charming we just could not bring ourselves to be difficult customers. (They may have cleaned the carpets recently, but should not have been renting the room if that was the case)
We had a shared bathroom which was across the hall - not a lot to praise or complain about here, although the shower was really small - the Inn prides itself on its Victorian theme, but one should remember that people were a lot shorter in the Victorian era and as a slim 6' foot customer I felt like I was showering in a torpedo tube. The shower head also had limited pressure, but got the job done.

The venue was close to a shop, had ample parking with overflow parking very close by and had several fast food restaurants littered around it.

The positive aspects include really great friendly staff always happy to help out, great Victorian decor (although if you like modern this is not the place for you), great toiletries in the room as well as great bathrobes and an in room iron and ironing board, excellent wifi, a great breakfast set up and a charm that helps overcome any problems you might face. The cheaper accommodation, which I presume we stayed in, is great value and certainly a better price than anywhere else you may find. Glen, who checked us in, was particularly charming and kind.

The negative aspects include a very soft and small mattress - not pleasant at all. The carpets in our room were damp and this was always an unwelcome smell when one entered ones room. We like our window open (esp. with the damp) which often meant that the heavy traffic outside combined with the sound of neighbouring air-conditioner units meant a lot of exterior noise. The area in which the Inn is situated is not pretty nor within walking distance to anything particular, but then again with all the congestion and traffic around you would not want to walk around there.

That said we had a great stay and certainly can recommend it if you want to explore the town and retire to homely place far away from the bustling tourist spots.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Wonderboy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Warm reception and offstreet parking were great first impressions. Room was all the way up on the top floor so if you are not in the best of shape please consider. Comfy bed, clean room! Breakfast was OK but no hot items - not a B&B breakfast a cont. with pastry, milk, juice, coffee etc. It was fine but not a sit down experience. Very nice staff - location is fine - couple mile walk to the heart of town. All in all a good stay!

Room Tip: No elevator so beware narrow and steep stairs - they will help with luggage.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoweboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This place might not be in the best of neighborhoods but it is safe. Upon entering your room, you feel transported in time & begin to relax immediately. We stayed here one night before heading to Arcadia & decided to book again on our way back to Logan Airport. Hate to leave but so glad we got to experience it.

Room Tip: We booked 3 rooms here & each was clean, quiet & so very comfortable. There is no elevator & some rooms share a bath so be certain you ask for a 1st floor room en suite, with no one overhead if that is an issue.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoAnne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews