We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damp, but delightful.”
Review of Inn at St. John

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at St. John
Ranked #7 of 11 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed in room 3b the Inn at St. John for two nights and found the whole place to be charming, unique, memorable yet out of place to its rather drab surroundings.
The room was much the same although smelt of terrible damp from the moment we walked in till the end; this was odd as the rest of the Inn did not smell of damp. We should have complained but the staff were so charming we just could not bring ourselves to be difficult customers. (They may have cleaned the carpets recently, but should not have been renting the room if that was the case)
We had a shared bathroom which was across the hall - not a lot to praise or complain about here, although the shower was really small - the Inn prides itself on its Victorian theme, but one should remember that people were a lot shorter in the Victorian era and as a slim 6' foot customer I felt like I was showering in a torpedo tube. The shower head also had limited pressure, but got the job done.

The venue was close to a shop, had ample parking with overflow parking very close by and had several fast food restaurants littered around it.

The positive aspects include really great friendly staff always happy to help out, great Victorian decor (although if you like modern this is not the place for you), great toiletries in the room as well as great bathrobes and an in room iron and ironing board, excellent wifi, a great breakfast set up and a charm that helps overcome any problems you might face. The cheaper accommodation, which I presume we stayed in, is great value and certainly a better price than anywhere else you may find. Glen, who checked us in, was particularly charming and kind.

The negative aspects include a very soft and small mattress - not pleasant at all. The carpets in our room were damp and this was always an unwelcome smell when one entered ones room. We like our window open (esp. with the damp) which often meant that the heavy traffic outside combined with the sound of neighbouring air-conditioner units meant a lot of exterior noise. The area in which the Inn is situated is not pretty nor within walking distance to anything particular, but then again with all the congestion and traffic around you would not want to walk around there.

That said we had a great stay and certainly can recommend it if you want to explore the town and retire to homely place far away from the bustling tourist spots.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Wonderboy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (694)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 694 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

Warm reception and offstreet parking were great first impressions. Room was all the way up on the top floor so if you are not in the best of shape please consider. Comfy bed, clean room! Breakfast was OK but no hot items - not a B&B breakfast a cont. with pastry, milk, juice, coffee etc. It was fine but not a sit down experience. Very nice staff - location is fine - couple mile walk to the heart of town. All in all a good stay!

Room Tip: No elevator so beware narrow and steep stairs - they will help with luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoweboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This place might not be in the best of neighborhoods but it is safe. Upon entering your room, you feel transported in time & begin to relax immediately. We stayed here one night before heading to Arcadia & decided to book again on our way back to Logan Airport. Hate to leave but so glad we got to experience it.

Room Tip: We booked 3 rooms here & each was clean, quiet & so very comfortable. There is no elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoAnne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Nice b and b. Clean, convenient and well managed, a bit too much street noise as we had a room on the main drag. Ask for a quiet room.
Not really within walking distance of any great places to see or eat, but still a nice stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joedvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this bed and breakfast because two other couples recommended it to us as an affordable place to stay in Portland. This was our first time in Maine, and we had a great stay. We had a private bath that was across the hall, and it wasn't much of an issue (although we had to remember to take a key with us!). Our room was a great size for what we needed, and it was quiet. Our car stayed in the overflow parking lot the entire weekend, which was fine, and literally across the sidewalk from the other parking lot. Breakfast was great - there was still plenty left even though we didn't make it downstairs until just before 10am. The front staff was friendly.
The only issue was the distance from Old Port. We had great weather so we walked. It was about a 20 minute walk each way, so once we were in Old Port, we tried to stay as long as we could because to make two trips seemed exhausting. I'm sure if really wanted to, we could have taken a taxi back, but maybe the walking was good for us after all the lobster we were eating!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacationista7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We tried hard to make our one-night stay work for us. Our second floor room was situated right over the hotel's entry on a busy street, so it was noisy. There is a hospital with an emergency room a quarter of a block away. No other rooms with two beds were available (we needed two beds). The air conditioning was too cold, so we switched to the a/c's fan to mask the noise, but the air from the fan smelled like urine. The hotel employees gave us an ocillating fan to get the smell out and mask the traffic and street sounds. That helped. The breakfast tables in the narrow dining area were small, so a family of three could not sit together without inconveniencing surrounding guests. With all the hotels closer to the main part of downtown Portland, I will plan to book elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the street are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

On behalf of the Inn I would like to thank you for your feedback. Guest comments are valuable to us in order to improve the quality of our historic Inn. We take pride in our clean rooms and great service. It is unfortunate we fell short during your stay with us. I would like to extend my sincere apologies and rest assured we are doing everything in our power to make the appropriate changes so this doesn’t happen in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn--two nights when we first arrived in Portland and then one night, a week later on our way back home.
It was a pleasant surprise. The first time, we stayed in a room with a private bath. The room was large and quiet (even though it faced out on the street). The second time we stayed, we decided that we would try doing it a bit cheaper so we booked a room with a private bath down the hall. This was a great deal for the price.
Staff was generally friendly (some more than others). The breakfast could be a bit better but for the price, we were pleased and would definitely recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Be aware that the stairs are steep and there are a lot of them (with weird "mini stairs" o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeldamay10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.8 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
3.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#15 of 21 in Portland
1,735 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,488 reviews
4.7 mi away
Inn At Diamond Cove
Inn At Diamond Cove
#8 of 21 in Portland
116 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at St. John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at St. John

Address: 939 Congress St, Portland, ME 04102-3031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: $65 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at St. John 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn at St. John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At St. John Hotel Portland
Inn At St. John Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing