We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming but considerably old”
Review of Inn at St. John

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at St. John
Ranked #7 of 11 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This old inn has enough charm to make up for the dusty, creaky and smelly atmosphere. For the price we had a very nice room in the top of the building, but with some more minor drawbacks: the private bathroom was not en suite (we knew this in advance though); we had to climb quite a few steep stairs; the room didn’t smell pleasant (but was clean nonetheless); the street was very noisy.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoupleOfHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

521 - 527 of 696 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

I had read other reviews and had some reservations about the Inn but I was completely satisfied. I stayed in a small room with a shared bath. The room contained a sink and a great queen size bed which was perfect. It was fine however the folks that I shared the shower with with consumed it each morning for an hour (not cool). I was traveling alone and walked everywhere and did not feel unsafe. I wouldn't be walking at 1am in the morning but I won't do that at home either. I never had the contiental breakfast in the morning, but the front area/ lobby always had snacks (great cookies), juices and coffee all the time.You are about 20 minutes from the Old Port area, but it's a reasonable cab ride ($7). Great price and a great inn located near wonderful restaurants (dogfish cafe and Local 188). Wonderful and affordable option.

Room Tip: The place has a steep stair case so you need to be able to carry your luggage upstairs or select a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisarenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We have stayed here several times, usually when we've been in Portland for events. It is a bit quirky in the layout...narrow corridors and stairs, and for most rooms the bathroom is out in the hall, but we haven't minded that. (They provide nice terrycloth robes.) Reasonable rates, comfortable bed, and a short walk to great restaurants on Congress Street.

Room Tip: The Inn has rooms on 3 floors (no elevators), and with various options for bed size and bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank defactoplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I always prefer to stay in a historic hotel, b&b or inn over a chain hotel. The Inn at SJ is clean and comfortable and while most of the staff were extreemly helpful, one male desk clerk was very rude when we asked a question at the desk while checking in and again when we called from the room. We had been assured of a queen bed when making the reservation and when we found ourselves with a full-size bed after hiking up to the 3rd floor, we called the desk. Mr. Rude insisted it was a queen bed and left NO opportunity to dispute this fact with his loud and dismissive manner. People like him are not worth the time to argue with but perhaps he should consider another line of work.

Room Tip: stairs are steep and winding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chrissygm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry M, Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. On behalf of the Inn at St John I would like to appologise for any inconvience you experienced during your stay with us. Please rest assured that action has been taken. We pride ourselves on the quality of service and cleanliness of our Inn and its unfortunate we fell short in this case. Thank you for choosing to stay with us we hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The inn is on the west side of town, a bit of a hike if you plan to spend most of your day downtown/near the water. We rented a car and love to walk so this wasn't a big deal for us. They have free parking which is great. The staff was nice and the room was comfy and homey - very comfy bed. But there were a few misses: the breakfast is best skipped or only useful if you want to grab a yogurt and bottle of water. The space is too cramped and everything is from bulk bakery from Costco or similar so just good enough for a snack. The room was humid and musty so we relied on the window air conditioner to dry things out a bit. The unit worked well, but required lots of fine tuning through out the night. Finally the shower was tiny, so tiny it was impossible to bend over, but at least it was in the room. There is a nice pizzeria across the road and we enjoyed our stay, just know that you get what you pay for and the Inn is pretty economical, not fancy.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heathercookelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I arrived at 1:30 AM and Tim was so friendly and welcoming. My room was one twin bed with a private hall bath. The room was cute and comfortable. It kind of made me feel like I was staying at my grandma's. The Front Desk was very helpful with everything from the best cab to call, Thai food and where to find the closest ATM. The hotel is very cozy and nicely decorated. The housekeeping stay was really nice. If you travel to Portland you HAVE to stay here at least once.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGirlUSA1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

I would highly recommend this Inn. It is a small Victorian era hotel just outside downtown Portland. The rooms were nicely furnished with a refrigerator and TV. Small but comfortable. We had a private bath in the hall, which meant that you had to leave the room to use the bathroom. This did not turn out to be a problem. Stafff was very friendly and informative. There was a nice continental breakfast, cookies and coffee/lemonade in the afternoon. It would be long walk into town but possibly doable on a nice day (we had miserable weather.) The rating is based on the Inn's affordabilty and comfort. It is not a place for someone who wants a typical high end hotel experience. The only problem for us was limited hot water in the morning.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWSouthShore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
3.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#14 of 21 in Portland
1,745 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,505 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at St. John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at St. John

Address: 939 Congress St, Portland, ME 04102-3031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: $64 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at St. John 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Inn at St. John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At St. John Hotel Portland
Inn At St. John Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing