We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Food Relaxaing Atmosphere”
Review of David's Restaurant

David's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
David's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 627 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Preble Street
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Very Good Food Relaxaing Atmosphere”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We went back here on a snowy weeknight and had a lovely meal. The place was half-full and rather quiet which was just fine. Our waitress was pleasant and professional. I had the ice berg wedge with bacon, very nice blue cheese dressing and the filet mignon with bacon, a very flavorful cut of beef. The others in my party had the duck which was excellent and the salmon special, fresh and tasty. For all this and one dessert the tab was about 118 bucks. Reservations are needed for weekends. Go shopping in town and have dinner here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BaysideConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    132
    30
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Excellent Dinner”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

On a Saturday night David's was jumping. We were seated in the crowded front space which is also the way to the kitchen. I'm going to be stubborn about this: I don't want to watch or hear the kitchen! Anyway, service was smooth and excellent, good cocktails and breads. For the main course we had to have the Sushi Rare Tuna, a signature dish which we had enjoyed at David's South Portland location. Not to say that the rest of the menu doesn't look good, but the tuna is irresistable. In all, a fine meal, and the crowd did thin out towards the end. Cost of the meal, including wine, was most reasonable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tompainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Always delicious”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

You can always count on excellent food and good variety at David's. Without reservations, our party of 4 sat at the bar (on a Saturday night) and enjoyed wonderful meals of bacon-wrapped pork tenderloin, baked haddock, duck, and a lobster/steak pizza - followed by an amazing chocolate torte covered with cashews and salted caramel. The bar service is friendly, swift and efficient, and David's is a good place when folks are visiting from "away" as the menu has a good range of prices and the ingredients are always fresh. We've been going to David's for years, and have enjoyed every meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuckyLobsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Portland has become a foodie town and is loaded with really good restaurants, so only the strong tend to survive. Davis's has survived and recently expanded to several new venues in the greater Portland area and the equally competitive restaurant market in Kennebunkport. My wife and I dined here wuith our niece on a recent Friday evening, prior to attending the Magic of Christmas at the nearby Merrill Auditorium. The service and the food were excellent and the restaurant was lively, a nice experience. David's is a small place, so plan on being cozy with the other diners and it can be a little noisy, but adds to the ambience. we had a window table overlooking Monument Square and the Christmas tree, which added to the ambience. Give David's a try when you're in Portland.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nucenturion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Dining Experience”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Cozy Monument Square location that can be noisy on a busy night but the food and service make it a worthwhile visit. We sat in the front room under the clock with a view of the square and the kitchen. We were seated promptly even though we arrived early for our reservation and the service by Karra was attentive and friendly. Great menu choices but save room for dessert. We started with the crispy potstickers with Asian sliced beef. Interesting combination but it worked well with the sauce. For entrees we had the ginger and scallion crusted salmon and skewers of shrimp & scallops. Both were perfectly and artistically prepared. The salt caramel cashew chocolate torte was a great way to end the meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sail2Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to David's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing