We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking Atmosphere”
Review of David's Restaurant

David's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
David's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 618 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Preble Street
Bedford, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lacking Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The food was mostly good. The Caprese salad with avocado was outstanding and I almost ordered a second serving for my entree. My husband had the Calamari with feta which was good but not special. We shared the deconstructed Lobster Ravioli and were glad we did as it was incredibly rich, yet sadly lacking in lobster, with only a few pieces provided.
Unfortunately we were seated at the back of the restaurant facing a wall. There were plenty of tables available up front both before and after we left, which disappointed us.
Overall, I would return for the Caprese salad alone, but insist, when making my reservation, that we get a table up front.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jayfaykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    126
    27
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
649 reviews
395 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Next time we'll drive . . .”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Numerous times we have visited and really enjoyed both the food and service at David's 388 in South Portland. However, since this trip we were staying in town at the new Courtyard Downtown/Waterfront, we decided to give the original David's a try.

Our friends really enjoyed the crispy packets of chèvre (appetizer of the day $12). The mussels were a nice order ($12) and the oysters on the half shell ($2/each) were served with an unusual curry sauce. My burger was good, though served on an odd, dense bread with incredible truffle fries with truffle ketchup.

Our cappuccinos were attractive -- but, at best, served barely warm.

In addition, our waiter seemed preoccupied the entire evening, forgetting at times that we were waiting for service.

Though the food was good, next time we will drive to South Portland to their other location, David's 388.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
483 reviews
408 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“One of the best in Portland!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Excellent food and service in a very pleasant atmosphere. The mussels were some of the best we have had anywhere. Our entrees were all delicious. Portions are ample, although not huge. Outdoor seating on the square is available when the weather cooperates.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
100 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One of Portland's Finest”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife and I went there tonight, as we had a gift certificate from our son. We had read many thing positive about this place. My wife had the famous lobster ravioli and I had a special (filet mignon). We made reservation on line yesterday. The place was rather small in the heart of town, though very nice inside with the true Portland old town feel. The micro brew beer selection was fairly good for a small dinner place. My wife had a martine that was awesome. We each ordered an app, I had a grillled peach arugula sald with blue cheese, superb. She had cajun shrimp coctail with same results...yum. Both of our dinners were absolutely perfect. They were of so good. The service was perfect and very timely. The prices are a bit on the high side, but for this type of quality menu, not that bad. We will return for sure, especially kind of a special spot for us. You can't get much better in our eyes.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KenandToni207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A great find in Portland!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Eight of us were attending a weekend wedding and needed a place to gather for dinner on Friday night. We chose David's based on a recommendation when we booked our rooms at the Westin.
The service was excellent. I wish I had asked our server's name because she was absolutely delightful. Being eight people who had not seen each other in awhile, we were a mildly rowdy bunch and she handled our orders ( and even a glass of spilled wine) with grace and expertise. The food was perfectly prepared and delicious. The lobster and steak pizza is amazing with BIG chunks of fresh lobster and tender steak. I had the duck which had an asian flair and, again, was amazing. I will travel to Portland just to go to David's again!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Candace603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to David's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing