We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our experience at the Inn at St. John”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn at St. John

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at St. John
Ranked #7 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our experience at the Inn at St. John”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

My parents,dog (Lexi),and myself took a family vacation from St. Louis,Missouri to Maine. Since Lexi was traveling with us I used the internet to search for pet friendly hotels and found the Inn at St. John. We arrived on a rainy Wednesday the 19th of September 2012. We parked in the lot behind the Inn, walked up the back steps, down a hall and to the front desk. We were greeted by two gentlemen at the desk. Having made our reservation online the check-in process was very simple. I was given a paid receipt and the key to room 101. It turns out that room 101 is right by the front desk. I was a little concerned because we had our Lhasa Lexi with us. If you're not familiar with Lhasa's they were bred as an interior sentinel in the Buddhist monasteries to alert the monks of any intruders who entered. In other words they tend to bark if they're not familiar with their surrounding. I turned my focus from this concern and asked if there was a way to get our luggage from our car to our room without going up the back steps. My father had a 7-way bi-pass and didn't need to carry luggage up steps. The gentleman said, "Don't worry about that we will take care of that for you." He rounded up several staff members who came outside in the rain and carried all of our luggage to our room. Now that's service! The room was, "Beautiful" and must have been sound proofed because Lexi didn't bark 1-time because of noise. The beds were very comfortable and we all slept good. If I could I'd give this Inn more than 5-stars I would because in my eyes it's a perfect 10.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    247
    63
    23
    17
See reviews for
71
320
89
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wildwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Room was nice and clean. Private bath down the hall was a minor inconvenience, but acceptable. Located a little distance from Old Port, but there is a bus stop across the street. We took the bus in and walked back. Beware of the steep steps to the upper floors. We had no problem, but if you have physical limitations, get a room on the first floor.

Room Tip: There is a bit of street noise in the morning for the rooms in the front. Not an issue for us, since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed in room 3b the Inn at St. John for two nights and found the whole place to be charming, unique, memorable yet out of place to its rather drab surroundings.
The room was much the same although smelt of terrible damp from the moment we walked in till the end; this was odd as the rest of the Inn did not smell of damp. We should have complained but the staff were so charming we just could not bring ourselves to be difficult customers. (They may have cleaned the carpets recently, but should not have been renting the room if that was the case)
We had a shared bathroom which was across the hall - not a lot to praise or complain about here, although the shower was really small - the Inn prides itself on its Victorian theme, but one should remember that people were a lot shorter in the Victorian era and as a slim 6' foot customer I felt like I was showering in a torpedo tube. The shower head also had limited pressure, but got the job done.

The venue was close to a shop, had ample parking with overflow parking very close by and had several fast food restaurants littered around it.

The positive aspects include really great friendly staff always happy to help out, great Victorian decor (although if you like modern this is not the place for you), great toiletries in the room as well as great bathrobes and an in room iron and ironing board, excellent wifi, a great breakfast set up and a charm that helps overcome any problems you might face. The cheaper accommodation, which I presume we stayed in, is great value and certainly a better price than anywhere else you may find. Glen, who checked us in, was particularly charming and kind.

The negative aspects include a very soft and small mattress - not pleasant at all. The carpets in our room were damp and this was always an unwelcome smell when one entered ones room. We like our window open (esp. with the damp) which often meant that the heavy traffic outside combined with the sound of neighbouring air-conditioner units meant a lot of exterior noise. The area in which the Inn is situated is not pretty nor within walking distance to anything particular, but then again with all the congestion and traffic around you would not want to walk around there.

That said we had a great stay and certainly can recommend it if you want to explore the town and retire to homely place far away from the bustling tourist spots.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Wonderboy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Warm reception and offstreet parking were great first impressions. Room was all the way up on the top floor so if you are not in the best of shape please consider. Comfy bed, clean room! Breakfast was OK but no hot items - not a B&B breakfast a cont. with pastry, milk, juice, coffee etc. It was fine but not a sit down experience. Very nice staff - location is fine - couple mile walk to the heart of town. All in all a good stay!

Room Tip: No elevator so beware narrow and steep stairs - they will help with luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoweboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This place might not be in the best of neighborhoods but it is safe. Upon entering your room, you feel transported in time & begin to relax immediately. We stayed here one night before heading to Arcadia & decided to book again on our way back to Logan Airport. Hate to leave but so glad we got to experience it.

Room Tip: We booked 3 rooms here & each was clean, quiet & so very comfortable. There is no elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
530 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Nice b and b. Clean, convenient and well managed, a bit too much street noise as we had a room on the main drag. Ask for a quiet room.
Not really within walking distance of any great places to see or eat, but still a nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joedvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this bed and breakfast because two other couples recommended it to us as an affordable place to stay in Portland. This was our first time in Maine, and we had a great stay. We had a private bath that was across the hall, and it wasn't much of an issue (although we had to remember to take a key with us!). Our room was a great size for what we needed, and it was quiet. Our car stayed in the overflow parking lot the entire weekend, which was fine, and literally across the sidewalk from the other parking lot. Breakfast was great - there was still plenty left even though we didn't make it downstairs until just before 10am. The front staff was friendly.
The only issue was the distance from Old Port. We had great weather so we walked. It was about a 20 minute walk each way, so once we were in Old Port, we tried to stay as long as we could because to make two trips seemed exhausting. I'm sure if really wanted to, we could have taken a taxi back, but maybe the walking was good for us after all the lobster we were eating!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacationista7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
1.2 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
1.3 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at St. John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at St. John

Property: Inn at St. John
Address: 939 Congress St, Portland, ME 04102-3031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at St. John 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at St. John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At St. John Hotel Portland
Inn At St. John Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing